We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”
Review of Makeney Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Makeney Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Belper
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We have just returned from a one night living social deal. I have been on a few deals like this to various hotels, and have enjoyed them on the basis that it's a cheap offer so don't expect too much.however, this last one as far as I am concerned cannot be faulted. At no stage were we treated any differently from other guests. We had the same menu for dinner, which was excellent as was breakfast. The service was slow ish but that isn't a criticism, it was nice not be rushed between courses and it was in keeping with the slow pace of the hotel and the area. Everything was cooked fresh. Yes the lift was broken, which I suppose, if anyone staying was disabled could have been a problem, not sure if there are ground floor rooms. I struggle with stairs a bit, but I just took my time! Rooms comfy, nice bathroom. Weather glorious so spent most of the time with a martini in the garden! I will def go back

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry R, Manager at Makeney Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your feedback, it’s great to here that you had a positive experience while with us. I will pass on your feedback to the rest of the team who will be thrilled to hear your feedback.

Please let me know if I can assist further in any way

Warm Regards

Kerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    341
    199
    119
    69
See reviews for
161
592
15
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

beautiful place to stay , had plenty of sunshine !!....classy rooms....castle like feel , I believe that is what it was prior to being converted into a hotel .very friendly staff and great service . would recommend it to anyone going there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diya_pilani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry R, Manager at Makeney Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your feedback, it’s great to here that you had a positive experience while with us. I will pass on your feedback to the rest of the team who will be thrilled to hear your feedback.

Please let me know if I can assist further in any way

Warm Regards

Kerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

I read a lot of reviews about this hotel, it's very unfair to say anything other than it's good value for money! The staff are all very polite and try very hard to provide a good service. The hotel is clean and the food is very good.

If bookers are looking for a decent base to explore the local area, then this is the place to stay. My husband and I celebrated our 21 year wedding anniversary here, we loved every minute. It's not the Hilton, but it's middle England in a nut shell. Beautifully quaint and stunningly peaceful!

Anna.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ciccare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed here over the weekend in May 2014 and enough to say we woul dnever go back.
Lift still not working 10/11 may 2014.

On the positive, the location was pleasent, room was sizable and the restaurant conservatve had nice views but the negatives far exceed the positives.
Our bed was too soft and probably the most uncomfortable night's sleep we have ever had as you were sleeping on the matress springs. The reception staff were polite but the bar staff were non existant. Twice i had to go looking for them for a drink, the second time they were in earshot and acted as if serving me was a massive inconvienience to their conversation.

Evening meal was a lovely steak but the trimmings were inedible as was my wife's meal.
We actually had to leave and eat off site. Breakfast was basic but edible.

This was a romantic weekend away for our aniversary. It was memorable, but for entirely the wrong reasons. Terrible and would never go again.

Room Tip: Choose a diferent hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DirkC745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry R, Manager at Makeney Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your feedback and apologies that your experience wasn’t entirely positive while you was with us.
We appreciate the feedback that you have left and I’m happy to inform you that we are currently in the process of enhancing several of our bedrooms, including new beds which are now in place. I will address the points that you’ve made directly with the food and beverage team. Once again I am sorry that not all of your stay was perfect and I hope that we can welcome you back in the future to restore some of the faith that has been lost.

Please let me know if I can assist further in any way

Warm Regards

Kerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Belper hotels

Stoke-on-trent
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed here on Friday evening 9th May 2014 on a BBEM basis. The feeling you get when you arrive, meandering up the long drive to the hall entrance, is wow - this looks nice! Parking is right next to the hotel and offers plenty of parking spaces. As soon as you enter the hotel reception, it's evident that this place has character, but it rather depends on what you are looking for as to whether or not this place is for you.
We booked in and were advised that we were staying on the top floor, and that the lift was not working. I have to say that I wasn't over impressed by that fact, but as the top floor was actually only the 2nd floor, we went along with it. The bedroom door was opened by a key, indeed no fancy swipe cards in this place. The room was tired and in need of decorating, no debate there, but it was clean and a decent size, with Tea and Coffee making included.
Back on the ground floor, it's quite a small hotel with practically no guest facilities, but it is nicely laid out, with a peaceful drawing room in which you can relax and a stunning restaurant conservatory overlooking the nicely appointed garden. The hotel is old and it would be very easy to say that it is in need of some modernisation, but I'd say not too much as then that would compromise what the place is about.
The evening meals were OK and all the staff were very polite and pleasant. The drinks were a tad on the expensive side, we had what I would classify as an average bottle of Rioja, which cost just under £25. Breakfast was served in the conservatory, it was a nice cooked breakfast, but when they say bacon, they mean 1 rasher - so now you know!
On settling the account, you have to pay a £2 surcharge if you want to use a credit card, which for an hotel I found a little odd, but I guess they have to use all the tricks these days.
In Summary, if you can get yourself some kind of deal to stay here for one night then go for it. It's a lovely relaxing place and worth what we paid. If you do book though, ask if the lift is working before you go or better still request a ground floor room and then you've got it covered.
Hope this helps someone!

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room as the lift may not be working.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BladeS-O-T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

My husband and I had our Wedding Breakfast and Evening Reception here 4 weeks ago today! We managed to get the Conservatory which really is a stunning room.
The Wedding Package was by far the best we had come across and was fantastic value for money. Inclusions of chair covers, sashes, centre pieces, DJ and 6 rooms (inc. Bridal Suite) just meant that we didn't have to worry about all that!
The staff were helpful and special thanks go to MC Paul and Kat for their help on the day. They really couldn't do enough to make sure everything ran smoothly.
The food was beautiful and the option of the Hog Roast for the Evening really added something special.
We are considering returning in a years' time to celebrate our 1st Anniversary and to see how our tree is getting on!

Room Tip: We chose Room 20 for our Bridal Suite which looks over the Conservatory and grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Makeney Hall for our wedding anniversary. We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived with a lovely driveway and a warm welcome at reception. The receptionist said they had upgraded us free of charge due to our anniversary. Such a nice thought. We found the staff friendly and helpful. We would stay again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belper
2.7 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
3.5 mi away
The Morley Hayes Hotel
8.9 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
14.0 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
773 reviews
2.4 mi away
Horsley Lodge
Horsley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Horsley
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makeney Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makeney Hall Hotel

Property: Makeney Hall Hotel
Address: Makeney, Belper DE56 0RS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Belper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Belper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Makeney Hall Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Makeney Hall Hotel is a magnificent Victorian country mansion, situated in the heart of Derbyshire, set in six acres of beautifully landscaped gardens with breathtaking views across the Amber Valley. Only eight miles from Derby and two miles from the flourishing market town of Belper, the hotel enjoys the most tranquil surroundings. The grandeur of the hotel setting combines with the warmth and attentiveness of our staff to make each guest feel at home and really special. From the informal Cocktail Bar to the elegant oak paneled dining room with an impressive oak fireplace, you’ll find daily and a la carte menus to tempt you wherever you prefer to dine. All of our 45 bedrooms are decorated in a warmly traditional style whilst the superior rooms have a period elegance this is in keeping the hotel’s heritage. With some of the most beautiful parts of the country on its doorstep, this hotel is also the perfect place for guests looking simply for a leisurely break in a truly hospitable environment. Picturesque grounds, impressive architecture and excellent cuisine make this hotel the perfect setting for a relaxing short break or other special occasions. As well as stunning scenery and marvelous walking trails, Derbyshire and the nearby Peak District are home to some of the country's finest stately homes including Chatsworth House, Haddon Hall and Kedleston Hall. For a family day out, enjoy a visit to Alton Towers or take in the delights of the local market towns of Bakewell, Buxton and Ashbourne. Makeney Hall offers Free WiFi Internet Access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and LateRooms so you can book your Makeney Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makeney Hall Derby
Hotel Makeney Hall
Makeney Hall Hotel Belper, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing