We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place and Good Food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Bear Inn & Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2013

My wife and I have just returned after spending 2 nights at the Bear Inn. Our bedroom was very clean. The staff where all very nice and helpful during our stay.
For our evening meal on the Sunday my had Roast Ham which included 3 eggs, side salad and lovely home made chips, I when for the Scampi and chips which also a side salad, which was put before us in about 20 minutes.
The following morning I went for the full breakfast, I am a retired coach driver and have never come across a breakfast like that before, to be presented with 2 eggs, beacon, sausages, hash brown, beans, tomato`s, mushrooms and black putting.
This was our first visit but it won`t be our last.
Many thanks to all the staff and managermeant for two wonderful nights.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maurice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (247)
There are newer reviews for The Bear Inn & Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 247 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

On visiting on a bank holiday mon we thought the restaurant may be busy , so it was no surprise that it was , the bar staff were not one bit helpful, and when asked about a table we were told there were no tables available , I know some establishments can be busy and it must be difficult at these busy times to accommodate everyone but I felt the staff couldn't care less and on reflection wished we had not purchased our drinks and just gone somewhere else , my husband , myself and some friends stayed there last year and we had no probs at all , I must say we were disappointed on this occasion

Stayed: May 2013
2  Thank Nanniekath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

I visited The Bear with some friends in the hope of getting a quick drink and bite to eat. The first issue was the speed of service at the bar, it took ages to get served. The place is obviously under staffed, it was a bank holiday - did they not think they would be busy?
Ordered food at 2:15pm, order taken by a lady who clearly hates her job and audibly huffed her way through the process. It didn't arrive until 15:30, by this point it wasn't even that busy. Despite waiting an hour and a quarter there was no offer of an apology. The food itself was ok - I had the "Special bacon" and cheese burger, tasty, good quality meat, but the bread was poor and just fell apart meaning it was actually possible to eat it as a burger. Good chips though.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

Having stayed at the bear for 1 night on Sunday the 26th of may I would like to say how nice this was. A great range of real ales and wines to choose from. We had lamb shank for our tea and it was very nice. The meat fell off the bone and a lovely rich mint gravy which there was plenty of. We also both had bakewell pudding which was very nice. There was a wait for the food but it was understandable seeing as it was so busy. We will definitely be visiting again soon.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whusg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We visited for a meal while in the Peak District over the May bank holiday. Arrived soon after 2 and went inside to be seated, when we asked whether they had a table for 6 of us we were told very unhelpfully "You have to order first, then we get a table". Not off to a good start.

Our order consisted of 3 roast beef and Yorkshire pudding, 2 fish based dishes and a lamb and mint sauce, as well as "bread for the table" and "water for the table", two terms which no restaurant I have ever visited has found difficult to understand. 10 minutes after being seated we were presented with a saucer with two pieces of sliced toasting bread and a couple of packets of butter on top, this was our "bread for the table", which for somewhere that proudly bragged about its homemade rolls simply left us dumbstruck. My father returned the bread and asked for something more appetizing, a further 10 minutes passed, in came half of a small French roll on a saucer, with butter to accompany, at this point even further staggered at how this establishment could not comprehend "bread for the table" we gave up with it.

But oh wait, it gets worse. We were told after ordering that the food would take half an hour, which didn't seem too bad. We were left stuck indoors on the most glorious day of the year for 1 hour and 45 minutes waiting for the food to arrive, absolutely unacceptable by any restaurants standards.
When the food arrived, the roast beef was overdone, cooked to be brown and dry throughout it looked to have once been a nice joint but must have been left in the oven for hours longer than was needed. The portions of meat were generous enough, but nowhere near enough potatoes or vegetables, and the smallest drizzle of gravy to attempt to bind the meal together. I was told the lamb and fish dishes were tasty but nothing special.
The "water for the table" never did arrive, despite asking a further two times, I resorted to getting a bottle out of the car to help quench peoples thirst, as by that time we had no desire to part with any more of our money at the bar (stocked with plain, regular lagers rather than locally brewed real ales which one might expect in a "Good Pub guide" recommended pub).
To top it off, some of the least friendly staff I have ever encountered and a bill for over £130.

I'm still waiting for that water...

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
9  Thank TYK91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013 via mobile

We booked last minute and the place looked nice online and was the right price. The staff were very welcoming and friendly. The room (5) was a little bit grubby, and we found a used tissue under the pillow, but the bathroom was very clean and the room had lots of character. Breakfast in the morning was great and again the staff were very friendly. It's nice to stay somewhere that retains that travellers rest atmosphere that dates back centuries, too many hotels are all the same... This one is different, breakfast with mr fox!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaximillionMaximus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

This is a real old fashioned pub and very cosy with log fires. The food is second to none. Real home made food and very tasty. You have to wait a while but isn't that a sign of freshly made food. You get far too much but some how manage to finish it. Most of us even had pudding which was again very good. Service was excellent. The only drawback were the toilets which could do with updating and a fresh lick of paint. It's probably best to book at the weekend as it appeared very busy. I would recommend this pub to anyone who likes the atmosphere of days gone by and good wholesome food.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belper
1.1 mi away
Makeney Hall Hotel
Makeney Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Belper
1,025 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Lion Hotel
The Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Belper
315 reviews
3.1 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
6.8 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wirksworth
105 reviews
6.0 mi away
Travelodge Alfreton
Travelodge Alfreton
#1 of 1 in Alfreton
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bear Inn & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bear Inn & Hotel

Address: Belper Road | Alderwasley, Belper DE56 2RD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Belper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Belper
Price Range: £51 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bear Inn & Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The earliest reference to a building here is 1528 – this would have been a parlour, hall, buttery, dairy, and kitchen. In 1690, the building became the property of the Hurt family, which then became an alehouse and soon after known as the Olde Brown Bear Inn.  The Bear Inn, as it became known by 1735, lay on the Birmingham-Derby-Chesterfield-Sheffield turnpike road…..by 1764 it had become a prominent coaching Inn. The names and dates of all Innkeepers and owners from 1735 – 2008 is listed in the entrance hall of the Bear. Just standing beneath the beams of this fine English country Inn invites history to wash over you – sampling a pint or two of fine English ale helps the process! The fame of The Bear has spread across various counties and continents in recent years, mainly as a Gastro pub of note, a hotel, carvery & real ale venue. Real Food, Real Ale, Real People, Real Derbyshire – can be completed with Real History. The Bear can truly boast to be one of Derbyshire’s oldest & most renowned Inn & Hotels.  ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Bear Inn & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bear Hotel Belper
The Bear Inn And Hotel
The Bear Inn & Hotel Belper, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing