We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good basic pub food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Devonshire

The Devonshire
Ranked #32 of 74 Restaurants in Belper
Price range: US$6 - US$21
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are a small town Pub/Restaurant situated in the heart of Belper, Derbyshire. We serve home made traditional and modern Lunches and Dinners. Generous selection of menu's, including locally sourced meats, specials and home made desserts. Also a Carvery served 12 noon-3pm Mon to Sat, 5pm-8pm Mon to Sat and 12 noon-7pm Sunday.
scotland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good basic pub food.”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Friendly helpful staff, nice atmosphere, clean, modern, efficient.Reasonable price. Be warned though..lots of the portions like my delicious salmon tagliatelle and my friends apple crumble would both have fed 4 people, so if we went again we would share portions to save all the waste.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank satellina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    48
    16
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belper, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“never had a bad meal or service”
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

Have been going to The Devonshire for many years, both as a couple and with various generations of the family. We have never had a bad meal or service. Portions are always the perfect size and very reasonably priced. Will be going back again.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew and Jes... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Love love love it here! The staff are so friendly and the food is always amazing! I come here with family and with work colleagues and we always have a great experience! They work so hard here and it truly pays off!! Great service, great food! Definately recommend!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Helena2905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
1 review
“Any Lunchtime good -particularly on Sundays”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Although not local, for family reasons, we've been going on average one lunch time a week for over four years.

Varied main menu is always satisfying while the carvery (with concessions Monday-Friday)
stands comparison with any in its modest price range. Sunday carvery with three choices of roast and five vegetables (usually including cauliflower cheese) is even better. Add Steve,
Fay and their able support team and it's easy to see why its reputation continues to grow. They also put on special theme evenings, quiz nights etc.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnjaCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peak District - Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I wouldn't reccomend it!”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

The food is okay but the waitors/waitresses and owners of the establishment are rude and unhelpful. I went along with a friend and we were asked to move as soon as we'd finished eating as they had another bookingthat were waiting to be seated. They also let the dog roam freely whilst you're eating which i personally think is very unhygienic.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JadieAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Devonshire also viewed

 
Belper, Derbyshire
 

Been to The Devonshire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing