We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay”
Review of Makeney Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Makeney Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Belper
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good stay”
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

Lovely welcome due to I arrived late evening, food was about to finished and was advised would take order and then I can go and settle in my room.dinner was nice not brill but depends on your taste clean and inviting room.
Bedroom was big and spacious the room itself was a bit dusty but not dirty, bathroom clean and spacious with complimentary toiletries.
Free wifi
Breakfast very nice a very good choice of items and cooked breakfast nice stay in a lovely area and good views of the countryside

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry R, Manager at Makeney Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your feedback, it’s great to here that you had a positive experience while with us. I will pass on your feedback to the rest of the team who will be thrilled to hear your feedback.

Please let me know if I can assist further in any way

Warm Regards

Kerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    335
    191
    117
    66
See reviews for
155
575
15
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

The room was very musty and the window didn't shut, cobwebs on ceilings and very dusty. Bathroom tired and water pressure a really issue. Avoid room 23! Breakfast was buffet style and ran out on the Sunday morning of hot food. On a positive staff very friendly, beautiful grounds & ample car parking. Management never replied to complaint, Needs improvement

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nicola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry R, Manager at Makeney Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your feedback and apologies that your experience wasn’t entirely positive while you was with us. I haven’t received any form of direct communication from you regarding your stay, so I apologies if you have been waiting for me to contact you. Please feel free to contact me directly on - Gm.makeneyhall@akkeronhotels.com or 01332 842 999.

Please let me know if I can assist further in any way

Warm Regards

Kerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Belper hotels

Midlands
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We booked one night on a Livingsocial package which included a two-course dinner+wine and breakfast. We only paid £76 so it was value for money, normally we were told it is £115.00.
Room 14 was clean but certainly needing some refurbishment. There was no valance on the bed, no cushions either, very plain and not at all like other 4* hotels we have stayed it. The tv looked dated and there was no remote control. Like in other reviews the central heating was quite noisy but despite this the room was warm and the bathroom was clean and adequate.
The meals were served in the conservatory. Unfortunately the radiators weren't on so it was a little on the cold side, also a few cobwebs on the light fittings.
However, the food was presented well and tasted good. The staff are very polite and friendly and they went out their way to make sure everything was okay. However, upon checking out (Saturday, 8th March) the Receptionist seemed a little sharp, she didn't ask if we had enjoyed our stay and if there were any issues. It just seemed that she wanted to check us out and that was it, probably a little more training is required on customer service!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MerikaEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry R, Manager at Makeney Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your feedback and apologies that your experience wasn’t entirely positive while you was with us. We are planning on making improvements to our bedrooms this year and it does including new TV’s etc. I hope that maybe we can welcome you back later in the year so that you can take advantage of these updates.

Please let me know if I can assist further in any way

Warm Regards

Kerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Usually stay in a premier inn when we go away, but as travelling without any children, thought I'd splash out on something a little more pricey for a special weekend away. I paid for the Executive double, rather than standard, which appears to have meant we had a (ripped) sofa in the room.... no period features (as advertised) and nothing about it that made it a special room. Very soft/old feeling mattress which made us sink into the middle of it. Staff informed up the lift was broken, and even through our room was on the top floor, there was no offer of help with carrying baggage upstairs. Wholey disappointed with the hotel (and the somewhat musty smell...) and not at all worth what we paid for. A Premier Inn would have been much cheaper, and much better!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CDevin101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry R, Manager at Makeney Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your feedback and apologies that your experience wasn’t entirely positive while you was with us. We are planning on making improvements to our bedrooms this year and it does including new sofas etc. If we were made aware that you wanting to take advantage of the hotels period features we would of happily allocated a bedroom that had plenty or alternatively we would of happily moved you into another bedroom after check in if we were aware that the bedroom wasn’t right for you. I hope that maybe we can welcome you back later in the year so that you can take advantage of these updates.

Please let me know if I can assist further in any way

Warm Regards

Kerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

A friend purchased this as a gift for my birthday (through Amazon local) and it was a really lovely experience. The Afternoon Tea is served in the conservatory and we were given a table by the window with great views of the local countryside. We started with a glass of pink fizz and then had the choice of tea or coffee to accompany our sandwiches, scones, fruit cake and meringues. The staff were very friendly and although it was fairly quiet in the restaurant we didn't feel at all awkward or conspicuous! We were intrigued though as to the lack of other customers, as when we had phoned to book we were given very limited times, as the receptionist said they were 'absolutely fully booked!'
Minor suggestion for improvement would be to provide either another round of sandwiches or make the current ones a little bigger (these were the smallest we've ever had with afternoon tea!). All in all a great experience which has made us consider a future stay at the hotel and/or a meal in the restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank berges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry R, Manager at Makeney Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your feedback, it’s great to here that you had a positive experience while with us. I will pass on your feedback to the rest of the who will be thrilled to hear your feedback.

Please let me know if I can assist further in any way

Warm Regards

Kerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands uk
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Our booking was complimentry so its hard to have to say anything negative. However firstly the positives. The grounds,buildings and rooms are well presented and clean. Our room did not have a shower in which was a disapointment.However I suppose the large bath/bathroom fitted in well with what you may expect from a property like it is. The restuarant was pleasant and the food was exceptional. A credit to the chef.
On to the issues ...during the night the central heating came on and the system rumbled and made noises for over an hour !. Now lets be fair it is an old system and probably to be expected.
At around 6.00 am a horrible engine noise was reving and popping..It sounded like an old petrol lawn mower,chain saw or even a motorbike. So that was that..enough was enough and we had to get up at 7.15 on a sunday morning. We did complain on exit and was told that it was just the heating system...I am convinced it wasn't just the heating but our stay was free and we didnt want to leave on a sour note. We even missed breakfast because we felt so tired still.
Shame really but there it is.

Room Tip: Ask if there is a shower in your room and ask for a quiet one if possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul100MidlandsUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry R, Manager at Makeney Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your feedback and apologies that your experience wasn’t entirely positive while you was with us. I’m so sorry to hear that you experienced so much noise and it is strange and very disappointing to hear. Without knowing what bedroom you was in it is very difficult to investigate further, however I am very sorry that this did occur.

Please let me know if I can assist further in any way

Warm Regards

Kerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

My wife and i have just returned from a very enjoyable 1 nights stay at this hotel which was purchased from a living social deal and i cant believe the value for money. On arrival at reception we were told we were being upgraded from our standard room to a suite( which we didnt complain about) the room was spacious with everything you needed( tea/coffee, tv free wi/fi, hairdryer, trouser press and a huge comfortable bed with crisp clean cotton linen. As part of the deal it included a 2 course evening meal with wine and i have to say that it was very good, also included was breakfast which again was very good with nice friendly staff. The hotels location is ideal for shopping / sightseeing/walking and a lovely old hostelry just up the road.
After reading some of the earlier reviews on here we were a bit weary of our visit, yes there are a few little issues with things in the bedroom/bathroom but overall a nice hotel and we would certainly stay again

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry R, Manager at Makeney Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your feedback, it’s great to here that you had a positive experience while with us. I will pass on your feedback to the rest of the who will be thrilled to hear your feedback.

Please let me know if I can assist further in any way

Warm Regards

Kerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belper
2.7 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
1.9 mi away
The Lion Hotel
The Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Belper
284 reviews
8.9 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Morley Hayes Hotel
2.4 mi away
Horsley Lodge
Horsley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Horsley
347 reviews
14.0 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makeney Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makeney Hall Hotel

Property: Makeney Hall Hotel
Address: Makeney, Belper DE56 0RS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Belper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Belper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Makeney Hall Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Makeney Hall Hotel is a magnificent Victorian country mansion, situated in the heart of Derbyshire, set in six acres of beautifully landscaped gardens with breathtaking views across the Amber Valley. Only eight miles from Derby and two miles from the flourishing market town of Belper, the hotel enjoys the most tranquil surroundings. The grandeur of the hotel setting combines with the warmth and attentiveness of our staff to make each guest feel at home and really special. From the informal Cocktail Bar to the elegant oak paneled dining room with an impressive oak fireplace, you’ll find daily and a la carte menus to tempt you wherever you prefer to dine. All of our 45 bedrooms are decorated in a warmly traditional style whilst the superior rooms have a period elegance this is in keeping the hotel’s heritage. With some of the most beautiful parts of the country on its doorstep, this hotel is also the perfect place for guests looking simply for a leisurely break in a truly hospitable environment. Picturesque grounds, impressive architecture and excellent cuisine make this hotel the perfect setting for a relaxing short break or other special occasions. As well as stunning scenery and marvelous walking trails, Derbyshire and the nearby Peak District are home to some of the country's finest stately homes including Chatsworth House, Haddon Hall and Kedleston Hall. For a family day out, enjoy a visit to Alton Towers or take in the delights of the local market towns of Bakewell, Buxton and Ashbourne. Makeney Hall offers Free WiFi Internet Access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Makeney Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makeney Hall Derby
Hotel Makeney Hall
Makeney Hall Hotel Belper, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing