We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hidden away old Hotel”
Review of Makeney Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Makeney Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Belper
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely hidden away old Hotel”
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Spent a night here for wifes birthday got key to room 19 a very spacious and tidy room the biggest I have stayed in very clean etc .Had a lovely meal in conservatory couldn't fault food or friendly staff .Breakfast also tasty not big bloating portions.Ok lift was broke and maybe some decor is dated but its an old Hall.We stayed on a Groupon deal we felt like we got treated as a normal paying customer and would definitely return .

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ady H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry R, General Manager at Makeney Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your feedback, it’s great to here that you had a positive experience while with us. I will pass on your feedback to the rest of the team who will be thrilled to hear your feedback.

Please let me know if I can assist further in any way

Warm Regards

Kerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    335
    191
    117
    66
See reviews for
155
574
15
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
875 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 408 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We returned to this hotel after having such a wonderful time in 2007. Unfortunately the saying "Never return to the same place" is true. We were disappointed from when we arrived to when we left. Nothing major, but enough to make us think twice before returning. The hotel is looking very tired and in urgent need of a makeover. When we checked in we asked for dinner for four at 7.00 pm to be told that we could have 7.30 pm. Due to medical constraints this was not possible so we were reluctantly given 7.00 pm. Our room (Room 20) was described as one of the Bridal Suites but apart from being extremely large had little else going for it. One of the bedside lights did not work so I changed the bulb for another in a table light. One of the bulbs in the chandelier was not working, which I did not bother doing anything about. I would have expected Housekeeping to have discovered this and replaced the bulbs. There were no details of hotel facilities or times of breakfast in the room, nor were there any details of what to do in the event of a fire. The bathroom was large as was the bath but getting in and out was quite difficult due to its depth. I would have expected to have been provided with Toweling Robes being in one of the best rooms.

I was disappointed with the selection of beers provided in the small bar. Not a real ale in sight. Our friends had a pot of teal at 4.00 pm and their cups, tea pot, milk jug and tray were still on the table at 10.15 pm. This despite several members of staff walking through the Drawing Room in the direction of the kitchen. At 7.00 pm I went into the restaurant in search of some menus to find it empty. I took four menus and wine lists and returned to the Drawing Room expecting someone to come and either ask us if we wanted a drink or to take our orders. Neither of these happened despite the several staff members walking past us. At 7.15 pm we gave up and went into the Restaurant. Apart from a table of five the place was empty, so I could not see the problem with our original time. The food we received was delicious and served promptly and not rushed. Portions were adequate. The wine was just plonked on the table. The top remained unscrewed and I was not offered a taste. The waiting staff are obviously in need of some training. I was entertained during the meal by watching a very large spider crawl up and down a window. This was not too surprising as the window sill corners were dirty and had webs. Another Housekeeping issue. At Breakfast I order Scrambled Egg and Smoked Salmon served on Wholemeal Toast. The chef had forgotten to include the unless like the other toast I was expected to do this myself.. Apart from this the food here was also delicious apart from the Croissant which was rather heavy to say the least. At least the account was correct when I checked out. I would have expected some comment from the petite receptionist along the lines of was everything OK, have a safe journey or hope to see you again. Not a word was spoken. Another bit of staff training here would also not go amiss. I would have been very very disappointed but for the food. As it was I was just disappointed!

Room Tip: Try for a room in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry R, General Manager at Makeney Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your feedback and apologies that your experience wasn’t entirely positive while you was with us.
We appreciate the feedback that you have left and I’m happy to inform you that we are currently in the process of enhancing several of our bedrooms, including new interior design along with fixtures and fittings. Once again I am sorry that not all of your stay was perfect and I hope that we can welcome you back in the future to restore some of the faith that has been lost.

Please let me know if I can assist further in any way

Warm Regards

Kerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Just returned today from a one night stay on a Groupon voucher. Room 27 was spacious, modern TV, clean bathroom and good size. Central heating did start 'banging' but we were packing to leave after breakfast so not really disturbed by it and it is not unexpected in such an old building. Good choice for breakfast, sliced ham was very lean and tasty. We could not fault any of the friendly and hard working staff (unlike previous reviewers, we can only speak as we find). We will certainly return at some time in the future.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ray2Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry R, General Manager at Makeney Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your feedback, it’s great to here that you had a positive experience while with us. I will pass on your feedback to the rest of the team who will be thrilled to hear your feedback.

Please let me know if I can assist further in any way

Warm Regards

Kerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Very poor service from reception. Apathetic attitude to lift being out of order. Very long waits to get keys as staff engaged in booking tasks that were inappropriate at the main desk i.e. booking a wedding!
Extremely poor service at meals. Staff forget to serve my dessert, knocked a spoon out of my hand whilst serving at breakfast, did not serve soup properly. Totally disorganised to a point of chaos really and lengthy waits between courses. Was interested to read another comment about food running out as this happened during my stay too!
Appalled that credit card payment is held for five days before money is credited and not immediately reinstated, especially as I did not incur any charges! Watch they do not do this to you. This is not a four star hotel by any means. Extremely disappointed and it spoiled my weekend.

Room Tip: You could ask to see the room first and do check everything works first!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank solotripper2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry R, Manager at Makeney Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your feedback and apologies that your experience wasn’t entirely positive while you was with us.
I am very concern about the comments that have been made and would therefore like to you contact me directly so that I can investigate the matter further and then come back to you with a suitable response, my number is – 01332 842 999.

Please let me know if I can assist further in any way

Warm Regards

Kerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Belper hotels

Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Everything was fine except breakfast which was £10 each and the worst breakfast ever!!!!! need to get their act together. Ran out of poor quality food and finished up having 1 sausage 1 tomato and a slice of toast- not good value for £10

Room Tip: no 12 was excellant
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry R, Manager at Makeney Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your feedback and apologies that your experience wasn’t entirely positive while you was with us.
It is very difficult for me to investigate into your feedback as I have no dates for when you stayed. On that basis I assume we was offering a hot breakfast buffet, if items ran out they would have been replenished within five minutes and if our servers were aware of your dissatisfaction they would of happily provided a cooked breakfast directly from the kitchen. Reception could of also offered some kind of compensation if they were made aware at check out. Once again I am sorry that not all of your stay was perfect and I hope that we can welcome you back in the future to restore some of the faith that has been lost.

Please let me know if I can assist further in any way

Warm Regards

Kerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

On arrival the immediate sensation was of a grubby and musty building in severe need of total redecoration and a deep clean . The room (23) was no better and the common areas of the hotel were grubby in the extreme.
We took breakfast - a big mistake with both hot and cold options offering poor and expensive choices.
This hotel should be avoided at all costs - there must be better alternatives.

Room Tip: Find a better hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milko09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry R, Manager at Makeney Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your feedback and apologies that your experience wasn’t entirely positive while you was with us.
I do feel that the comments made are very harsh and do not represent the hotel at all. The hotels public areas are in keeping with the age of the hotel and are far from grubby. The public areas along with the guests bedrooms and serviced each day with deep cleaning happening each week. In regards the breakfast the items on offer are not of cheap quality, we service over a thousand breakfasts a month and guests are happy with both the produce and service. If you were unhappy with the bedroom allocated to you, reception would of happily offered another bedroom better suited to your needs. It is a shame that these issues were not bought to the attention of a duty manager as they could have resolved some of your issues or offered some kind of compensation for your dissatisfaction. Once again I am sorry that not all of your stay was perfect and I hope that we can welcome you back in the future to restore some of the faith that has been lost.

Please let me know if I can assist further in any way

Warm Regards

Kerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

Lovely welcome due to I arrived late evening, food was about to finished and was advised would take order and then I can go and settle in my room.dinner was nice not brill but depends on your taste clean and inviting room.
Bedroom was big and spacious the room itself was a bit dusty but not dirty, bathroom clean and spacious with complimentary toiletries.
Free wifi
Breakfast very nice a very good choice of items and cooked breakfast nice stay in a lovely area and good views of the countryside

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry R, Manager at Makeney Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your feedback, it’s great to here that you had a positive experience while with us. I will pass on your feedback to the rest of the team who will be thrilled to hear your feedback.

Please let me know if I can assist further in any way

Warm Regards

Kerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belper
2.7 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
1.9 mi away
The Lion Hotel
The Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Belper
283 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Morley Hayes Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
242 reviews
2.4 mi away
Horsley Lodge
Horsley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Horsley
346 reviews
14.0 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makeney Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makeney Hall Hotel

Property: Makeney Hall Hotel
Address: Makeney, Belper DE56 0RS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Belper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Belper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Makeney Hall Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Makeney Hall Hotel is a magnificent Victorian country mansion, situated in the heart of Derbyshire, set in six acres of beautifully landscaped gardens with breathtaking views across the Amber Valley. Only eight miles from Derby and two miles from the flourishing market town of Belper, the hotel enjoys the most tranquil surroundings. The grandeur of the hotel setting combines with the warmth and attentiveness of our staff to make each guest feel at home and really special. From the informal Cocktail Bar to the elegant oak paneled dining room with an impressive oak fireplace, you’ll find daily and a la carte menus to tempt you wherever you prefer to dine. All of our 45 bedrooms are decorated in a warmly traditional style whilst the superior rooms have a period elegance this is in keeping the hotel’s heritage. With some of the most beautiful parts of the country on its doorstep, this hotel is also the perfect place for guests looking simply for a leisurely break in a truly hospitable environment. Picturesque grounds, impressive architecture and excellent cuisine make this hotel the perfect setting for a relaxing short break or other special occasions. As well as stunning scenery and marvelous walking trails, Derbyshire and the nearby Peak District are home to some of the country's finest stately homes including Chatsworth House, Haddon Hall and Kedleston Hall. For a family day out, enjoy a visit to Alton Towers or take in the delights of the local market towns of Bakewell, Buxton and Ashbourne. Makeney Hall offers Free WiFi Internet Access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, LateRooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Makeney Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makeney Hall Derby
Hotel Makeney Hall
Makeney Hall Hotel Belper, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing