We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faye and Tom's Wedding”
Review of Makeney Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Makeney Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Belper
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The venue was hired exclsively for our daughters wedding so we were obviously nervous that things were going to run smoothly and that the hotel delivered in terms of quality and service. We had no need to worry, the food, the venue and the service provided by all the staff was first class and our memories of such a precious day are absolutely perfect. All our guests were tremendously impressed too. Well done and thank you Makeney.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanettebrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry R, Manager at Makeney Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your feedback, it’s great to here that you had a positive experience while with us. I will pass on your feedback to the rest of the team who will be thrilled to hear your feedback.

Please let me know if I can assist further in any way

Warm Regards

Kerry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,050)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

601 - 607 of 1,050 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Impossible to fault for food , service and friendly staff in a beautiful house and gardens. Nothing is too much trouble . It made the couples day perfect and all the guest's stay a special occasion - Big thankyou

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry R, Manager at Makeney Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your feedback, it’s great to here that you had a positive experience while with us. I will pass on your feedback to the rest of the team who will be thrilled to hear your feedback.

Please let me know if I can assist further in any way

Warm Regards

Kerry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Made very welcome by staff,good clean rooms,Hotel is a bit tired in places but now glad to see refurbishment is in progress,could do with taller tables in lounge for when you just want a snack coffee table size are to low to eat off,loveley garden, and well located for local attractions,Chatsworth, Heights of Abraham, Tram museum,Arkwrights mill and of course the canals and Derby is just down the road

Room Tip: Keep in main part of Hotel room 11&12 are good size but ask if you want a view as well
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry R, Manager at Makeney Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your feedback, it’s great to here that you had a positive experience while with us. I will pass on your feedback to the rest of the team who will be thrilled to hear your feedback.

Please let me know if I can assist further in any way

Warm Regards

Kerry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We visited for a friends wedding, the surroundings of the hotel are beautiful and the food served was beautiful. Usually, I like to check over the hotel room prior to sleeping but due to being at the wedding, I didn't have chance. When we did get to the room at around 12.30am, we both found the bed very uncomfortable, so much so that we had to ask to move rooms. The night staff were very helpful and we did move rooms but the second room given was just as bad. We both had a very poor nights sleep. When we checked out we did mention this and was given a 10% discount. And the staff member was very apologetic about it.
The hotel is in need of some new beds and a little refurbishment - but aside from that, everything else about the stay was fine. It is difficult to give it more than 3 due to paying to have a good nights sleep. But as mentioned, we did get a discount.

Room Tip: If you have problems with stairs - ensure you ask if the lift is working as it wasn't on our sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sheffield_S111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The missus and I have stayed at Makeney on numerous occasions the latest being the wedding of our daughter and son in law, the room was fantastic, the staff brilliant and the food lovely.

In so far as value for money we think it is great, the surroundings are both magnificent and picturesque - over all a great place to stay. (Great pub at the bottom of the drive - The Holly Bush)

Just one point to check, if you want a quiet night, make sure there isn’t a wedding or similar function on the night you require.

Thank you Makeney Hall again. Mick & Brenda

Room Tip: Check for functions before you book if you want a quiet night in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry R, Manager at Makeney Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your feedback, it’s great to here that you had a positive experience while with us. I will pass on your feedback to the rest of the team who will be thrilled to hear your feedback.

Please let me know if I can assist further in any way

Warm Regards

Kerry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

We booked an afternoon tea deal with Groupon and arrived on a lovely sunny Sunday afternoon. Reception advised where tea was being served and on arrival we were seated at a beautiful table by the windows in the conservatory. The tea was gorgeous, well displayed and very tasty. The staff were attentive and polite. All in all a great treat.
We then took a walk around the grounds before we left. It is set in a glorious location. I cannot comment on the rooms as I didn't stay but I think it's a wonderfully quaint country hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank suztrowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry R, Manager at Makeney Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your feedback, it’s great to here that you had a positive experience while with us. I will pass on your feedback to the rest of the team who will be thrilled to hear your feedback.

Please let me know if I can assist further in any way

Warm Regards

Kerry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Lift wasn't working so had to walk up 2 flights of stairs. A few small issues, with the room, no milk, no tv remote, no hair dryer, all sorted though with a call to the front office.

Nice resturant, evening meal was just average, staff very pleasant and helpful.

Breakfast a let down, the cooked breakfast was just piled on the plate and the portion wasn't generous, fried bread was awful!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ruth b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belper
2.7 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
8.8 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
348 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Lion Hotel
The Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Belper
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Travelodge Alfreton
Travelodge Alfreton
#1 of 1 in Alfreton
261 reviews
11.4 mi away
Callow Hall Hotel
Callow Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mappleton
329 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makeney Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makeney Hall Hotel

Address: Makeney, Belper DE56 0RS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Belper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Belper
Price Range: £49 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Makeney Hall Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Makeney Hall is a magnificent Victorian country mansion, situated in the heart of Derbyshire, set in six acres of beautifully landscaped gardens with breathtaking views across the Amber Valley. Only 8 miles from Derby and two miles from the flourishing market town of Belper, the hotel enjoys the most tranquil surroundings. The grandeur of the hotel setting combines with the warmth and attentiveness of our staff to make each guest feel at home and really special. You’ll find daily and a la carte menus to tempt you wherever you prefer to dine. As well as stunning scenery and walking trails, Derbyshire and the nearby Peak District are home to some of the country's finest stately homes including Chatsworth House, Haddon Hall and Kedleston Hall. For a family day out, enjoy a visit to Alton Towers or take in the delights of the local market towns of Bakewell, Buxton and Ashbourne. Makeney Hall offers Free WiFi Internet Access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Makeney Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makeney Hall Derby
Hotel Makeney Hall
Makeney Hall Hotel Belper, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing