We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Bear Inn & Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awful!!”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We went for Mother's Day as I had said to everyone how lovely the food was and I was right the food was lovely but the service was awful we were never told when we booked or when we arrived we only had 2 hours so we booked our table for 12pm as it was Mother's Day it was very busy and we waited 30 mins for the 3 vegetarian options which they brought to the table and said we had to take the plates and collect our veg from the carvery which had a queue out of the door so our mains went cold. We then waited for our table to cleared which never happened I eventually went to find a member of staff to ask about the pudding menu which I got and just as we had decided what to have a rude woman came over told us we had been there 2 hours and told us to leave!! It was embarrassing and upsetting for the children I will never go back

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amber1708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    87
    31
    26
    18
See reviews for
73
97
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Took a bit of a gamble here. 10 years ago the food here was fabulous, 5 years or so went downhill so not been back since. My wife said they had accomodation so we gave it a go

Pleasant welcome by the host. Room 2 was probably the second worst hotel room I have stayed in. £90. Cold, furnishing was a bed ( certainly not the advertised 4 poster), tiny TV had no signal, large well presented bathroom with a tiny corner bath, cold , towel radiator small and not working, tiny towels, one quilt, poor state of repair.

We did get an extra quilt on request but there was no further source of heat, panel heaters etc, asked for extra towels but they simply replaced them

Still everything looks better after a glass of wine and the food (steak and veggie option was really good). Service was not great. Waiting 20 mins to order dessert. The table behind us had half of their mains delayed by 30 mins. No greeting at breakfast the next day, had to ask to be served and 2 staff said "welcome to Fawlty Towers"

Don't stay over,far to expensive for whats on offer, the food is good but service needs working on

Room Tip: dont bother staying
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Belper hotels

Madrid, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Bear Inn for one night, arriving after dark, so got rather confused trying to find it! Rang the pub and the staff very helpfully gave us directions. This is a very traditional pub in its style, and the decor may not appeal to those who like a more modern,city gastro-pub style, but it is typically British and we had a lovely stay. Our room was quite small and basic but warm, and had a very comfortable bed. Lovely scenic views from the window. Due to the lack of space, the tea making facilities are in a communal area just outside the rooms, and as we were the only guests, it was no hardship to walk down a couple of stairs to make some early morning tea. Food was excellent and in very generous portions, as was the delicious English breakfast the next day. Lovely roaring fires/wood burners in the bars and I was not cold at all, being a person who feels the cold normally. The staff were very attentive and our check in/out was quick and straightforward. We were treated in a friendly but not overfamiliar way by the mainly young bar staff, and service was quick. An enjoyable experience.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussiespanishdoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfreton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Went to the Bear Inn for the first time on Sunday with friends. We booked our table at 4.30 and found out that the carvery had finished..........gutted. That said we could have a lamb dinner which was what was left, it was amazing. The chef was very generous and even came out to see if everything was ok with our meal. All food cooked to perfection and very tasty indeed.
Cant wait to go again......SOON!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We had our wedding at the Bear last October. I knew I wanted to get married somewhere which was informal, cozy, and with a good choice of beers rather than something more 'stately'. The Bear turned out to be an excellent choice. The staff were all incredibly helpful throughout the planning stages and did a tremendous job on the day behind the scenes turning the rooms around and not keeping you waiting for longer than necessary. They also did a wonderful job of setting everything out, the room looked amazing.
We got to pre-book all the rooms for our guests which was a huge help and provided a list of local taxis for people staying in the surrounding areas. The rooms were all fine, and the breakfast the next morning was great. We had Carvery for our wedding meal (why wouldn't you if you have eaten their carvery) and that was perfect as always with a great selection of meats, potatoes and veggies.
The day could not have gone better, and all our guests had a wonderful time there. We did have some issues with guests finding the location as it is in the middle of the countryside. My advice would be the ios maps are more reliable than SatNav, but that is not a problem of the venues.
I have read a lot of reviews of people saying it is 'dated' or the 'rooms need modernising' this is an old coach house, and as so has kept its rustic charm. I personally don't think this is a bad thing, and was my reason for choosing the venue in the first place.
All in all I could not have asked for a better day, or better service from the Staff.
I did try to envisage the location when trying to plan the decor and there are not many pictures on the internet. If anyone wants to see how great this place can look kitted out for a wedding or party there are some pictures on our photographers website: http://www.weddingphotographybyedgodden.co.uk/helen-chris

Room Tip: We stayed in the 'Honeymoon' room, and the bath is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We visited The Bear to stay over on New Year's Eve, having had a lovely stay in the summer. The bar and restaurant have a lovely cosy and welcoming feel and there was a nice atmosphere in there during the evening.

When we arrived, we were shown to our room. Unfortunately, the radiator had not been turned on and it was unpleasantly cold. The room did warm up a little bit but not enough and, by the morning, the room was very cold again.

Overall though, this is a very pleasant and relaxing place to visit. The food is very good, the staff and locals are friendly and there is always a nice atmosphere in the bar.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joannamarie1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

Have been visiting the bear for a few years but the food seems to just get better and better! Partner said it was the best steak he d eaten ! don't normally leave reviews but don't feel the 3.5 out of 5 stars does the bear justice

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank basilrasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belper
1.3 mi away
The Lion Hotel
The Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Belper
290 reviews
1.1 mi away
Makeney Hall Hotel
Makeney Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Belper
999 reviews
3.1 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wirksworth
101 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Morley Hayes Hotel
2.2 mi away
Horsley Lodge
Horsley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Horsley
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bear Inn & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bear Inn & Hotel

Property: The Bear Inn & Hotel
Address: Belper Road | Alderwasley, Belper DE56 2RD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Belper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Belper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bear Inn & Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The earliest reference to a building here is 1528 – this would have been a parlour, hall, buttery, dairy, and kitchen. In 1690, the building became the property of the Hurt family, which then became an alehouse and soon after known as the Olde Brown Bear Inn.  The Bear Inn, as it became known by 1735, lay on the Birmingham-Derby-Chesterfield-Sheffield turnpike road…..by 1764 it had become a prominent coaching Inn. The names and dates of all Innkeepers and owners from 1735 – 2008 is listed in the entrance hall of the Bear. Just standing beneath the beams of this fine English country Inn invites history to wash over you – sampling a pint or two of fine English ale helps the process! The fame of The Bear has spread across various counties and continents in recent years, mainly as a Gastro pub of note, a hotel, carvery & real ale venue. Real Food, Real Ale, Real People, Real Derbyshire – can be completed with Real History. The Bear can truly boast to be one of Derbyshire’s oldest & most renowned Inn & Hotels.  ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Bear Inn & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bear Inn And Hotel
The Bear Hotel Belper
The Bear Inn & Hotel Belper, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing