We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our wedding day”
Review of Makeney Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Makeney Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Belper
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our wedding day”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We had a brilliant wedding day in the Milford suite at the makeney hall hotel last weekend.
From the moment we started to consider booking makeney hall for our big day the staff were very friendly. On the actual wedding nothing was ever too much trouble for any of the staff. And they worked really well with all the outside suppliers we had hired.
All our guest agreed that the food was presented very well, tasted beautiful and there was plenty of it. Even the breakfast the next morning was great.
Our honeymoon suite was the strutt suite,which was very clean and big enough for ourselves and our four children. We also had family and friends stop over in other room and they had no complaints about their rooms either.
We have booked our honeymoon suite already for our 1st anniversary and will definitely be recommending makeney hall to our friends and family
We just want to say a huge thank you to Liz , Paul and all the staff for making our day extra special and a day that won't be forgotten about for a very long time.
Kind regards
Mr and Mrs Daly

Room Tip: We would definitely recommend the strutt suite for anyone traveling with children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry R, Manager at Makeney Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. I’m so pleased to hear that you had a positive experience while with us. I will pass on your kind comments to the team and I hope that we can welcome you back soon.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    333
    186
    117
    66
See reviews for
153
570
15
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Stayed for one night on a voucher deal and could not fault the hotel at all . after a lovely dinner we went back to our room to find it very noisy from the wedding below (voucher warns this could happen. ) ) went down to reception to see if we could move to any other room and the girl on reception could not have been more helpful and moved us to another lovely room immediately . lovely breakfast next morning and once again great staff. We would not hesitate to stay again thanks everyone.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alanandphilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry R, Manager at Makeney Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. I’m so pleased to hear that you had a positive experience while with us. I will pass on your kind comments to the reception team and I hope that we can welcome you back soon.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We had our wedding here on the 9th November 2013, and it was fantastic. We would love to thank Kat for the work she did on the day and Liz who helped us organise everything.

The Bridal Suite was excellent and blow us both away. We also had family and friends stop over the night before and the feedback has been 100% positive.

The food provide was great, breakfast had an excellent choice, the staff were also fantastic both prior, during and after our wedding. Everyone in our wedding party complimented us in our taste for the venue and how nice the hotel was.

We cannot fault this hotel whatsoever.

Thank you Makeney Hall for making our wedding day the best possible day ever!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladieA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry R, Manager at Makeney Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. I’m so pleased to hear that you had a positive experience while with us. I will pass on your kind comments to the team and I hope that we can welcome you back soon.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We were very happy with everything to do with our stay.
We had a voucher deal for 2 nights including breakfast, our room was up graded free as we wanted a four poster and they were booked!
Restaurant was excellent, food amazing and staff very attentive!
Added bonus restaurant accepted tastecard!

Couldn't see why anyone would complain!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bridget D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry R, Manager at Makeney Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. I’m so pleased to hear that you had a positive experience while with us. I hope that we can welcome you back soon.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We had a voucher with a discount, so for that price, it was acceptable, if I'd paid full price, I'd have been complaining. Generally, nice old hotel but needs care and attention to finer details & refurbishment in some cases. Tired looking. Restaurant service was ok, but restaurant lacked atmosphere. Could improve considerably and given its location would make a real lovely spa hotel as it has great grounds. Maybe it does ok out of conference bookings so doesn't need to worry about "usual" guests?? Watch out for the "credit card fee" on your pre-printed invoice too, before you pay with a debit card.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry R, Manager at Makeney Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review. I am sorry that your stay was not entirely positive, for which I can only apologise. We do have an internal improvement scheme in place at the hotel and we do continuality try to improve the appearance of the hotel. It is only through comments such as yours that we are able to improve our standards and service. I hope that you re-visit us soon and provide us with an opportunity to restore the faith that has been lost.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Just returned from a one-night stay at Makeney Hall for the Fawlty Towers Dining Experience. Set off the main road in secluded grounds, the building looked impressive upon arrival. Unfortunately, my first impression didn't last. Internally, the hotel looked as if if had been neglected and had seen better days. The windows were grubby, there was a dirty stained floor tile in the bathroom, and the telephone did not work in the bedroom. The rooms were cold and there was a lovely fireplace in the drawing room which would have added a lovely atmosphere and warmth. The breakfast was self-service and luke warm and the plates weren't warmed up. Such a let-down. You had to hunt down a staff member to service at the bar. On the plus-side, the staff were very friendly and the Fawlty Towers Dinner wonderful. I've never laughed so much! The food was lovely too.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmazingGrace011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Belper hotels

england
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We had booked some weeks ago for an overnight and literally just as we were leaving home a member of staff phoned to say they had doubled booked and made arrangements for us to stay at the Lion Hotel. Belper. This turned out to be a disaster with the place being a room above a pub in a busy main road with no double glazing and a hen and stag party spilling onto the street. The furniture was broken and previous occupants half empty toiletries in the bathroom.
I spoke with the manager of the Makeney who gave a full refund and booked us in free of charge for an overnight and breakfast at the Makeney in the bridal suite complete with four poster and huge free standing bath.
We had a lovely meal in the evening in the conservatory and all the staff during our stay were friendly. A huge disappointment was the breakfast which was cold, little choice, cheap ingredients and they had run out of items. The plates were cold and the buffet table was stained with the food coming from the serving spoons which was not cleaned.

Overall our room was lovely with beautiful views but an improvement with the breakfast and general upgrade to the public rooms would make it somewhere special. Our sincere thanks to the manager for excellent customer service.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessica060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belper
1.9 mi away
The Lion Hotel
The Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Belper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Morley Hayes Hotel
2.7 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
8.9 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
8.3 mi away
Alison House Hotel
Alison House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cromford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makeney Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makeney Hall Hotel

Property: Makeney Hall Hotel
Address: Makeney, Belper DE56 0RS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Belper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Belper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Makeney Hall Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Makeney Hall Hotel is a magnificent Victorian country mansion, situated in the heart of Derbyshire, set in six acres of beautifully landscaped gardens with breathtaking views across the Amber Valley. Only eight miles from Derby and two miles from the flourishing market town of Belper, the hotel enjoys the most tranquil surroundings. The grandeur of the hotel setting combines with the warmth and attentiveness of our staff to make each guest feel at home and really special. From the informal Cocktail Bar to the elegant oak paneled dining room with an impressive oak fireplace, you’ll find daily and a la carte menus to tempt you wherever you prefer to dine. All of our 45 bedrooms are decorated in a warmly traditional style whilst the superior rooms have a period elegance this is in keeping the hotel’s heritage. With some of the most beautiful parts of the country on its doorstep, this hotel is also the perfect place for guests looking simply for a leisurely break in a truly hospitable environment. Picturesque grounds, impressive architecture and excellent cuisine make this hotel the perfect setting for a relaxing short break or other special occasions. As well as stunning scenery and marvelous walking trails, Derbyshire and the nearby Peak District are home to some of the country's finest stately homes including Chatsworth House, Haddon Hall and Kedleston Hall. For a family day out, enjoy a visit to Alton Towers or take in the delights of the local market towns of Bakewell, Buxton and Ashbourne. Makeney Hall offers Free WiFi Internet Access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Makeney Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makeney Hall Derby
Hotel Makeney Hall
Makeney Hall Hotel Belper, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing