We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Wedding Venue”
Review of Makeney Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Makeney Hall Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Belper
Reviewed 10 May 2014

My husband and I had our Wedding Breakfast and Evening Reception here 4 weeks ago today! We managed to get the Conservatory which really is a stunning room.
The Wedding Package was by far the best we had come across and was fantastic value for money. Inclusions of chair covers, sashes, centre pieces, DJ and 6 rooms (inc. Bridal Suite) just meant that we didn't have to worry about all that!
The staff were helpful and special thanks go to MC Paul and Kat for their help on the day. They really couldn't do enough to make sure everything ran smoothly.
The food was beautiful and the option of the Hog Roast for the Evening really added something special.
We are considering returning in a years' time to celebrate our 1st Anniversary and to see how our tree is getting on!

Room Tip: We chose Room 20 for our Bridal Suite which looks over the Conservatory and grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,094)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

658 - 664 of 1,094 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Makeney Hall for our wedding anniversary. We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived with a lovely driveway and a warm welcome at reception. The receptionist said they had upgraded us free of charge due to our anniversary. Such a nice thought. We found the staff friendly and helpful. We would stay again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my partner for a romantic getaway. All I can say is wow! The staff were fantastic they couldn't do enough for us. The room was lovely with a roll top bath. Dinner was fantastic. Looking forward to to staying here again, We will definitely be back.

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank Will_2186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gm M, General Manager at Makeney Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2015

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your feedback, it’s great to here that you had a positive experience while with us. I will pass on your feedback to the rest of the team who will be thrilled to hear your about your positive experience with us.

Please let me know if I can assist further in any way

Warm Regards


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Sounds like an overstatement but this is the worst hotel i have ever stayed in. Im not someone that is used to 5-star luxury or goes around checking for specks of dust. We stayed in the courtyard section which may not represent other rooms in the hotel but they still charge an outrageous £100/night.

In summary and with no exaggeration:

- Cobwebs around the ceiling and toilet cupboard
- Stains on carpet
- Wall marks (numerous scratches, stains and large heat marks from radiators)
- Paint work damaged (possible damp above the room door)
- Bed (bedding and base shabby)
- Bedside tables marked and damaged
- Television not working (the aerial cable and remote were absent)
- Cupboard in bedroom was coming apart at several joints)
- Shower (there wasn't one apart from a very basic shower adaptor in the cupboard full of dust/cobwebs)
- Bed (springs clearly worn, no valance covering the worn bed base)

Reception apologised and informed us the room was due for refurbishment. They also said that someone would re-service the room. This was not done. It is unacceptable to offer a room in such desperate need of refurbishment. Also, to say 'its due for refurbishment' doesnt excuse the fact it wasnt cleaned and had no/non-working utilities. Finally, to charge £100/night for such low standards is disrespectful although we did get a full refund.

I can't believe this hotel has such a high rating. Either there are polar opposite high standard rooms somewhere else in the hotel, or tripadvisor is a joke. Whatever the reason, I wouldnt take the risk going here.

Room Tip: Dont go here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PWTh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Please read all the negative reviews; they are true.
Pre-booked two nights here and eager to move on.
Lift still not working, unusable wifi in rooms, poor staff attitude.
The place is uncared for in many ways. eg went for dinner there first night and driven mad by the banging of the door between dining room and kitchen. Just needs a new door closer but no.
On arrival: "Sorry lift in broken." Pause "if you want I can find someone to help you". I'm 65.How about "Sir, as our lift is currently out of order, leave your bags with me and I'll have them delivered to your room".
A walk in the garden will take you through what was probably a beautiful room know garden but now neglected.
They push so hard for Weddings and bus groups that individuals feel left aside.
There must be better options nearby.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank afclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

we stayed in a family room on the weekend of the 26th/27th of April 2014 - the room was clean and airy - and suited our needs as we were attending a wedding at the hotel therefore did not spend very much time in the bedroom at all. the wedding ran very smoothly - the food was excellent and much attention to detail had been made ! the wedding reception took place in the conservatory which is a fabulous room for such an occasion ! the grounds were very well kept.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

One night stay for business. Greeted by polite staff on reception. The room was a decent size with a corner bath, and the room was warm. No tv remote so had to change channels manually which took ages! Could not operate the lamps without the bright spotlights being on at the same time. Again an annoyance more than anything. And the wifi was very poor. Took me 4 hours to connect and couldn't on my iphone, and I'm no technophobe.

There was a ladder below a loft hatch just in front of my room door so had to squeeze past.
The food was good, if a bit of the steep side. Breakfast, good choice of cereals etc. the 'full' breakfast was a piece of bacon. Hash brown, a sausage and small egg, no beans despite 3 of us ordering, so poor.

This place is a lovely house and surroundings. However it probably needs tidying up in parts and redecorating, corridors stairways etc. So much potential! I would not pay to go here. Thankfully it was through work! So there it is, just honest!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
3  Thank Llew86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belper
2.7 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
1.9 mi away
The Lion Hotel
The Lion Hotel
#1 of 2 in Belper
392 reviews
8.8 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 2 in Matlock Bath
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
905 reviews
18.5 mi away
Ringwood Hall Hotel
Ringwood Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Brimington
1,074 reviews
2.4 mi away
Horsley Lodge
Horsley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Horsley
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makeney Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makeney Hall Hotel

Address: Makeney, Belper DE56 0RS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Belper
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet (WiFi) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Belper
Price Range: £51 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Makeney Hall Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Makeney Hall is a magnificent Victorian country mansion, situated in the heart of Derbyshire, set in six acres of beautifully landscaped gardens with breathtaking views across the Amber Valley. Only 8 miles from Derby and two miles from the flourishing market town of Belper, the hotel enjoys the most tranquil surroundings. The grandeur of the hotel setting combines with the warmth and attentiveness of our staff to make each guest feel at home and really special. You’ll find daily and a la carte menus to tempt you wherever you prefer to dine. As well as stunning scenery and walking trails, Derbyshire and the nearby Peak District are home to some of the country's finest stately homes including Chatsworth House, Haddon Hall and Kedleston Hall. For a family day out, enjoy a visit to Alton Towers or take in the delights of the local market towns of Bakewell, Buxton and Ashbourne. Makeney Hall offers Free WiFi Internet Access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Makeney Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makeney Hall Derby
Hotel Makeney Hall
Makeney Hall Hotel Belper, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing