We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cosy cottage, ideal location, amazing...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Frith Cottage

The sumptuous and luxurious bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The sumptuous and luxurious bedroom
Beautiful Frith Cottage and Strutt Cottage in their lovely Belper street. Vintage touches complete the look for this delightful cottage living area.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
The sumptuous and luxurious bedroom
Beautiful Frith Cottage and Strutt Cottage in their lovely Belper street.
Vintage touches complete the look for this delightful cottage living area.
The delightful living room, with its rustic Regency decor to match the period of the property.
Plenty of storage and a delightful outlook onto the chapel yard and the 13th century chapel.
The restful attic room. Equipped with a daybed, it's the perfect rainy day reading retreat.
The amazing view from the attic window
Well equipped kitchen.
Kitchen. Well-equipped and convenient.
Built in hob and gas oven.
Lovely white tiled quality shower room.
Private garden with BBQ and a raised patio area.
Lovely raised patio and built in BBQ.  All equipment provided!
Enjoy Mary Poppins-like views of Belper rooftops and countryside in the sun trap gardens.
Enjoy the BBQ facilities.
A few charming touches that melt the heart.
Our favourite coat hook!
Local landscapes by local artists.
Belper North and East Mills, and the majestic Derwent
Steam trains, water mills and the Derwent Valley equals World Heritage Site
Great little touches to add interest.
Chatsworth House, just a short drive or bus journey away.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Belper, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
libbyskye...
east midlands
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely cosy cottage, ideal location, amazing price!”
Reviewed 8 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Frith cottage is lovely, It is cosy and warm, has everything you need to make your stay pleasant, excellent wi-fi signal which is important in this day and age, lovely extra touches such as pillow sprays, nice hand soap etc, plenty of books to read and info on the local area, could not ask for more in a holiday let. just a few minutes walk into Belper centre which is a very nice place to visit. we also hired Strutt cottage which is owned by the same people who own Frith, this is right next door and is also very good, both are excellent value for money too! its not often that we would return to the same place for a break but Frith cottage is the exception to this, We cannot wait to one day revisit!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jilllisle
Peterlee, United Kingdom
1 review
“August stay”
Reviewed 9 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Very nice stay second time we have stayed here but this time next door only thing this time parking was a bit of an issue some times parking in some one else's space talked to the person next door and said it was fine it's just a case of first come gets the space the road on the other side has Double yellow lines so no parking allowed the cottage itself was very nice and Barry was very helpful when the bathroom light went out came and sorted it the same day

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Getaway61...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Owner seemed reluctant to communicate and property needs a good clean and freshen up.”
Reviewed 25 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
7
people found this review helpful

Having tried to contact owner several times we only found out how to get into the property shortly before arriving. He would not talk to me on the phone and would only communicate by text. There was a lack of refuse bags for the weekly collection and I ended up buying my own. The owner did provide some eventually but these were only suitable for the inside bins. The vacuum cleaner was full and the heads clogged up with fluff and hair so I had to clean these before vacuuming the cobwebs and dust up and then the suction was not great. The log burner and hearth were dusty the walls around it had soot on. Parking was also an issue as there is no reserved parking outside the property. This was the last thing I needed as I have had 4 close family bereavements in the last 5 months. Such a shame as this could be a lovely little property with the right care and attention from the owner.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura T
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 2 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

The perfect weekend getaway! We loved the cottage so much and contains anything you could ever need! Parking is some trouble at times but the cottage is worth it! We just didn't want to come home! We visited plenty of national trust locations in the area and there are lots of things to keep you entertained during your stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Mar 2017
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and your visits to NT properties locally. We try to make our cottages as homely as possible. Hope to see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annemarie...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely small cottage just big enough for a couple”
Reviewed 9 November 2016 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful location and a nice walk into Belper.
The cottage is very quaint and warmed up lovely for our winter stay.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2016
Glad you enjoyed your stay and thanks for the 5 stars. Hope we can welcome you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Towel rail absent in bathroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
13 Nov 2016
Many thanks for your kind review and 5 stars. Glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Des M
1 review
“Great situation, within walking distance of everything.”
Reviewed 1 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Cosy for two. Everything needed for a short stay. Very comfy bed for bad backs. Nothing was a problem for the owner (broken TV replaced same day). Would like to stay in winter to use fabulous wood burner. Would have liked net curtains on windows at ground level.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The sofa
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2016
Many thanks for the kind review.
Because so few people walk directly past the window and the view is so nice we elected not to have net curtains. We look forward to welcoming you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing