We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistent... ( this is a review of food not the Hotel)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Yorkshire Bridge Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Bamford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
derbys
Level Contributor
94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Consistent... ( this is a review of food not the Hotel)”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We have eaten here many times over the last few years. The staff are friendly and the Pub is lovely. There is an excellent choice of hand pulled ale. As a vegetarian I always liked it here as they had a large choice of meals , however recently I notice that this has been reduced which is a shame. That said I had a lovely homemade quiche with fresh veg and my husband had a crab salad which was very good. We always enjoy it there and look forward to going back .

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank chasrabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    101
    27
    26
    4
See reviews for
54
160
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Retford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed here a couple of nights midweek and were bit disappointed. The food and service were spot on and the location is ideal for walking round the dams and beautiful scenery. The only gripe I have is that the room we stayed in could do with some soundproofing, not very good to be woken in the night to the sound of someone in another room going to the toilet! The bar area could do with some comfortable seating so you can sit a relax whilst having a drink. That said, we would come back again and already considering a few days next year! :-)

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZAH4089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Me and my husband stayed here for a few days after our wedding. It was absolutely lovely! The first thing to comment on was the fact that the bed was the most comfortable bed I've ever slept on!! Which is always a good start. The room was well equipped with lovely wooden furniture, a tv with freeview, and nice heavy curtains. There were tea and coffee making facilities, with some lovely handmade biscuits. There is free wifi available in the bar area, though this does not reach the bedrooms (or at least it didn't reach our bedroom in room 5).

Breakfast was great, a selection of continental buffet items, as well as freshly cooked hot breakfast items (full english, vegetarian etc) - cooked brilliantly every time.

The bar in the pub was well stocked with a selection of real ales (would I expect anything else in this area??), much to my husband's delight Easy Rider from Kelham Island Brewery was on tap which was much appreciated!!

We had an evening meal on a Sunday, the pub was busy but not rammed, the food came quickly and was delicious and hot.

All of the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, and it really felt like nothing was too much trouble for them!

The pub is really well located right next to the Ladybower Reservoir (though not visible from the pub...walk for about 1 minute up the road and there it is), and well placed for walking in the peaks and the reservoir.

We only live 20 minutes away in Sheffield, but it felt a world away, and we would definitely go back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KCabot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skipton
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel just keeps improving. The size of the meals has always been a feature of the hotels menu, but now it is possible enjoy the food without feeling bloated by choosing the smaller versions ( the smaller potions are also a smaller price). The tea and coffee in the bedrooms benefit from fresh milk kept in small thermos flasks (just ask at reception). The ginger biscuits are delicious! The hotel was very busy but the service at all meals was excellent. The menu is very imaginative and if that is not enough the specials will certainly tempt the hungry. Be warned the potion are big. A large range of real ales are available and if the weather is kind a large outside seating area is available.
.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slaithwaite, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stopped for drinks on a sunny July day with my parents and husband ,lovely oldie worldly pub inside and a really lovely beer garden ,people were having meals and they looked really nice so next time we stop off we'll try some food .If I had to pick at anything when ordering our drinks ,We found the barman could have tried harder to be more welcoming found him a little glum .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Had a business trip to the area for Friday and Saturday, which meant my other half could come along and make a weekend of it...Excellent all round, lovely, comfy 4 poster room excellent dinners and even a couple of peak district beers in beautiful surroundings and friendly atmos....walk around ladybower res which was gorgeous..hopefully will be back

Room Tip: 4 poster was a lovely room but cant comment on the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellington W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Had surprise 40th birthday party and it was amazing beautiful food and service throughout lovely atmosphere no rush and nothing to kuch trouble for anyone the starters were a meal in themselves and the dessert menu was incredible was a difficult call deciding just which dessert to finish off we had coffees and irish coffee's a real night cap and as we finished our wine and drinks

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mfi2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bamford
2.9 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
10.3 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
21.6 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Ladybower Inn
Ladybower Inn
#1 of 4 in Bamford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
3.6 mi away
Millstone Country Inn
Millstone Country Inn
#1 of 4 in Hathersage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yorkshire Bridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yorkshire Bridge Inn

Property: The Yorkshire Bridge Inn
Address: Ashopton Road | near the Ladybower Reservoir in the High Peak, Bamford, Peak District National Park S33 OAZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Bamford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bamford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Yorkshire Bridge Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a glorious location, The Yorkshire Bridge Inn is an ideal base from which to explore the exceptional beauty of the Peak District.The quality and integrity of our food & drink is something special. We have fine food prepared using fresh local produce.We have 14 bedrooms offering comfortable accommodation, as well as a variety of bars and dining areas with a friendly atmosphere enjoyed by all ages. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Yorkshire Bridge Hotel Bamford
The Yorkshire Bridge Inn Bamford, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing