We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid Wedding Days”
Review of Makeney Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Makeney Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Belper
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We were at the Hotel on the 12th and 13th Aug just like the person in the last report last report,On the 12th when the wedding was on,we was felt to be like outsiders not Hotel guests,we was completely ignored by the staff,when we tried to make enquires,we just got the cold shoulder treatment.The next day when it was more quiet,they was completely different,helpful and considerate.All I can say is ask before you book if a wedding will be going on,If so book a different day

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ManchesterGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,025)
There are newer reviews for Makeney Hall Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

544 - 550 of 1,025 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

I booked a one-night DB&B here before I read the reviews. When I did see the volume of negative Trip Advisor reviews I began to regret my choice and wondered if I had made a huge mistake. I am pleased to say that I was not disappointed. I did hear from another guest that a new manager has recently been appointed. I cannot vouch for the veracity of that but if it is the case that may explain why things are no longer as described in previous reviews.

We had a room in the annex which has a bit of a motel feel to it but was very clean and comfortable and quiet. It has recently been refurbished and one or two silly mistakes have been made like not providing a mirror close to the poistion where the hairdrier is fixed, but that really is a minor matter which I'm sure can easily be fixed.

We had a lovely dinner, a sound night's sleep, and an good breakfast. The staff were all most attentive and helpful. What more can you you reasonably ask?

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PurpleHazeDerby, Manager at Makeney Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your feedback, it’s great to here that you had a positive experience while with us. I will pass on your feedback to the rest of the team who will be thrilled to hear your feedback.

Please let me know if I can assist further in any way

Warm Regards

Kerry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

My Daughter had bought us a 2 night stay from Buy a Gift as a Christmas present and we booked this for the 9/10 and 11th July. On the Monday two days before ( 7th ) the hotel called us and cancelled our booking as the refurbishment on some of the rooms had not been completed in time. We were a bit annoyed at the short notice but they promised us that when we did come ( 11/12 and 13th August ) we would be upgraded to a suite , have a bottle of wine in our room and the £ 20 I had paid to upgrade to a feature room would be deducted from our dinner on the first night. We managed to rearrange our Chatsworth tickets and have just stayed at the hotel.
Now I am the first to say that when something is promised I am very wary that we would receive it and as I had nothing in writing I was a bit dubious to say the least.
I take it all back, as when we arrived we were given the Strutt Suite , asked our choice of wine and yes the £ 20 was off the bill at checkout.
The room yes was a little bit shabby in the lounge , no cushions on the sofa and a bit bare but it was clean and comfortable . The bath was lovely and deep and the bed was very soft, just how I like it. Dinner the first night was very good and tasty but I do not think they should not chage extra for vegetables as £ 18.00 1 course and £ 24.00 for two is expensive enough.The full breakfast both days had plenty of choice and we ate at 8.30 each morning and nothing has run out.Service was excellent too.Now when we got back on the second day I was dismayed to see a wedding going on as in past reports noise was an issue but after speaking to reception it was in the conservatory and we heard nothing even though our room overlooked the main door and car park. They said that they tried to accomodate guests who were not part of the wedding party as far away as possible and this they had done but if the wedding reception had been in the main function room it could have been more of a noise issue as our room was nearly over the top of this,.There was nothing from our stay that warantedall the critical remarks on this website and I wonder sometimes if some people are not happy unless they have something to moan about.Please eat if possible at the New Inn ( Angelos ) just down the road as this was one of the best Italian meals I have ever eaten but do book as it gets very busy but we were lucky as we got a table after 30 minutes , not a big deal.I did say it was a shame to Angelo that to come back we would have to drive 165 miles from Kent but that shows you just high highly we rated this place,We have travelled all over the world so we are frequent travellers and yes the decor could be improved in places but where it matters, food, cleanliness and service it was excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank KentishmaidSevenoaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PurpleHazeDerby, General Manager at Makeney Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your feedback, it’s great to here that you had a positive experience while with us. I will pass on your feedback to the rest of the team who will be thrilled to hear your feedback.

Please let me know if I can assist further in any way

Warm Regards

Kerry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I stayed for a weekend in this beautiful late Victorian house with lovely grounds.The dining room overlooks the garden and is light and spacious. The house has a interesting past history. it could do with some attention to the fabric of the building and needs some updating but the rooms were spacious and clean and had all the amenities you could want. The food was very good and the staff were friendly and helpful. Very good value and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: The extension has refurbished rooms but I prefer the character of the main house.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gronhaug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PurpleHazeDerby, General Manager at Makeney Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your feedback, it’s great to here that you had a positive experience while with us. I will pass on your feedback to the rest of the team who will be thrilled to hear your feedback.

Please let me know if I can assist further in any way

Warm Regards

Kerry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We were a little put off by the negative comments but we have just had a lovely 2 day/night stay on a buyagift.com voucher. We upgraded our room and had No.18 which was huge,bathroom was spotless as were the sheets 2 huge ticks in box for us, it had a quiet look out over the back (there is a road but we didnt notice the noise) Huge LED style TV as well and superb pic. All the staff were lovely - the breakfast on both days was lovely you really cant complain there is everything there. Our first night was very very quiet,last night we heard more corridor noise but after 11 it went very quiet. The drinks we had were very reasonable. The menu was a tad steep for us at 3 courses (£30) and extras charged for veg etc, so we as most seem to do ate out locally.There are a few pubs locally which are ok.WIFI in the hotel was free and excellent signal,lift was working. One negative,yes some areas are a little tired but this did not spoil our stay, if you can get a voucher stay its a bargain!!

Room Tip: Our room No 18 was huge
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank salopman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PurpleHazeDerby, Manager at Makeney Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your feedback, it’s great to here that you had a positive experience while with us. I will pass on your feedback to the rest of the team who will be thrilled to hear your feedback.

Please let me know if I can assist further in any way

Warm Regards

Kerry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This is a vintage Country House hotel straight out of the late 80's....but there's been very little investment since I'd imagine. I had the Bridal Suite, the best room in the house but it lacked warmth and modern amenities - no shower and having to kneel in the bath as the shower attachment dribbled out water. I'm sure it's not through want of effort by management and the staff were friendly and helpful. Wifi worked. Room service options were OK but sandwiches were served on white bread with a few crisps alongside-all a bit 'old-school hotel'. But I'm used to better quality and more modern facilities these days and it just doesn't deserve its star rating. I couldn't face going to breakfast as I'd had enough by then...I didn't want to wake up over my coffee to Basil, Manuel or Sybil!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Robsski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We had a standard room in the annexe building. The bedroom had just one small window which looked out onto a car park, except we could hardly even see that as the view was obscured by a huge tree right by the window. The bed was very comfortable and there was an impressive large screen TV. There was also complimentary wi-fi. The bathroom was big but in need of updating. There was a bath (with cracked side panel) which had a hand-held shower fixed over it. Overall the room was just OK, but not what we expected for the price we paid (£119 per night plus £20 supplement for the Saturday).

We decided not to have an evening meal at the hotel, based mainly on some recent negative reviews. However breakfast on the Sunday morning was chaotic. We luckily arrived just in time to get the last available table, thereafter people were having to wait by the entrance for tables to become free. The continental breakfast table wasn't being monitored by staff and guests were repeatedly having to ask staff to refill empty milk or juice jugs. We had no juice glasses on our table, others had to ask for cups to drink their tea/coffee. The cereal bowls were tiny - I chose a packet of 2 Weetabix but could only fit one in at a time.

The choice of cereals and fruits etc was good but there were no rolls or pastries etc - only 2 croissants, which were not replenished once they had been taken. So 'continental' consisted of cereal/fruit plus toast (if you missed out on the croissants) and a few slices of meat.

I had wanted a good continental breakfast but given the display I opted for a full English. This was nice and well stocked and had 2 members of staff hovering around checking it was all stocked. Why couldn't one of them have looked after the continental section?

The staff appeared overrun by the number of guests as there had been a wedding the night before and many stayed overnight. However, as this is a wedding venue, surely they must be accustomed to this.

We looked forward to breakfast the next morning as we knew it would be much quieter, and indeed it was. However there were no croissants at all this time! If you wanted continental you had to make do with the sliced bread by the toaster to eat with your sliced meat and individually wrapped packets of cheese.

We stayed at the hotel on 9th & 10th August.

Overall a very disappointing experience.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank keston88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belper
2.7 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
8.8 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
307 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Lion Hotel
The Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Belper
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Morley Hayes Hotel
7.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
14.0 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makeney Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makeney Hall Hotel

Address: Makeney, Belper DE56 0RS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Belper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Belper
Price Range: £50 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Makeney Hall Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Makeney Hall Hotel is a magnificent Victorian country mansion, situated in the heart of Derbyshire, set in six acres of beautifully landscaped gardens with breathtaking views across the Amber Valley. Only eight miles from Derby and two miles from the flourishing market town of Belper, the hotel enjoys the most tranquil surroundings. The grandeur of the hotel setting combines with the warmth and attentiveness of our staff to make each guest feel at home and really special. From the informal Cocktail Bar to the elegant oak paneled dining room with an impressive oak fireplace, you’ll find daily and a la carte menus to tempt you wherever you prefer to dine. All of our 45 bedrooms are decorated in a warmly traditional style whilst the superior rooms have a period elegance this is in keeping the hotel’s heritage. With some of the most beautiful parts of the country on its doorstep, this hotel is also the perfect place for guests looking simply for a leisurely break in a truly hospitable environment. Picturesque grounds, impressive architecture and excellent cuisine make this hotel the perfect setting for a relaxing short break or other special occasions. As well as stunning scenery and marvelous walking trails, Derbyshire and the nearby Peak District are home to some of the country's finest stately homes including Chatsworth House, Haddon Hall and Kedleston Hall. For a family day out, enjoy a visit to Alton Towers or take in the delights of the local market towns of Bakewell, Buxton and Ashbourne. Makeney Hall offers Free WiFi Internet Access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Makeney Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makeney Hall Derby
Hotel Makeney Hall
Makeney Hall Hotel Belper, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing