We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lucky find”

The Old Post Office
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Old Post Office
Ranked #4 of 5 Birch Vale B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed only one night, but will deffinitely be coming again. Joan and John made us feel at home from the moment we arrived. Faultless service and true value for money. We shall recommend to anyone wanting to visit this lovely area. ValB

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoniB906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2013

A family of 5.
We stayed for one night and John and Joan were brilliant. Nothing was too much trouble. Rooms were lovely and views were amazing. Bathroom was like a 5 star hotel!

The B&B is very spacious and very cosy. John and Joan were very welcoming and very attentive. We didn't want for anything. I would definitely recommend to friends/ family. I would not hesitate to book again.

Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luciieann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

This is just a bedroom in someone house. King size bed is two small matresses put together, shared bathroom, free parking is the road in front of the house. £70 for two adults and one child is too much even if the hosts are extremelly lovely and welcoming.

Stayed: August 2013
4  Thank PhafaLeHardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Really comfortable accomodation with friendly wecoming hosts in a great location. Ok it's not ensuite but this didn't prove a problem and the bathroom is 5 star standard....... Great breakfass and super cosy bedding and so reasonable. Would happily stay again and recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mitchellinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We stayed here recently for two nights during midweek. Location & surrounding area is lovely and handy to discover many beautiful attractions.John & Joan make you feel at home immediately and nothing is to much trouble. I made the mistake of not checking if the rooms were en-suite and found out that it was a shared bathroom (it was not a problem to us at all it was just a bit getting used to) John advised us on where to eat locally and we were not disappointed. No tv in room was disappointing, but not the end of the world (again I did not do my research) Breakfast was adequate. You will not be disappointed if you stay in this very homely B&B

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Our family of 4 (2 parents and 2 children) had a really lovely overnight stay here in February 2013. The price was very good for excellent service.
The location is very nice, the views great. We didn't want for anything.
The rooms are basic, but very clean. The sitting room is very comfy, and the spacious bathroom is extremely nicely done.
From arriving and being greeted by the hosts to leaving the next day, we felt genuinely welcomed. Joan and John are fabulous, and definitely made our stay really enjoyable.
We cannot recommend them any higher. The breakfast was lovely. We didn't feel a need to leave, even though it was after check-out time when we finally left! We would have happily stayed longer,as we were so comfortable.
Do stay there if possible, and be genuinely welcomed and looked after.
Lynne - Sheffield

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

I stayed at the Old Post Office for two nights during a hiking break in May. The single room is spacious compared to what one is often given in hotels and inns when travelling alone and even has a safe. There is no TV in the room but the guest lounge is very comfy and has a flat screen TV. The owners are very helpful and have lots of information about the area for you. One is certainly very well looked after in the Old Post Office in Birch Vale.
Breakfast is served as early as 7 if you need it on weekdays and from 8 on weekends. That is very convienient, certainly much better than being restricted to a much later time, as with other places. There is a wide variety of items available for breakfast, from your regular "Full English" to even gluten free if you let them know in advance. The bathroom was spotlessly clean and very spacious, there is a tub and a shower.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birch Vale hotels
0.1 mi away
The Sycamore Inn
The Sycamore Inn
#1 of 5 in Birch Vale
102 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Waltzing Weasel
The Waltzing Weasel
#2 of 5 in Birch Vale
198 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ladygate Farm B and B
Ladygate Farm B and B
#3 of 5 in Birch Vale
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Post Office? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Post Office

Address: 7 Spinnerbottom, Birch Vale SK22 1AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Birch Vale
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Birch Vale
Price Range: £52 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Post Office 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, LateRooms, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your The Old Post Office reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Post Office Birch Vale, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing