We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great fish and chips, call in if you are passing.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of George's Tradition

George's Tradition
Ranked #13 of 74 Restaurants in Belper
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast food, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great fish and chips, call in if you are passing.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

During the past year this place has become a regular source of good fish and chips. It is part of a local chain with a clear brand. I have always found the cod to be fresh, nicely cooked with good flavour. The batter is almost always perfect. The chips are good, rarely soggy.
My mum used to run a chippies, with coal fired range and dripping for the deep fry; Georges haven't quite attained that level of taste, but they come close :-)
The service in Georges Belper is attentive and friendly.
If you are passing through Belper it is worth stopping to sample the George's fish and chips.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgesTradition01, Custom service at George's Tradition, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Hi Charles,

It might not be quite as good as when you tucked into your fish and chips from your mum's coal fired range, but we keep doing our best :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    87
    40
    28
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Duffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
214 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Amazing Steak Pie supper”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

My parents loved Georges Tradition. I can so see why. Just had a pie of the day Steak Pie Supper; pie, chips, mushy peas and gravy gor less than £8! Eith a Black Sheep Ale an amazing dinner for £10. Lovely food and very efficient service. See you soon.

Helpful?
Thank djthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“As good as ever.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

Just been to Georges Restaurant Belper not been for a wile as we live 30 miles away .
The fish & Chips were as good as ever pipping hot &the service was as usual very good (2 members of staff have been there as long as we have been eating there , several years ) .
Keep up the good work & see you again soon .

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nodski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great takeaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Very Good. Hot fresh & tasty. Staff worked quickly & politely & received food in under 10 minutes despite full takeaway area.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointed.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

Rather disappointed to say the least after hearing so many good reviews, including one from a member of staff at a nearby Indian restaurant.
Service, I had a takeaway, was speedy and polite, and the portion size was good, but unfortunately this was let down drastically by the soggy batter on the fish, and the so so chips.
Obviously it would be stupid to assume all the Georges Tradition outlets serve poor standard food, but having recently read about the award they got, I am surprised to say the least.

Incidentally, the same award people voted the chip shop on the quay in Whitby as THEE best in the UK.
I have eaten there, they are, and by comparison, Georges Tradition shouldn't be in the same list.
Sorry, I won't be returning, at least not to the Ilkeston one.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgesTradition01, Marketing Manager at George's Tradition, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Hi Craig,

Really sorry to hear that after looking forward to your visit it was not to the standard that you expected. If you could please email me at marketing@georgestradition.co.uk or call on 01332 226640, I can then find out all the details and look into this.

Thank you

Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed George's Tradition also viewed

 

Been to George's Tradition? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing