We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cancelled booking; no reason given”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Waltzing Weasel
Ranked #2 of 5 Birch Vale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cancelled booking; no reason given”
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We had made a booking long in advance, when at a week's notice it was cancelled. All we received was a very curt e-mail informing us of the cancellation. Problems of ownership was cited in the mail, but no explanation given, nor help in finding alternative accommodation. Whatever the problems, they have no concept of customer service at all. One to avoid.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waltzing-Weasel, General Manager at The Waltzing Weasel, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Dear Jonathan,

You are correct we have recently taken over ownership of the Waltzing Weasel which is now a family run b&b. We are very sorry you have had a bad experience from the previous owners cancelling at such sort notice without clarification. I believe the business was closed down for 4-6 weeks prior to us taking over I am not sure of the reasons for this or why they did not explain this too you, I must send you my apologies on their behalf. I hope from this day forward you will not rule out staying with us in future.
Please do not hesitate to contact us..

KInd Regards

Lorraine Humphreys

Waltzing Weasel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    38
    9
    6
    6
See reviews for
30
98
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burntwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2013

This establishment is under new ownership and if they plan to run their business into the ground then it's the perfect start!!
Our long-standing booking at The Waltzing Weasel was cancelled, without warning, less than two weeks before we were due to arrive. We didn't receive any notification of their intent to cancel nor any communication that the booking had actually been cancelled. Our money was refunded and that was the only clue as to what was going on - a shocking way to start a new business.

It doesn't bode well for the future, find somewhere else, there are many superb places to stay in and around Hayfield.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darthball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waltzing-Weasel, General Manager at The Waltzing Weasel, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Dear Sir,

We have recently taken over ownership of the Waltzing Weasel which is now a family run b&b. We are very sorry you have had a bad experience from the previous owners cancelling at such sort notice without clarification. I believe the business was closed down for 4-6 weeks prior to us taking over I am not sure of the reasons for this or why they did not explain this too you, I must send you my apologies on their behalf. I hope from this day forward you will not rule out staying with us in future.
Please do not hesitate to contact us..

KInd Regards

Lorraine Humphreys

Waltzing Weasel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
184 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We stayed here en route from yorkshire and found this place to be very inviting with very pleasing staff. The room was very good the inn very cosy and the breakfast was very very good. Overall a very good find.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teresa42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

I'm so glad we decided to return to the WW, having had a good experience 5 years ago, for a repeat of our reunion; the welcome was very warm and friendly.
The rooms were big, comfortable, cosy and clean.
The atmosphere in the bar/diner is also cosy & informal, and was lovely to have a real fire.
The food was good - not complicated or too expensive, and the service was excellent. Simply a great place to eat.
It's ideally placed to visit and enjoy the glories of Derbyshire.
I understand that it is about to be re-vamped - I hope very little changes.

Room Tip: Room 2: open the curtains to a gorgeous view across the garden to the hills beyond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Stayed here over the Easter weekend. Nice homely pub with a open fire.we had a meal in the evening which we thought was expensive for what we got, my husband had rib eye steak that was cut very thinly. Stayed in room 7 it was very clean but felt like an attic room because it had just a sky light it would have been nice to have had a view.

Room Tip: Room 7 has no view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxwell50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kippford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We are regular diners at The Waltzing Weasel and love it. It is so nice find the ambience and courtesies of a country inn. Sit by the log fire with a glass of quality local beer, studying an excellant menu. I must admit the menu needs a couple of more "adventurous choices" little more variety but what is served is excellant quality and good value. Try to avoid the dinging room eat in the bar area....soak up the lovely atmosphere. The owners are attentive and proffesional. This inn needs to do well it is too good to miss. We live in Offerton, Stockport and always travel to and from on the 358 bus, drink what you want..........try the Rioja........fabulous.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stokesley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

The highlight of our stay at The Waltzing Weasel was the fantastic staff who just can't do enough for you. However this was closely followed by the gorgeous room and cosy bar area. The only disappointment was dinner, but breakfast was lovely, and when everything else was so amazing it didn't really matter.
Unfortunately our lovely host told us that the place was being taken over and he was having to look for another job and I'm sure the place will be a lot sadder for his departure. We wish him all the best!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VivienneW W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birch Vale
4.3 mi away
Travelodge Glossop
Travelodge Glossop
#1 of 2 in Glossop
415 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pack Horse Inn
Pack Horse Inn
#1 of 3 in New Mills
382 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Sycamore Inn
The Sycamore Inn
#1 of 5 in Birch Vale
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Old Post Office
The Old Post Office
#4 of 5 in Birch Vale
46 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ladygate Farm B and B
Ladygate Farm B and B
#3 of 5 in Birch Vale
57 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 6 in Hayfield
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waltzing Weasel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waltzing Weasel

Property: The Waltzing Weasel
Address: 8 New Mills Road, Birch Vale SK22 1BT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Birch Vale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Birch Vale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waltzing Weasel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waltzing Weasel now with new owners since May 2013. The bedrooms has gone through a refurbishment and is now run a family as a Bed and Breakfast. The Waltzing Weasel historically dates back nearly 400 years and is ideally located in the walking country of the High Peak in the Peak District. Situated along side of the Sett Valley Trail, views of Kinder Scout and surrounding hills and moors can be enjoyed. The Waltzing Weasel makes an ideal venue for families, visitors, walkers, cyclist or stressed business people who want to chill and be pampered. Guests can relax in one of the eight luxurious bedrooms with en-suite. The Grande bedroom (Room 6) has a beautiful 300-year-old Jacobean half tester bed and leather settee for that added comfort. All rooms and public areas have free WiFi access. The Waltzing Weasel's offers breakfast in one of the best room in the house overlooking views of Kinder Scout. There is a courtyard and a pleasant garden where you can sit and enjoy the beautiful setting. The Waltzing Weasel's aim is to provide a civilised retreat for those looking for a welcome break. We are located only forty minutes away from Manchester and its international airport, and are in easy reach of Sheffield, Stockport, Buxton and Glossop. Those who enjoy walking or cycling or just relaxing in the countryside will be delighted with the location of the Waltzing Weasel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Waltzing Weasel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waltzing Weasel Hotel Birch Vale
The Waltzing Weasel Birch Vale, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing