We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic School Trip”

Strutt's North Mill
Ranked #4 of 15 things to do in Belper
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Strutt's North Mill played a vital role in the UK's Industrial Revolution and is of architectural and historic importance. It is one of a chain of mills that form part of UNESCO's Derwent Valley Mills World Heritage site. Our knowledgeable guides will take you on a tour of the mill and explain more about its social, historic and industrial background.
Chesterfield
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fantastic School Trip”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I have been to visit the mill today with 28 primary school children ( aged 6-7). This is one of the best organised trips we have ever been on. We just let them know the date of our visit, how many, and the arrival and departure times. The wonderful ladies and gentlemen then planned the whole day for us. It ran like clock work thanks to their meticulous planning and organisation.
The mill is full of interesting artifacts and displays. The information given to the children was detailed and suitable for the age range. The guides took the time to answer any questions the children had. The fact that they are volunteers just makes it even more impressive.
If you are a school with Victorians as a topic I would strongly recommend a visit to Strutt's Mill.
The activities are all tailored to the age of the children.
I would recommend a visit to the mill for anyone who happens to be in the area, it is fascinating place.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank gilescsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    23
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“It is a way to understand the industry evolution”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We had a very very intresting free tour in this old industrial building built in 1804. We were guided by a valid old lady competent both in the Strutt' family story and the clothing industry.
She was plenty of explanation about the industrial process as well as the technologies used at the time.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Attilio i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Memorable visit”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

The history of this mill and its associated work force at the peak of its productive capacity was fascinating. A must visit for all the family and should prove very educational for children.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Keith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belper
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“interesting”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Went with school group 8 yr olds kept them interested for a few hours,good if your interested in local history and the industrial revolution the north mill is a world heritage site being first multi storey metal framed building.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank simon c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belper, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A place of high interest, steeped in history and spectacular scenery.”
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

I am here now at Strutts Mill after a heavy storm. The weir is at full flow, creating a spectacular view.
There are interests for both the young and old here, with the play centre Chucklebutties and the history of the mill. This is also accompanied by a Thai restaurant attached - Tom Yum.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Strutt's North Mill also viewed

 

Been to Strutt's North Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing