We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value with lovely views.”
Review of Makeney Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Makeney Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Belper
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent value with lovely views.”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We have just spent two days at the Makeney Hall Hotel and were pleasantly surprised with both the location of the hotel, the size of our room and the quality of the bed. Despite hot weather our room was airy and we slept soundly. Sitting in the gardens with a cold beer in the early evening was a treat after viewing National Trust properties nearby. We booked the hotel through a voucher scheme (a gift from family) and will have to comment that value for money was really good. We would return. Some further investment needed and the hotel is missing a trick in terms of marketing (no menu evident to promote restaurant). Staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Our room was in the main house at the back (some road noise) but some rooms overlook the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penelope12186383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PurpleHazeDerby, Manager at Makeney Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your feedback, it’s great to here that you had a positive experience while with us. I will pass on your feedback to the rest of the team who will be thrilled to hear your feedback.

Please let me know if I can assist further in any way

Warm Regards

Kerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    340
    199
    119
    69
See reviews for
161
592
15
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
west sussex
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

we spent 5 days here as part of a package ,which looked lovely from the write up. we were very disappointed with the food,I had to sent one meal back ,and I am not a fussy eater. The roast beef was like shoe leather and as thick, I had to ask for a steak knife and still could not cut it. so all in all we were not very happy with the stay especially as we think that good food is part of a holiday.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anglosaxons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

I have to speak as I find and congratulate Makeney Hall Hotel on a wonderful experience on Friday 1st August for my Daughter's Wedding.
The staff were superb . The ladies who set up the conservatory worked hard to create a beautiful setting for the Wedding Breakfast. Thanks To Paul who was so helpful in ensuring all the bride and grooms wishes were carried out. Many thanks to Liz and her team for all the hard work. The reception staff were so helpful. The food was amazing and the guests commented that it was the best food at a Wedding they had ever eaten !
The bridal room was huge and allowed us all to have hair and beauty treatments on the morning of the Wedding .
A lovely Hotel full of character and fabulous staff . Thank you to all of you .

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Janelle59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PurpleHazeDerby, General Manager at Makeney Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your feedback, it’s great to here that you had a positive experience while with us. I will pass on your feedback to the rest of the team who will be thrilled to hear your feedback.

Please let me know if I can assist further in any way

Warm Regards

Kerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Booked a deal through super break and was pleasantly surprised following the mixed reviews on this site. Hotel is a nice manor house style hotel with nice gardens and ample parking. Staff on reception and waiting staff were very nice and friendly.

Room was a recently refurbished one that needed small things finishing! Room was clean with comfy bed but lacked a mirror other than the bathroom room, no hook on bathroom door and we were only given one cup to make tea/coffee with.

Communal areas could have done with a quick vacuum and clean. Wifi didn't work.

Only real problem was breakfast: fine on the first morning we were there but on the Sunday after two weddings the night before we were greeted with no hot food and it took quite some time to come out and when it did it was in dribs and drabs, and luke warm. Guy waiter was lovely though and did all he could to try and feed us starving guests!

Great pub up the road call the holly bush inn.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the suite where they do weddings it'll be noisy otherwise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank birdseye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PurpleHazeDerby, Manager at Makeney Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your feedback, it’s great to here that you had a positive experience while with us. I will pass on your feedback to the rest of the team who will be thrilled to hear your feedback.

Please let me know if I can assist further in any way

Warm Regards

Kerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We had booked in at the hotel for a management away day. As normal I had looked on Tripadvisor for reviews, and was a bit put off by previous comments.
Whilst the hotel has an 'Best Western' air to it, overall it proved to be excellent value for our needs, the staff were exceptionally helpful, no one had any complaints over the meeting rooms or their bedrooms, and the food was excellent. The excellent little pub 2 minutes up the road added to the stay. Overall we thought it provided good value for money and are likely to return another day, and this was from a group of managers who spend 1-3 nights away a week in hotels around the UK.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mitiros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PurpleHazeDerby, Manager at Makeney Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your feedback, it’s great to here that you had a positive experience while with us. I will pass on your feedback to the rest of the team who will be thrilled to hear your feedback.

Please let me know if I can assist further in any way

Warm Regards

Kerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

My second time here, we were at a wedding reception 6 years ago and it was good. Got a great deal through expedia.com £42 for a very decent room. Arrived about 2.30 pm. Had a guinness (very good) my wife had a coffee which she enjoyed. A very lively naming party was in progress with loads of (well behaved) kids. There was a very good 3 piece group playing quietly. All the doors were wide open being a lovely day. The grounds were in very good shape and my wife enjoyed a stroll before we had a very good afternoon tea in the (very small) bar. Met the friends whose wedding it had been and we went out to The Hanging Gate (about 2.5 miles away) for evening meal then back to hotel for beer and coffee before a very comfortable nights sleep. Breakfast was good. Reasonable value and we enjoyed our stay. Staff were very helpful when I left my phone charger and posted it back to me.

Room Tip: Try to get one looking over the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomMac_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PurpleHazeDerby, General Manager at Makeney Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your feedback, it’s great to here that you had a positive experience while with us. I will pass on your feedback to the rest of the team who will be thrilled to hear your feedback.

Please let me know if I can assist further in any way

Warm Regards

Kerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, England
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We attended last weekend for a wedding and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The vast majority of the staff were very friendly and helpful (only one member of reception staff was rude and about as useful as a chocolate teapot but hey, you can't have everything!). The food was great and our room was lovely. Our only complaint was the heat - our room was like an oven and if we hadn't brought our own fan we would have really struggled to get any sleep at all, particularly with a 3 month old baby in tow. Granted the hotel can't manage the weather though!

Room Tip: We were based above the car park and were worried about the
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NarleyHoolio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PurpleHazeDerby, Manager at Makeney Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your feedback, it’s great to here that you had a positive experience while with us. I will pass on your feedback to the rest of the team who will be thrilled to hear your feedback.

Please let me know if I can assist further in any way

Warm Regards

Kerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belper
2.7 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
3.5 mi away
The Morley Hayes Hotel
8.9 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
14.0 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
771 reviews
2.4 mi away
Horsley Lodge
Horsley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Horsley
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makeney Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makeney Hall Hotel

Property: Makeney Hall Hotel
Address: Makeney, Belper DE56 0RS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Belper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Belper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Makeney Hall Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Makeney Hall Hotel is a magnificent Victorian country mansion, situated in the heart of Derbyshire, set in six acres of beautifully landscaped gardens with breathtaking views across the Amber Valley. Only eight miles from Derby and two miles from the flourishing market town of Belper, the hotel enjoys the most tranquil surroundings. The grandeur of the hotel setting combines with the warmth and attentiveness of our staff to make each guest feel at home and really special. From the informal Cocktail Bar to the elegant oak paneled dining room with an impressive oak fireplace, you’ll find daily and a la carte menus to tempt you wherever you prefer to dine. All of our 45 bedrooms are decorated in a warmly traditional style whilst the superior rooms have a period elegance this is in keeping the hotel’s heritage. With some of the most beautiful parts of the country on its doorstep, this hotel is also the perfect place for guests looking simply for a leisurely break in a truly hospitable environment. Picturesque grounds, impressive architecture and excellent cuisine make this hotel the perfect setting for a relaxing short break or other special occasions. As well as stunning scenery and marvelous walking trails, Derbyshire and the nearby Peak District are home to some of the country's finest stately homes including Chatsworth House, Haddon Hall and Kedleston Hall. For a family day out, enjoy a visit to Alton Towers or take in the delights of the local market towns of Bakewell, Buxton and Ashbourne. Makeney Hall offers Free WiFi Internet Access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and LateRooms so you can book your Makeney Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makeney Hall Derby
Hotel Makeney Hall
Makeney Hall Hotel Belper, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing