We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful place with excellent staff!”
Review of Makeney Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Makeney Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Belper
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful place with excellent staff!”
Reviewed 3 February 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one nite with a groupon voucher which was excellent value for money! Although some areas of the hotel was a little tired our room was beautiful! The staff were amazing, professional and couldn't do enough for us! Especially the staff in the restaurant Simon and Laura, they were rushed off their feet with only the two of them in the busy restaurant! They made sure everyone was served quickly and with a smile on their face, first class service! One nite wasn't enough we hope be back soon!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jemima H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry R, Manager at Makeney Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. I’m so pleased that you have had a good stay with us. We currently have an on-going in house maintenance scheme, so we’re trying to address each area and improve where needed. I will pass on your kind comments to both Laura, Simon and the rest of the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Makeney Hall Hotel in the future

Warm Regards

Kerry Rawson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    333
    187
    117
    66
See reviews for
153
571
15
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed at makeney hall for one night and throughly enjoyed it. We stayed in room 26 and the room was very spacious and clean. Yes the decor is slightly dated but it wouldent look right with modern interior in a Victorian house!!! ... We ate in the restaurant and could not fault the service. The food was okay. We had breakfast the next morning which was lovely. Wide selection of both hot and cold to choose from. Reading previous reviews I was not really sure what to expect, yes there was minor things you could point out but only if you are really picky! I really dont go around running my finger along picture frames and looking for cracks in chair legs! I Would definately stay again at makeney hall.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmalisa21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry R, Manager at Makeney Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. I’m delighted that you have had a pleasant stay with us. We try to keep all in house bedrooms in keeping with the main house because as you have rightly mentioned modern rooms wouldn’t look or feel right. However we do offer a more updated bedroom in our courtyard area for any guests who prefer that style.

I’m pleased that you had a possive stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to Makeney Hall Hotel in the near future

Warm Regards

Kerry Rawson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
77 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

We stayed for one night on a Groupon deal that had been purchased for us as a gift. It included tea and cakes, a bottle of wine and breakfast.
After reading the room reviews I decided to upgrade paying £35 extra for the Strutt Suite. I think the suite sums up the hotel. It was a great lounge, large bathroom, large bedroom and its own sauna. Then you get to the niggles. The sauna hasn't been fitted properly and cold draughts blow from under the benches so you have a sauna that is cold at the bottom and hot at the top. In the lounge there is some lovely furniture but a settee that is worn and dirty. Even somebody else's crumbs under the cushions! The bathroom has a lovely double shower yet the water doesn't clear away very quickly so you stand in dirty water. The rail holding the shower head is loose. The old raw plugs are still in he wall where some old fittings have been removed. The toilet roll holder had come off the wall and had been left on the window sill. The light above the mirror didn't work. The bed was very comfortable yet there was a cold draught blowing from inside the wardrobe.
There was a problem at breakfast, the kitchen didn't have any gas! So some breakfast items were missing. The full English was small i.e. one sausage, one rasher of bacon, my egg was undercooked with runny egg white and it was all cold.
Staff throughout were excellent, friendly and attentive
Overall this hotel has lots of potential but needs someone to get a grip of it.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Narcky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry R, Manager at Makeney Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. I’m delighted that you have had a pleasant stay with us. I have handed over the issues that you experienced to our maintenance department, who will rectify each issue. Thank you for making us aware.

I would like to personally apologise about your breakfast experience, there was an issue with our gas supply (we had to call an engineer out, but this issue wasn’t resolved until the afternoon). Due to the kitchen being unable to use several items of equipment breakfast wasn’t served to its usual standard.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Makeney Hall Hotel in the near future

Warm Regards

Kerry Rawson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

Stayed overnight on a groupon deal Thursday to Friday. The hotel was charming with friendly staff who were welcoming and helpful. We were put in room 8 which was the biggst hotel room I have ever stayed in! Huge room, big bed, spacious bathroom and a walk in closet. Great night's sleep too - bed wasn't just large it was very comfortable and we had big heavy curtains so the room was nice and dark. Enjoyed a couple of drinks in the bar - OK it wasn't brimming with choice but they had the basics, the wine was good and the prices were reasonble. Breakfast was nice - friendly staff took the order, and it was brought to your table so no horrid buffet! All in all we were really pleased and would not only reccommend the hotel but would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 999julie999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry R, Manager at Makeney Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. I’m delighted that you have had a pleasant stay with us. I will pass on your kind comments on to the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Makeney Hall Hotel in the near future

Warm Regards

Kerry Rawson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

We arranged to go to the hotel (via a voucher agency) from Sunday 27 January to Tuesday 29 January 2013. Please go by the directions the hotel gives on the web site, our Sat Nav took us out into the wilds of Derbyshire! Arrival was a bit protracted due to the room not being ready and there being a wedding going on. However, we go the complimentary tea and coffee and got to our very nice and large room. Lovely views, including the swollen River Derwent, with some snow still lingering. Can't fault the food or service; first class. Decore is tired in some areas but there was a decorator plying his trade in the corridor while we had breakfast. Would we go there again? Oh yes! Perhaps in the summer time as a contrast.

Room Tip: Try for an up-grade and rooms facing the front of the premises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry R, Manager at Makeney Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. I’m delighted that you have had a pleasant stay with us. I will pass on your kind comments on to the team.

We do have an on-going in house improvement scheme to improve the tired areas, recently finishing a refurb in one of our bar areas.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Makeney Hall Hotel in the near future

Warm Regards

Kerry Rawson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 February 2013

The room decor was worn and dated. Poor cleanliness - there was what looked like animal hair on the carpet. The bathroom was freezing cold and damp - there was no ventilation so mould had built up. It was impossible to use the shower due to the shower curtain being in a very odd position, right underneath the water jet. The bath was small.

Breakfast was underwhelming. The 'full English' was stodgy and appeared to have been thrown together with cheap ingredients. The sausages were full of gristle.

At check out their trained receptionist was not available so I was asked to leave my debit card details and assured that I would be called before any charges were made to my card. They then over-charged my card without authorisation. I phoned to complain and was told that they would email me the bill for me to review - they didn't. Days later the bill arrived in the post and I found that I had been charged for drinks we didn't have, despite assurances to the contrary when I phoned them.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry R, Manager at Makeney Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. I’m sorry to hear that you didn’t have a good experience while with us.

It was actually myself who checked you out that morning, as our training receptionist was unable to make it in due to heavy snow fall. I don’t recall any negative comments from that morning and no negative comments were recorded in our duty managers diary, if I had of been aware I would have personally apologised to you and of course compensated you. In regards to the card payment I have called you several time and left three voice mails again to apologise and ensure the issue has been resolved – please feel free to contact me on 01332 842 99.

We do have an on-going in house improvement scheme to improve the tired areas, recently finishing a refurb in one of our bar areas.

I hope that I can welcome you back in the near future and restore that faith lost.

Warm Regards

Kerry Rawson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Belper hotels

Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

I was expecting more from this manor house hotel.
Although kept well in keeping decor wise with its age, the furniture, especially the bed was looking not 'vintage' but from a at boot sale. The mattress became wafer thin when I lay on it.
Not all rooms have shower capabilities and the bathroom facilities were very dated - but not necessarily in keeping with the Victorian theme.

I stayed in the Nursery on the top floor which was like a furnace. And the window opened no more than about 2 inches. Needless to say, I had a terrible nights sleep and lay awake until 3am trying to keep cool.

I had dinner as room service as I arrived at 8pm. Check in was prompt and pleasant and I was told I would wait just half an hour for my dinner. It was gone 9pm by the time dinner arrived. It was ok although the bruschetta for starters was very hard and was more like a chunk of thick bread than a bruschetta.

Breakfast is served in one of the function rooms in a modern part of the building. I received burnt toast for breakfast and two cocktail sausages (about 2 inches long) as part of my sausage and scrambled egg on toast.

All aside, the staff were all very friendly and helpful. The views are indeed lovely although I am sure they would look better in the spring/summer.

However I would not choose to say here again if looking to stay in a 4* hotel. I would rate this hotels services as 2 to 3 stars.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry R, Manager at Makeney Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. I’m sorry to hear that you didn’t have a good experience while with us.

I’m afraid that all of our higher floor bedrooms have window restrictors on them as health and safety requires this and it is common practise throughout most hotels.

We do currently have an on-going in house improvement scheme to improve the tired areas, recently finishing a refurb in one of our bar areas.

I do apologise that breakfast wasn’t to its usual standard I will certainly pass your feedback onto our chef so he can make the necessary improvements.

I hope that I can welcome you back in the near future and restore the faith lost.

Warm Regards

Kerry Rawson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belper
1.9 mi away
The Lion Hotel
The Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Belper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Morley Hayes Hotel
2.7 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
8.9 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
8.3 mi away
Alison House Hotel
Alison House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cromford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makeney Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makeney Hall Hotel

Property: Makeney Hall Hotel
Address: Makeney, Belper DE56 0RS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Belper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Belper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Makeney Hall Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Makeney Hall Hotel is a magnificent Victorian country mansion, situated in the heart of Derbyshire, set in six acres of beautifully landscaped gardens with breathtaking views across the Amber Valley. Only eight miles from Derby and two miles from the flourishing market town of Belper, the hotel enjoys the most tranquil surroundings. The grandeur of the hotel setting combines with the warmth and attentiveness of our staff to make each guest feel at home and really special. From the informal Cocktail Bar to the elegant oak paneled dining room with an impressive oak fireplace, you’ll find daily and a la carte menus to tempt you wherever you prefer to dine. All of our 45 bedrooms are decorated in a warmly traditional style whilst the superior rooms have a period elegance this is in keeping the hotel’s heritage. With some of the most beautiful parts of the country on its doorstep, this hotel is also the perfect place for guests looking simply for a leisurely break in a truly hospitable environment. Picturesque grounds, impressive architecture and excellent cuisine make this hotel the perfect setting for a relaxing short break or other special occasions. As well as stunning scenery and marvelous walking trails, Derbyshire and the nearby Peak District are home to some of the country's finest stately homes including Chatsworth House, Haddon Hall and Kedleston Hall. For a family day out, enjoy a visit to Alton Towers or take in the delights of the local market towns of Bakewell, Buxton and Ashbourne. Makeney Hall offers Free WiFi Internet Access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Makeney Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makeney Hall Derby
Hotel Makeney Hall
Makeney Hall Hotel Belper, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing