We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A cosy and compact cottage ideal for two people.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Strutt Cottage

The cosy relaxing living room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The cosy relaxing living room
Warmed by a no fuss cast iron real-flame gas stove. The stable door makes the most of the summer breezes
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
50 reviews
The cosy relaxing living room
Warmed by a no fuss cast iron real-flame gas stove.
The stable door makes the most of the summer breezes
Strutt Cottage in its lovely location
Sumptous King Size bed and a lovely view of a 13 century chapel
Comfortable, stylish and luxurious
The lovely view across to the 13th century chapel. Can you imagine reading a book here?
Well equipped and stylish kitchen.
Quality fixtures, fittings and furniture.
Clean, bright colour coordinated bathroom.
The Bathroom
View of  the 13th Century St.Johns Chapel and its grounds from Strutt Cottage
Sunset from Strutt Cottage
Looking towards Strutt Cottage
St. John's Chapelyard, a lovely spot for an evening stroll.
Belper Market Place, a two minute walk from Strutt Cottage
Just around the corner lovely Georgian architecture and cracking views and fabulous shops
World Heritage Listed Belper Mills. The North Mill & East Mills seen from the River Derwent
A remnant medieval landscape, Belper Parks is just two minutes walk from Strutt Cottage
Chatsworth House and Haddon Hall are only a short car or bus journey away
The sun trap terraced gardens, planted with cottagey Mediterranean style plants and herbs.
The top patio enjoys expansive rooftop views of Belper and the surrounding countryside.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Belper, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Dream6467...
1 review
“A cosy and compact cottage ideal for two people.”
Reviewed 31 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The cottage had everything we needed for a comfortable stay.
The one problem we had was parking the car but on consulting the Council we used the car park opposite the cottage which belongs to the Church.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fact that it was compact and cosy.
Liked least: Car parking.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2016
Thanks for the feedback and we're glad you enjoyed your stay at Strutt Cottage. Peak season does sometimes mean parking is a bit tricky but it is usually possible to park close by. As you noted the chapel car park is also useful if it is busier than usual.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malc1005
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,120 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 3 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

As previously stated, first impressions are everything. We arrived at midday, and saw the cottage was being cleaned, and thought we would go into town for a lunch, and come back at the appointed time of 4pm. After Lunch it was throwing it down, and decided we would go back to the car, outside the cottage and wait till 4pm. At 4.10 when no one had turned up, my partner tried to phone the number we had been given, to see if there was a problem, alas no one answered the phone, which was the second time we had phoned this number, having tried earlier in the morning, to no reply. Awhile later my partner received a text message, with instruction how to find the keys to the cottage, not the best welcome. Previous lets are lot better, and meet you with a smile, ask you how your journey was, etc etc. So a bad start.
Next after working out what the instructions meant, we found the keys, and into the cottage. To find out the lights did not work, why would you turn the power off to the lights, when you know in a couple of hours, people would be staying there, seemed crazy to us. We read through the Grey folder left on the table, and worked out the problem for ourselves. Not a very good welcome.
Next , with all other lets, you get a welcome pack, which includes in the very basic ones, Milk, Tea, Sugar, bread etc etc, , This place has left overs from other guests, and in our case NO milk or bread, so off to the shops in the pouring rain for those items, again not a very good welcome.
Next the stairs, that are not mature person friendly, and should be taken with great ease. We decided not to try and take our suitcases upstairs, as one of us , would have needed a hospital visit after trying. We gave in and decided to go to bed , the bed is comfy but the room stuffy, so we opened the window, bad mistake. When on holiday, a nice lay in, is the order of the day. No chance at 6.20 in the morning, workmen , working on the hair dressers at the end of the road, banging doors, shouting , laughing, and generally making alot of noise, that happened every day, except Saturday. Also at 7am the loudest motorbike you have ever heard would rev up, before leaving. So keep the windows closed if you would like a lay in.
The shower cannot be moved off level 2, because it blows the water pump, apparently. So although the shower is not the worst ever, it is quite close.
The area is lovely, and the cottage has character, but we would not revisit, nor would we recommend this place. My advice to the owners, if you want people to return, make sure you welcome them properly and have a basic welcome package.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Table at the bottom of the garden
Liked least: No Welcome
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jul 2016
Hi. I'm sorry you found the visit disappointing. Upon paying the balance for the stay you should have received an email that makes clear that we have key safe arrangements and that if you send us a text message we will send you the details of how to access the cottage. The cleaner was my wife and had you had a word with her she would have given you immediate access. I am sorry you felt we let you down - we do like to give the best service that we can but whilst we strive for perfection sometimes we do fall short.
The details do make clear the staircase in Strutt Cottage are quite steep, they are the original stairs dating to about 1820 and so are very much part of the character of the cottage you enjoyed.
The shower is a brand new electric shower and does not suffer from the issues you mention - we will remove the sheet from the info file that relate to the old shower.
You may have worked out, as so many guests have that our rates are very reasonable, and in order to continue to give value for money we, in common with many other owners do not provide tea and coffee. As you noted there is always an ample supply, which we monitor and clear out as necessary left by previous guests.
Unfortunately there is little we can do about building works in the vicinity - I can only reassure you that they are now complete and the new facade to the building has provided further improvement to the locality. Belper, like any town, even a rural town, is home to residents that like anywhere go work so their movements are out of our hands and it's not a complaint we've had before. The weather of course is entirely out of our hands. Otherwise I am glad you enjoyed the locality.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irene R
Ely, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect, cosy cottage”
Reviewed 19 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Lovely little cottage for one or two, right opposite a pretty 13th century church/chapel. Very comfortable sofa, great bed (I slept better here than at home), and the 'wood burning-type' 'coal' fire in the living room was so cosy - I couldn't believe it was gas and not a real fire (NB - don't open the door - see safety advice in owner's handbook). It let out a lot of heat and was ideal for the chilly evenings. Large fridge (usually they are half size ones in small cottages), with small but roomy freezer on top. Good equipment in kitchen though personally prefer cups and saucers but I had one with me! Sun-trap patio was lovely on the sunny days, with a far distant view of hills over rooftops. Shower was excellent, bedlinen very pretty and comfortable, with lovely toning colours to the curtains and paintwork in bedroom and living room. Short walk (5 mins?) through churchyard to main part of town, which has all the shops (and a luxury cinema) that you would need. Bit of an uphill walk back but hopefully this will burn quite a few calories! (Take the car if you have to get heavy shopping.) Top of stairs quite difficult on the turn so probably not good for very elderly or unsteady people, but that's what cottages this age were like, but there is a handrail. Communication with owner very good, full details of key etc texted to you if you send your mobile number. Managed to park outside during the week, though was a bit crowded on the Sunday I arrived. Could hear a pin drop at night so very peaceful. If there is any criticism, the TV was probably a lot smaller than a lot of people would like these days, but was fine for me as my own isn't much bigger.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, the bed, the fire, the shower and the general 'cottagy-ness'!
Liked least: Nothing really.
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2016
We're really glad you enjoyed your stay and many thanks for the lovely review. We are glad too that you made the most of the local delights, including the great little cinema, The Ritz. We take your point about the TV, which we are aiming to replace over the coming months. We hope we'll see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mj0511
Greater Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great 1 bed cottage in the heart of Belper”
Reviewed 17 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Great 1 bedroom cottage in the heart of Belper, overlooking Saint Johns Church yard. Cottage is very tiny however perfect for a self catering short visit for singles or a couple. Parking can be a bit of a problem as its on road parking for all residents so first come first served basis. The property owners were very helpful with accommodating my late arrival and left clear instructions to access the property and use of WiFi once inside. Note of warning stairs are very steep with a tight turn at the top of the stairs, so not very suitable for elderly or those who are used to single stoty or struggle with stairs

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: the tight stairs
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2016
Thank you for your review - we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and the location. The staircase I'm afraid is original and very much part of the property and its character. We do note in the information that the stairs can be too steep for elderly or infirm guests. Hope we can welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vicky b
west midlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Everything it said it was going to be and good value for money.”
Reviewed 2 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Quaint cottage which was everything it claimed to be. Ideal for a bolthole for a couple. One bedroomed accommodation not always easy to find but the price reflects this and makes it so much more economical for a couple rather than family accommodation. Dealings with owner were good, prompt responses and answers to questions posed. Arrived a little early (by arrangement) and had no problems getting keys and letting ourselves in. No central heating and despite being the end of April weather was appalling. It really was not necessary as heaters within the cottage and log burner style gas fire kept us warm and cosy despite the rain, hail, sleet and snow. Bed was comfortable. Location quiet and near enough to walk into town but as steep return opted to use the car if shopping.
Here for husband's birthday and tiger moth flight in Ashborne. Visited Belper River Gardens and Heights of Abraham. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Belper seemed a lovely little town and the locals were very friendly.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2016
Thank you for your review. We are tremendously happy that you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed the lovely location and found our access arrangements easy. We hope to welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindseyba...
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful perfect place to stay”
Reviewed 12 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Lovely place to stay, perfectly placed beautifuly clean everything you could need for a special birthday weekend, also a great sun trap of a garden !!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Apr 2016
Thanks for the lovely review. Glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goomaks
Ware, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lacks the finishing touches”
Reviewed 29 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Nice property, very clean. Good information pack supplied. Old cottage so no central heating, log effect gas fire downstairs, gas heater at top of the stairs. Poor quality bedding - bottom fitted toweling sheet `bubbly` old, worn and needed replacing, pillows old foam ones that needed replacing. There were bath towels and hand towels but no bath sheets. There was no bath mat to step onto when getting out of the shower/bath. Poor cheap quality toilet paper. It seems that they are trying to keep rental costs down, but some things are suffering because of this

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Mar 2016
Many thanks for the comments. We have now replaced the bedding and pillows you mentioned. Admittedly they were slightly overdue for it. The towel set has also been replaced, this was a spare set and was the only set we had that had bath towels rather than sheets and no matching bath mat. Thanks for bringing these to our attention.
As it is self catering we supply an initial toilet roll, which is the brand we use at home - people are obviously welcome to get their preferred brand during their stay.
We hope you found the 7.5KW output gas coal-effect cast-iron stove warm, along with the upstairs heater and heated towel rail. We used to live in this cottage and found these more than adequate and space saving over boilers and radiators, as you probably observed. We are pleased that you found the property nice and clean.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing