We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An absolute gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rennie Rose Guest House
Ranked #2 of 10 Belper B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kirkland, Washington
1 review
“An absolute gem”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

What a great find. Stayed 6 nights here and wish we could give it more than 5 stars. Rob and Clare were fantastic hosts and great cooks. Home cooked breakfasts with an array of extras i.e. cereals,juice,scones,fruit,etc. was a great way to start each day. Room was very quiet and comfortable with a bay window and 2 chairs for reading and relaxing. Not en-suite but a huge bath just steps away. Hope to get back again to visit family and this will be our 1st and only choice of where to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
46
4
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Have just spent 3 nights at this guest house and could not fault it. The room was huge with en-suite bathroom - huge fluffy towels and a selection of toiletries. The room had tea and coffee making facilities, as well as a fruit bowl and a bowl of sweets. There were lovely fresh scones waiting for us when we arrived. The hosts are very friendly and helpful and the breakfasts are to die for! Huge and perfectly cooked. Will definitely stay here again if we are up this way. The attention to detail is better than some 5* hotels. Good base for visiting the Peak District.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. Even those at the front are not bothered by traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glimble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackburn
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

we stayed tuesday 16th july what a great place
spacious bedroom, not en suite but our own separate private bathroom.
we were welcomed with freshly made scones in the room along with the usual kettlr and a lovely bowl of fresh fruit, how nice is that!
The bed was very comfy and although the room was on the front of the hpose it was very quiet during the night
Breakfast was good and we were given plenty of choice.
The atention to detail was fantastic.
If you are after somewhere to stay in the Belper area this must be your first choice

Room Tip: Rennie Rose has family rooms too
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pixiclesmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob3401, Owner at Rennie Rose Guest House, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Thank you for the lovely review, we are so pleased that you had a relaxing and enjoyable stay. Just wanted to let everyone know that we have 2 en-suite rooms as well as this room if you that's what you are looking for :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

A fair walk from Belper town centre, but in a quiet area with friendly hosts. The building is a purpose-built b&b so, while it may lack the character of older buildings, it does mean that you get treated to delights such as underfloor heating and large rooms. Our was a big double room with a massive private bathroom (not en-suite, but this is made clear when booking) - complete with fluffy robes and a bath big enough to swim in! Much needed after a hard day's walking. We enjoyed the banana cake in the room and the great selection of teas, and the breakfasts were delicious.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank smectic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
costa blanca
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

The room was delightful. Fitted out to the highest standards and Claire the proprietor was so very friendly. Breakfast was full English and ingredients were all local produce. A wonderful place to stay in a beautiful village.

Highly recommended

Room Tip: The suite sleeps 5 very comfortably and has beautiful furnishings and fittings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolaspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

On arrival we received a very warm welcome from Rob and Clare, they explained breakfast procedure, gave us a key, we were delighted with the initial impression. Then things got even better, the room was a large family size one and contained a very large king size bed and a single bed, with an additional single bed available, two wardrobes, a chest of drawers and a beverage making area, with ample supplies of tea, coffee, drinking chocolate and even bottled water. Also there were scones with butter and jam, a nice thought for weary travellers. Then we saw the small chocolate Easter eggs and bunnies.
The en-suite was very large with the usual facilities and a large walk in shower with no shortage of hot water.
We found the bed to be extremely comfortable which ensured two nights of sound relaxed sleep.
There was no shortage of food for breakfast, with a choice of muesli, porridge, granola, a selection of cereals, yoghurts, fresh fruit, ham, cheese, salami, bread, Danish pastries, croissants, bacon, eggs, sausage, hash browns, beans, tomatoes, toast and a section of jams.
This is first class accommodation and well worth a visit, we will return.

Room Tip: Near to the Derbyshire Dales walking area, with a frequent bus and train service. Near to Belper wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stuart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We needed to stay in Belper to attend a christening and were looking at suitable accommodation. After a bit of searching we found Rennie Rose and liked the look of it. We were the first guests to stay here as they are new and it was fantastic. The room was enormous and plenty of space to spread out. There was plenty of tea and coffe and we were told that if we needed any more it was available in the breakfast room. We had a fresh baked scone with jam and butter in the room which was lovely.
The ensuite was really nice and the shower was amazing.
Breakfast was picked the night before and we opted for the cooked option. All was lovely and very filling. In addition there were cereals, fruit, yoghurt and cheese and meat to also choose from. Tea, coffee and fruit juice.
We would definitely stay here again and we will be recommending to people if they need to stay in Belper.
Much nicer than other hotels/b&bs in Belper.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CRH160711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belper
2.7 mi away
Makeney Hall Hotel
Makeney Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Belper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Lion Hotel
The Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Belper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Morley Hayes Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Ripley Hotel
4.8 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
6.3 mi away
Alison House Hotel
Alison House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cromford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rennie Rose Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rennie Rose Guest House

Property: Rennie Rose Guest House
Address: 200 Far Laund, Belper DE56 1FP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Belper
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Belper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rennie Rose House in Belper provides a good base from which to explore the many famous towns and historical places in Derbyshire. There is a railway station in Belper town centre which has links to local towns and cities, including Matlock Bath, Cromford Matlock, Derby and Nottingham. Buses also run regularly and can take you to Bakewell to taste the delights of the true Bakewell Pudding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rennie Rose Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rennie Rose Guest House Belper, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing