We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Hen weekend, mixed age group, AMAZING, you need...”
The GATE HOUSE WHICH SLEEPS 17 PEOPLE OR IF YOU DONT MIND SHARING IT IS BIG ENOUGH FOR 20
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The GATE HOUSE WHICH SLEEPS 17 PEOPLE OR IF YOU DONT MIND SHARING IT IS BIG ENOUGH FOR 20
Relax in the pool relax with a song or two by the piano
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
The GATE HOUSE WHICH SLEEPS 17 PEOPLE OR IF YOU DONT MIND SHARING IT IS BIG ENOUGH FOR 20
Relax in the pool
relax with a song or two by the piano
DINNER TIME FOR ALL YOU HUNGRY GUESTS SET THE TABLE FOR 17 OF YOUR CLOSEST FREINDS AND FAMILY
Plan tomorrow
After a tiring day put your feet up by the fire with a glass of red
Midnight swim
Morning papers and coffee by the pool
feed the ducks
how about that view
Unexpected snow in March certainly kept the Anthony family busy 22-24 march
looking through snow covered tunnel on many walks around us
Another snow tunnel the scenery is breath taking
Stairs to the main areas
Relaxing areas ot the gardens
More planting
Large gardens to walk the dogs or simply relax
Just a small part of the decking
Planting around child safe pond
Large Seating area for all guests upstairs and downstairs
Seats 18 in the open plan kitchen and lounge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Belper, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stephanie...
Houghton-le-Spring, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hen weekend, mixed age group, AMAZING, you need to book this...”
Reviewed 25 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
3
people found this review helpful

This is a fantastic place to stay as any large group. Huge, clean, well laid out & well thought out house. The photos really don't do it justice!

The pool, hot tub & steam room were perfect, highlight of our stay.

The house has everything you could need, every facility and utensil you could think of!
Beautiful sitting area and kitchen, and the outside grounds are fab. Chickens, a duck, horses and wildlife, it's all brilliant.

We fully recommend the Hollybush Inn for a Sunday dinner, just a 2 minute walk away.

The owner, Tim is great, just a friendly down to earth man who will help with anything he can.

I can't recommend this place enough, and would not hesitate to go back. That goes for all 16 of us.

Thank you for making my hen weekend!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it, loved the hotub
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Apr 2014
Hi
Thank you so much for those kind and very welcomed comments you were a great bunch and love to see you all again
thanks again
Tim and Marie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaffordK...
Stafford
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“fab fab fab fab fabulous !!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 10 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Well I honestly dont know where to start.... 14 of us arrived on Friday 7th Feb 2014 for our friends 40th birthday celebrations..... From the outside the building looks very impressive and when we entered we werent disappointed either. ground floor three bedrooms and bathrooms and the pool, then a large open staircase leading to further three bedrooms and bathrooms kitchen and lounge.... Spacious, very clean, fully equipped kitchen and bedrooms to a high standard, I cannot fault anything about The Gate House and I am fussy believe me !!! The pool was a dream, just like stepping into a warm bath, high quality loungers surrounding it too. The price isnt cheap but if you have it at full capacity between you all then its a snip !!! Honestly I was more than happy..... If you are looking for quality acommodation then look no further than The Gate House and I promise you wont be disappointed folks. Supermarket and pub close by and then Belper is just a short distance away, you have Derby if you want the usual shops.... Im definitely going back at some point but by the looks of it I will have to book well in advance cos most of this year is booked already.... and Im not surprised...... We had a thoroughly fabulous stay in a wonderful place !!!!!!!! Karen H....

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Feb 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at The Gate House .We are so pleased you had a great time celebrating your friends 40th birthday.

Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you all in the future.
kind regards

Tim and Marie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nettegrif...
Cheshire , England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Best”
Reviewed 26 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

My daughter and boyfriend found me The Gate House as I was looking for a large house to rent for a long weekend to surprise my husband on his 60th birthday. It had to be large enough for our family and friends to stay 18 people and 2 small dogs in all.
Well they got it perfect the house is amazing does not feel like a rental home ,such high quality all you need and more .It is clean, so warm all through the house,the beds are comfy.The pool was really warm and enjoyed by both adults and children.Plenty of room for so many people and well equipped you cannot fault anything.
We went to the Holly bush pub which is just around the corner on the way back from a lovely long walk . Very traditional and friendly. On the Saturday night we had booked a meal at Angelos restaurant for 22 of us to celebrate my husbands birthday. I would highly recommend it . The whole party said there starters and main courses were excellent . Even though the restaurant was full the service was great and the food was pipping hot. On Sunday we all sat down very comfortably at the table in The Gate House and had a lovely Sunday dinner all together. Everyone had an amazing weekend. The owners Tim and Marie are lovely. You will not find a nicer house to rent it has it all. We would definitely come again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everthing
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jan 2014
Thank you for your amazing review .We both really appreciate you taking the time to write your comments and without us knowing also says we are pleasing our guests.
I am so pleased you enjoyed your husbands 60th birthday here and that you will remember your stay as being a truly memorable one.Thankyou
kind regards
Tim and Marie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ni-cool-a...
Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Amazing home to stay in"”
Reviewed 17 January 2014 for a stay in August 2013

My friend booked here for her hen weekend in August for a long weekend.
Upon arrival we were totally amazed at how beautifully presented it was. Everything was of high quality and fantastically decorated! The space was adequate enough for the 18 of us and were amazed at just how big the place was. It was quite easy to get lost when we first arrived!! The pool and gym area was brilliant, kitchen was well equipped, I would say as you would find your own home! The gardens were well tended too.
The village where it is situated is just perfect with a couple of small friendly pubs within a couple of minutes walking distance. Couldn't find fault with the accommodation at all and would love to return!!

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jan 2014
Hi
thank you so much for your nice comments and taking the time to review our property.I really hope to see you all again in the future.
thankyou
Tim and Marie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tina t
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful house or should i say home because thats what it felt like.”
Reviewed 13 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We stayed at the gate house for 3 nights for my daughters 21st birthday. We were a party of 15. On our arrival Tim the owner showed us all around the house we were very impressed as soon as the front door was open I must say a fab stair case. We all had a wonderful weekend, the beds were very comfy & clean the pool lovely and warm plenty of space for every one.Would we stay again yes we would, We went to the holly bush for sunday lunch this was very good to, only a short walk from the gate house. thank you to you both Tim & Marie for a lovely stay

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool
Liked least: no dislikes at all
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jan 2014
Thankyou so much for your kind comments we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we would love to see you all again .Happy New year !!
kind regards

Tim & Marie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lianne P
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Magical Christmas at The Gatehouse”
Reviewed 5 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We have returned from an amazing stay at The a Gatehouse, a magical place to stay over the a Christmas period. 10 adults, 4 children and pet dog loved every single minute. The location excellent, the house big enough for everyone to have their own space, yet comfortable enough for us all to congregate in the living areas. Fully equipped with everything you need. The pool was a massive bonus, we made full use of this everyday, the kids loved it as did the adults, lovely and warm, a relaxing space. 3 magnificent Christmas trees, and presents for the children left beneath the biggest one by the owners Tim and Marie. We always go away together every other Christmas and can honestly say that this is the best Christmas break we've ever had. No one has matched the attention to detail to make our Christmas so special. A big thank you to Tim and Marie for whom nothing was too much trouble, we have such great memories of a truly magical Christmas in a wonderful house x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was perfect
Liked least: Doesn't apply
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jan 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words It really means a lot to us when people take the time to send their comments especially out of the blue like this .
Totally thrilled with your comments
Thankyou
Tim and Marie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitlin H
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Brilliant Family Holiday”
Reviewed 25 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We absolutely loved our stay here - it was a friend's 50th and there was a wide range of adults teenagers and small children and everyone had a great time. Big well equipped kitchen, excellent choice of bedrooms. grand piano in the hallway and beautiful lounge.
Of course the biggest draw for the kids (and the adults) was the swimming pool which was so much bigger than we'd expected, warm, fun and just as good for a calm few lengths as it was for volleyball.
There were also good walks from the house itself.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Swimming Pool and Lounge
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Nov 2013
Thank you for your really nice comments .Iam so pleased you and your family enjoyed their stay at The Gate House hope to see you again
kindregards

Tim and Marie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$513
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
How to book this rental
1
Submit an enquiry to the owner using the above make enquiry button
2
The owner will respond with a quote.  We encourage owners to respond within 24 hours
3
You will be able to send additional messages and pay for the quote through the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox
4
Payments made through the TripAdvisor Rental inbox are covered by Payment Protection
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing