We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loadsa Atmos”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Bear Inn & Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2014

A wonderful atmospheric pub dating from 1528 The Bear is bursting with character. Flagstone floors, natural wood and open fires all add to its unique atmosphere.

The pub, in the small village of Alderwasley, is set in an idyllic part of the Derbyshire countryside. Well kept local and guest ales (Fullers Bengal Lancer when we visited) are always available.

We didn't stay there

We also didn’t eat there but the menu looked interesting. Very welcoming and helpful staff.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Pete C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (250)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 250 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

Just returned from one of the best meals I've eaten in a long while. Haven't been to the Bear for many years, and we were not disappointed.
The staff were very welcoming and efficient, and the different meals the four of us had were absolutly incredible. We have decided to visit this place on a regular monthly basis.
My only slight criticism is that there is too much food served. But I was very brave and managed to finish the biggest beefburger I have ever seen!
Dog owners - this place has dog friendly tables so no excuse not to take the pet.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Johnplus5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

very disappointed. We used to visit the Bear Inn on a regular basis but have not been for a long time because we were under the impression that it had closed. The menu was no where near as good as it used to be and was printed on a tacky piece of paper. The whole place looked as if it could do with a good clean and refurb. The staff were friendly and efficient but I will not be returning in a hurry

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank 477Maz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We went as a family group of 9 people ranging including a child, teenagers young/older adults. The table was reserved and ready when we arrived and the food very good. The service was mainly fine although the desert came slowly. We were sitting near the bar so no problem with drinks. The range of beer and wine was fine and the wine was served at the correct temperature. The staff were friendly even though the restaurant was full and very busy. We've been here a few times as my brother lives nearby; generally it's been good but service can be slow at times. Excellent location with great views and great on a nice summer's day.

Room Tip: Not a place to go if you're in a rush.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LaurenceNerja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Well the reviews on here are harsh, we stayed last night, 2nd time we have done so to celebrate our wedding anniversary. If your looking for a comfy bed, great views and a superb evening meal it is fantastic! The Steak was amazing and the atmosphere buzzing! This mornings breakfast was again delicious! Yes it looks a bit shabby in places but overall a pleasant night away in middle England!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank PJL1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This pub used to have an amazing atmosphere but had declined so we stopped going,however we did decide to give it another try last summer and found it had improved so when the light nights came we began going again this year.Two good experiences then on our last visit we were given a very limited menu and our food arrived so quickly that it must have been reheated not freshly cooked as you would expect for the prices they charge.It tasted ok and my mum made a comment-NOT a complaint -about the food being reheated-well the next minute the chef came out like a bear with a sore head denying that the food had been microwaved and quoted temperatures etc which wasn't even the issue-we hadn't said the food was cold!!! wanted us to go in the kitchen-which l'm sure is against health and safety regulations and became verbally aggressive.It turned out we hadn't even been given the correct menu -the correct one was more varied and had the meals we'd choosen on at a cheaper price anyhow we ended up not being charged for the meals,although they were petty enough to charge for my ice cream which l didn't enjoy because the chef was mouthing off!!! we will not be going again!!! if anyone reading this goes on the website the menu shown there is not what is offered now.If you do go and find fault with the food and complain -you're very brave!!! we only commented.....

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
5  Thank eric24601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This quaint, rustic pub is steeped in history and located in the heart of the Derbyshire countryside with stunning views at the rear. Take your sat nav when you visit here - you're likely to get lost without it. On each occasion that I've visited here, the food has been lovely and the service very good. This pub has a friendly atmosphere and we often get chatting to some of the locals. I love the traditional, somewhat 'rough around the edges', country-style decor of the Bear - this only adds to its personality. On our last visit around a month ago, the fillet steak had been taken off the menu - this is a shame because their fillet steak was the best that I'd ever had. However, the menu still offers plenty of choice and you can get a great carvery here on Sundays. Yes, the Bear is very busy at weekends but they do take bookings - often at very short notice - and this in itself says a lot about the quality of the food, service, and overall ambience. This is a great place for families and couples alike.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belper
5.6 mi away
Makeney Hall Hotel
Makeney Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Belper
1,055 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Lion Hotel
The Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Belper
349 reviews
8.2 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Bridge Hill House
Bridge Hill House
#1 of 10 in Belper
221 reviews
3.8 mi away
Rennie Rose Guest House
5.1 mi away
Grange Farm Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bear Inn & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bear Inn & Hotel

Address: Belper Road | Alderwasley, Belper DE56 2RD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Belper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Belper
Price Range: £54 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bear Inn & Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The earliest reference to a building here is 1528 – this would have been a parlour, hall, buttery, dairy, and kitchen. In 1690, the building became the property of the Hurt family, which then became an alehouse and soon after known as the Olde Brown Bear Inn.  The Bear Inn, as it became known by 1735, lay on the Birmingham-Derby-Chesterfield-Sheffield turnpike road…..by 1764 it had become a prominent coaching Inn. The names and dates of all Innkeepers and owners from 1735 – 2008 is listed in the entrance hall of the Bear. Just standing beneath the beams of this fine English country Inn invites history to wash over you – sampling a pint or two of fine English ale helps the process! The fame of The Bear has spread across various counties and continents in recent years, mainly as a Gastro pub of note, a hotel, carvery & real ale venue. Real Food, Real Ale, Real People, Real Derbyshire – can be completed with Real History. The Bear can truly boast to be one of Derbyshire’s oldest & most renowned Inn & Hotels.  ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia and HotelsClick so you can book your The Bear Inn & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bear Hotel Belper
The Bear Inn And Hotel
The Bear Inn & Hotel Belper, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing