We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well Worth a Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Yorkshire Bridge Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Bamford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Well Worth a Visit”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

This was only a visit for lunch, not a stay over so cannot comment on rooms, etc. We called in here before 9am to ask if we were OK to leave our car in the car park as we would be calling in for a meal after walking in the area. The staff were very friendly, told us that was fine and thanked us for asking. After the walk, we called in for a hard earned pint or two and some food. I had the steak and kidney pie and my companion had the peppered turkey from the specials board. Both were accompanied by new potatoes and veg and were superb. Personally I like my veg firm and they were cooked to perfection. The pie was clearly homemade and packed with chunks of steak and kidney. There were quite a few diners in that afternoon and I noticed that several of them had dogs with them, so it is clearly a dog friendly pub. The staff were friendly and helpful from going in to leaving. We will certainly be calling again and would like to try the accommodation at some point.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    101
    27
    26
    4
See reviews for
54
160
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kent UK
Level Contributor
239 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 501 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

The stunning position of this hotel is the main reason to stay though that is somewhat compromised by the fact that some of the rooms (we were in 9) have no outside views which somewhat negates the reason for staying here. No wi fi in the rooms which in this day and age is pretty bad. However, it has to be said that the newly decorated room, though tiny, was nicely furnished with crisp bed linen and a very comfortable large bed. The roof light let in lots of light.
Food? Huge portions which rather made up for the rather ordinary fare. Amazed at how other reviewers seem to feel that quantity makes up for quality. Not that the food was bad, just very ordinary and very unambitious. Lots of walkers here who clearly appreciated what was on offer. Maybe we should have expected little more.
The staff here are wonderful with excellent service and very friendly and are the main reason for staying as they make you feel very comfortable.
The prices are on the high side but are easily justified by the demand as the place was fully booked. Breakfast was good even if we were twice served the wrong things by the kitchen but this was quickly righted.
We stayed two nights after having checked out the alternatives and the feeling we get is that this is par for the course in Derbyshire where top priority is good hearty meals and a crisp clean room. On that basis this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lemniot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Although we didn't stay here we found recommendations for the pub in our cottage guest book so thought we'd go here for a meal. I am surprised to see the negative comments about rude staff etc. we found them to be extremely friendly with great efficient service! Food was lovely delicious roast beef and reasonably priced! Would recommend to anyone looking for a quaint little pub with tasty meals.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank KateM101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Reading other reports, there seems to be a common theme. Bar staff are poor, nobody at the bar but carried on talking between themselves and had to repeat bar order 3 times. Ordered x3 steak and ale pies and got x3 steak and kidney pies, asked for one to be original order, so 1 person eating when others had finished. Deserts brought out before table cleared etc. etc. A poor expensive experience BUT the food was good, if you manage to get what you ordered.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GodsCounty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

This pub advertises and a dog/pet friendly pub, I especially researched for "Dog Friendly" pubs in the area to ensure there was somewhere to take cover should the weather turn for the worst.

After a walk around Derwent Dam and Lady bower Reservoir with our 4 Month old pup we thought we would pop into the The Yorkshire Bridge Inn for a drink and warm up.

Before entering I thought best to check out the "Dog Friendly" Situation so I walked up to the bar and asked " Hello are we ok to bring the pup in for 10 minutes" to this I received a very rude answer of " NO people are eating, they don't want a dog in while they are dining" which by the way I can totally understand its not hygienic it was just the way the barman came across very rude if he had just said "we do have people eating so maybe not the best idea at the moment" I would have left and thought nothing else of it

However after looking at the menu food is served till 9.30 in the evening so it baffles me how they can advertise as a "Dog Friendly" pub if you can't take your dog in? maybe its over night stayed after 9.30?

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Pommie1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west mids
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

My wife and I have been dining here over the past 10 or more years and have always enjoyed exceptionally good meals. The staff are very friendly and are very helpfull. The Sunday roast is to be specially recommended. We have also been there on Bank Holidays and were told " would you maind waiting 40 mins for your meal", it was very busy. We were served within 15mins with an excellent meal. I would vote it one of the best places to eat at. Another good point they serve locally brewed beers

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorky08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

The stay overall was good , the evening meal was served on time and was very nice the staff were very pleasant in fact the elder lady that appeared in charge was exceptional.. , we were happy with the room which was very clean and warm,, All changed however when we went down stairs for breakfast today Sunday 12 th January 2014,, The waitress was working alone and basically rude, She was unfriendly and very grumpy when I asked her for brown sauce she snapped I haven't asked you yet if you want sauces , then stormed off I had to go to the bar and ask her again if she would let us have some ,, 10 minutes later ,,The man on the next table asked for milk and she said it was on the table he had to fetch his own milk She was asked by a pregnant lady for something I did not hear what it was but the waitress snapped its there on the table pointing to the top table, the pregnant lady fetched something from the table the waitress was passing whilst serving, if she was asked for anything by anyone she would point to the nearby table and say its there !!
As a result of our experience with this waitress we will not be going back ,, albeit we have stayed there before and had no such events happen to us it was pleasant last time and was this time until this morning ,,

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jodie-1713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bamford
1.6 mi away
The Rising Sun
The Rising Sun
#6 of 7 in Hope Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
2.9 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
10.3 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
2.3 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Ladybower Inn
Ladybower Inn
#1 of 4 in Bamford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yorkshire Bridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yorkshire Bridge Inn

Property: The Yorkshire Bridge Inn
Address: Ashopton Road | near the Ladybower Reservoir in the High Peak, Bamford, Peak District National Park S33 OAZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Bamford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bamford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Yorkshire Bridge Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a glorious location, The Yorkshire Bridge Inn is an ideal base from which to explore the exceptional beauty of the Peak District.The quality and integrity of our food & drink is something special. We have fine food prepared using fresh local produce.We have 14 bedrooms offering comfortable accommodation, as well as a variety of bars and dining areas with a friendly atmosphere enjoyed by all ages. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Yorkshire Bridge Hotel Bamford
The Yorkshire Bridge Inn Bamford, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing