We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay in a beautiful location”
Review of Makeney Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Makeney Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Belper
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent stay in a beautiful location”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed at the Makeney Hall hotel for 2 nights end of January, the Hotel was lovely and was ideal for a trip into Derby to the Westfield Shopping Centre. Had a meal in the hotel which was excellent value, they did an offer of 2 courses for 2 people with a bottle of wine for £39.95, it was well worth it, we enjoyed it that much we had another on the 2nd evening, a good selection to choose from.

The hotel rooms were clean and tidy and the Drawing Room was a lovely room to relax in, instead of just sitting in your room. The staff were very accommodating and the Gentleman who served us in the restaurant on the 2nd evening was very friendly and I asked him about the history of the building and he was very informative and even went to the trouble of printing off a little leaflet. Gorgeous building, great stay, would definitely stay again

Room Tip: Was a very peaceful location so all rooms should be fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoyandJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry R, Manager at Makeney Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your feedback, it’s great to here that you had a positive experience while with us. I will pass on your feedback to the rest of the who will be thrilled to hear your feedback.

Please let me know if I can assist further in any way

Warm Regards

Kerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,001 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    337
    197
    119
    69
See reviews for
158
585
15
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Belper, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Just returned from Victorian afternoon tea booked for 16.30 with a voucher from Amazon. The cost of tea with voucher was £22 for two, supposedly half price. Not sure who thinks this tea is worth £44 for two. Receptionist very pleasant on arrival but enjoyable afternoon stopped there. We were directed to drawing room which was empty apart from tables laden with used dirty plates and tea things. The room was very cold and only one heater working. The young man bringing in tea and coffee did not acknowledge us and I told him we wanted to sit at a comfortable table when he cleared it of previous tea things. This done the afternoon tea was the brought in. Not once did he speak to us apart from asking if we required milk for tea. We were then left to enjoy a selection of sandwiches and cakes. Unfortunately it was the worst selection of sandwiches and cakes I have ever tasted. The bread was stale and crunchy at the edges, not sure what most of the fillings were they were so miserly. Ham was so thin I could see through it. I thought cakes would be better but no, these were stale also. The scones were probably a week old and were stale and dry. Even the cream was dry. If you are looking for afternoon tea don't go to Makeney Hall. Try Harts Nottingham it is cheaper and far superior. Not used Amazon vouchers before and will not do so again as they are very poor value for money.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank suffolkvisitor2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Belper hotels

Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

I took my friend for afternoon tea. The room was freezing cold, the coffee and tea were cold and the scones were rock hard like last weeks. I did report this but we did not receive any apology. It took me ages to warm up from the experience. Dreadful!!!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

My friend
And I went for a relaxing wkend. omg. Know one at reception waited 10 mins.no heating in room it was broken moved to another room no apology broken bathpanel jagged piece missing pins holding curtain together chipped paintwork and the worst is yet to come the mattress was filthy a trap wouldnt have slept on it do not go near for at least a year they say there having a refurbishment but still wont refund us as it was a groupon deal .discussed .

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chinafortyniner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We were bought a Victorian Afternoon Tea for 2 as a Christmas present, so duly booked.
The building as others have said is impressive but the decor is in need of a re-vamp
The tea itself was very disappointing. The sandwiches were dry as though they had been out for some time, the tea weak, the scones passable, the cake we had was also not to our liking but having said that not all customers got the same. Certainly not worth the money

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry R, Manager at Makeney Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review. It is just a shame that this wasn’t brought to our attention when we could have resolved these issues. Overall it is disappointing to hear that you had an unsatisfactory experience while with us and I apologise that we were unable to rectify these issues while you was with us. I hope that you re-visit us soon and provide us with an opportunity to restore the faith that has been lost.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Bit belated but finally got round to adding my review. My husband and I got married here in June 2013 and it was fantastic. The staff couldn't do enough to help us - starting from visiting there for a wedding fayre, booking and creating the ceremony and wedding, right through up to the very end, the morning after the event. The food was delicious, drinks were flowing and everyone was polite, professional, attentive and friendly. Couldn't have asked for a more perfect venue. Looking forward to returning for our anniversary.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MerrieTerrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry R, Manager at Makeney Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. I’m so pleased to hear that you had a positive experience while with us. I will pass on your kind comments to the team and I hope that we can welcome you back soon.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

I came here with 13 others for a Christmas party night and after reading a previous review was really not knowing what to expect. Did that person come to the same place ?? We found the service to be excellent, the food was delicious, yes the main meal was served to you all ready to eat but we actually found this to be a good idea. We all had a great night, it wasn't as busy as I expected it to be but our table definitely kept the dance floor alive :) all of us enjoyed after party drinks in the bar ( thank you night porter ) .

Overall a great night & a great hotel which is rather tired looking but maybe that adds to the character, would definitely recommend & hope to return :))

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry R, Manager at Makeney Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. I’m so pleased to hear that you had a positive experience while with us. I hope that we can welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belper
2.7 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
8.9 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
268 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Morley Hayes Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
757 reviews
2.4 mi away
Horsley Lodge
Horsley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Horsley
354 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makeney Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makeney Hall Hotel

Property: Makeney Hall Hotel
Address: Makeney, Belper DE56 0RS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Belper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Belper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Makeney Hall Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Makeney Hall Hotel is a magnificent Victorian country mansion, situated in the heart of Derbyshire, set in six acres of beautifully landscaped gardens with breathtaking views across the Amber Valley. Only eight miles from Derby and two miles from the flourishing market town of Belper, the hotel enjoys the most tranquil surroundings. The grandeur of the hotel setting combines with the warmth and attentiveness of our staff to make each guest feel at home and really special. From the informal Cocktail Bar to the elegant oak paneled dining room with an impressive oak fireplace, you’ll find daily and a la carte menus to tempt you wherever you prefer to dine. All of our 45 bedrooms are decorated in a warmly traditional style whilst the superior rooms have a period elegance this is in keeping the hotel’s heritage. With some of the most beautiful parts of the country on its doorstep, this hotel is also the perfect place for guests looking simply for a leisurely break in a truly hospitable environment. Picturesque grounds, impressive architecture and excellent cuisine make this hotel the perfect setting for a relaxing short break or other special occasions. As well as stunning scenery and marvelous walking trails, Derbyshire and the nearby Peak District are home to some of the country's finest stately homes including Chatsworth House, Haddon Hall and Kedleston Hall. For a family day out, enjoy a visit to Alton Towers or take in the delights of the local market towns of Bakewell, Buxton and Ashbourne. Makeney Hall offers Free WiFi Internet Access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Makeney Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makeney Hall Derby
Hotel Makeney Hall
Makeney Hall Hotel Belper, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing