We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overnight stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Makeney Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Makeney Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Belper
Avignon, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Overnight stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

We had a one-night stay on the 14th November. We were given room 5 upon which when first entering had a wow factor. Then reality kicked in. The room quickly became cold when the sun went down. I was told by reception at around 4pm that the heating would be on shortly. About an hour and half later, by which time we were both very cold, I reported it again to reception. They offered to bring up a small radiator which we accepted, not that it was much use. The heat came on about 5.30 but it took a long time to warm up the room.
Again in the dining room, we had booked for 8pm but asked if we could dine earlier. There was only a handful of people in the restaurant but we were still kept waiting and eventually got our starters at around 8.30pm! The wait was unacceptably long winded.
In the bathroom of room 5, has anyone ever really tried to have a shower!! The handheld shower is useless. It spins round in your hand and part of it is coming apart! The towels were stained as was our duvet cover. This is not what I expect from a 4 star hotel.
Finally, the first thing a guest sees as they enter the hotel is the front door. It looks very neglected and brass looks as though it hasn't been cleaned for ages. That goes for the windows in the building too.
I have noted that the manager offers apologies when people write poor reviews but what do they actually do about it??? I never saw an offer of " come again and have afternoon tea on us"!!!
But then again, the reviews on afternoon tea leave much to be desired!!
Doubt we will come again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christinelindley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    327
    184
    115
    66
See reviews for
147
562
15
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

We got married on the 3rd of November at Makeney Hall.
It is a gorgeous hotel with beautiful gardens and wonderful views from the room.
The room was clean, tidy and had the best bathtub ever!
The staff were lovely, patient and helpful.
We would 100% recommend it for staying and a perfect wedding venue.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duchess2389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry R, Manager at Makeney Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. I’m so pleased to hear that you had a positive experience while with us. I will pass on your kind comments to the team and I hope that we can welcome you back soon.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

The hotel is set in lovely grounds in a very nice part of the world. The hotel was in need of some TLC and the beds were very uncomfortable, as mentioned by others the staff are nice. Overall I'm glad that we had a voucher to stay as full price would not be worth the money.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ColMcK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry R, Manager at Makeney Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review. I am sorry that your stay was not entirely positive, for which I can only apologise. We do have an internal improvement scheme in place at the hotel and we do continuality try to improve the appearance of the hotel. It is only through comments such as yours that we are able to improve our standards and service. I hope that you re-visit us soon and provide us with an opportunity to restore the faith that has been lost.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

Bathroom was dirty, mildew round the bath, bath panel had a big crack in it, there was no shower, just a shower hose that would only fit on the sink, not very good to wash long hair, there was no where to even hang our towels. There was no remote for the tv it took two complaints and two day to sort, we were a party of three yet they only supplied two cups for tea or coffee, the room was very tired and dated it really needs to be updated, and it looked like they had just placed any type of furniture in the room, did not match. I have stayed in many hotels across the country wether for work or leisure, this one would not be one that I would return too, or recommend to anyone. ratings out of 10 - a poor 4

Room Tip: don't bother, choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dee d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry R, Manager at Makeney Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review. I am sorry that your stay was not entirely positive, for which I can only apologise. We do have an internal improvement scheme in place at the hotel and we do continuality try to improve the appearance of the hotel. It is only through comments such as yours that we are able to improve our standards and service. I hope that you re-visit us soon and provide us with an opportunity to restore the faith that has been lost.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Belper hotels

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed for 2 nights. I had notified the hotel by email that it was a special surprise break for my husband's 65th birthday. I received a call from Gemma who told me that they had upgraded our room for free and asked if there was anything else they could arrange. I asked for chocolates and a balloon with breakfast in bed on the actual birthday date. This was all arranged. Our room was actually the Strutt suite which had its own sauna! The hotel and grounds are lovely for a relaxing break. The food is very good and reasonably priced. We very much enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend this hotel which I found through Buyagift.com. Everything was spot on and my husband had a birthday treat to remember!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueWic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry R, Manager at Makeney Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. I’m so pleased to hear that you had a positive experience while with us. I will pass on your kind comments to the team and I hope that we can welcome you back soon.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

My partner and i came here on a groupon deal on the 19th of October. Both of us had read the reviews on here and some were quite scathing! well i'm happy to say we were amazed by how lovely everything was and not at all like the reviews ( some people can be so picky) food fabulous room very spacious and bed very comfortable and most of all very clean. I would definitely come back again and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it friends or family either....

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patsywildcat62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry R, Manager at Makeney Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. I’m so pleased to hear that you had a positive experience while with us. I will pass on your kind comments to the team and I hope that we can welcome you back soon.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

makeney hall was amazing a beautiful hotel and just as lovely gardens.We went for one night .we spent a fab afternoon in the local pub opposite Hollybush .The room in makaney hall was very spacious with a large tv, it was one of the largest rooms we have stayed in and it had a n old cooking range in .When we went down for dinner staff were very attentive we sat in conservatory and they reserved our seats because we wanted to sit near the window which i thought was very good of them .Food was lovely we had 3 courses but i advise 2 courses as large portions .We stayed here with an offer fro KGB it was 79 pound that included bed and breakfast for two, a bottle of wine, 20 pound off your food bill .All in all super weekend would love the offer to come again would book straight away

Room Tip: Room 32 The nursery enormous,good field views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goodwin1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry R, Manager at Makeney Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. I’m so pleased to hear that you had a positive experience while with us. I will pass on your kind comments to the team and I hope that we can welcome you back soon.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belper
1.9 mi away
The Lion Hotel
The Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Belper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Morley Hayes Hotel
2.7 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
8.9 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
8.3 mi away
Alison House Hotel
Alison House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cromford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makeney Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makeney Hall Hotel

Property: Makeney Hall Hotel
Address: Makeney Road, Belper DE56 0RS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Belper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Belper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Makeney Hall Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Makeney Hall Hotel is a magnificent Victorian country mansion, situated in the heart of Derbyshire, set in six acres of beautifully landscaped gardens with breathtaking views across the Amber Valley. Only eight miles from Derby and two miles from the flourishing market town of Belper, the hotel enjoys the most tranquil surroundings. The grandeur of the hotel setting combines with the warmth and attentiveness of our staff to make each guest feel at home and really special. From the informal Cocktail Bar to the elegant oak paneled dining room with an impressive oak fireplace, you’ll find daily and a la carte menus to tempt you wherever you prefer to dine. All of our 45 bedrooms are decorated in a warmly traditional style whilst the superior rooms have a period elegance this is in keeping the hotel’s heritage. With some of the most beautiful parts of the country on its doorstep, this hotel is also the perfect place for guests looking simply for a leisurely break in a truly hospitable environment. Picturesque grounds, impressive architecture and excellent cuisine make this hotel the perfect setting for a relaxing short break or other special occasions. As well as stunning scenery and marvelous walking trails, Derbyshire and the nearby Peak District are home to some of the country's finest stately homes including Chatsworth House, Haddon Hall and Kedleston Hall. For a family day out, enjoy a visit to Alton Towers or take in the delights of the local market towns of Bakewell, Buxton and Ashbourne. Makeney Hall offers Free WiFi Internet Access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Makeney Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makeney Hall Derby
Hotel Makeney Hall
Makeney Hall Hotel Belper, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing