We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Waltzing Weasel
Ranked #2 of 5 Birch Vale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Just a quick one night stop over but great place to stop off. Nice quiet location just outside of Hayfield. Room was nice with 4 poster and plenty of space.
Very friendly owners and a great breakfast, will stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank camelman2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    38
    9
    6
    6
See reviews for
30
98
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

The location was perfect, rooms top class, food superb & owners were absolutely wonderful!! We have never laughed so much. Carol & the crew were like family, very welcoming, accommodating & nothing was too much trouble. John & Sally

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally8975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We took a 5 day break at the Waltzing Weasel with a 3 and 8 year old and could not have been happier. Carol and Lorraine the owners were so welcoming and accommodating it didn't feel like a B&B. The rooms were spotless and the garden had swing ball and badminton as well as games in the dining room to keep the kids amused. Biscuits and water replaced every day was a big hit with the kids as well as hot chocolate for bedtimes. As we stayed a few days we fancied a night in and the dining room was available for eating take away as well as big jug of squash to go with it. We were given lots of information about the area and every breakfast time Carol and Lorraine were available to answer any questions we had about the area. Breakfast was plentiful and relaxed as you could serve yourself cereal, fruit and yoghurts and then any combination from the full English. Overall we will return if we are in the Peak District again and the B&B was lovely in a lovely setting but it was Carol and Lorraine's friendly and relaxed attitude that turned a break into a memorable holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bexsox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

This place is a great base for exploring the Peak District, it's comfortable, great breakfast and lovely hosts. I thought it was very good value for money and would return should I visit the area again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DiceyManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

My wife and I have just returned from spending four nights at the Waltzing Weasel. What a fantastic time we had. Carol and her daughter Lorraine were wonderful. Our room was lovely with a really comfortable 4 poster bed and a lovely bathroom. Nice touches like the bottles of water, replaced daily, the biscuits and hot chocolate were also unexpected. The breakfasts were fantastic. Although they have only been open a couple of months, the B&B was great, clean and well appointed, in a lovely setting with great views of the countryside. A big thank you to you for a great stay will recommend you to everyone, also thanks for a great evening and BBQ, it was like spending an evening with old friends. PS Carol I enjoyed my pork pie when I got home.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kingston
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Recently booked the Waltzing Weasel for family who were attending a local wedding. Carol and Lorraine were so accomodating putting extra beds in the rooms for the children and flexible on arrival and departure times. Feedback from everyone was so positive, good hosts, rooms and breakfast what more can you ask for..... Thank you

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mitchellinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

This was a lovely place with an absolutely stunning view from the garden. Nice spacious single room and I did like the hot chocolate and bikkies in the room! Owners are new but are making a really good impression and I would certainly go again. It was no problem having my breakfast early at 7 am and I was made very welcome. Stayed there on business but would happily go there for a weekend away. Didn't eat locally but there looked like plenty of places nearby within close driving distance.

Room Tip: If you could get a room with a view over the garden, do as the view is second to none.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birch Vale
8.3 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
1.7 mi away
Pack Horse Inn
Pack Horse Inn
#1 of 3 in New Mills
381 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Sycamore Inn
The Sycamore Inn
#1 of 5 in Birch Vale
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Old Post Office
The Old Post Office
#4 of 5 in Birch Vale
46 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ladygate Farm B and B
Ladygate Farm B and B
#3 of 5 in Birch Vale
57 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 6 in Hayfield
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waltzing Weasel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waltzing Weasel

Property: The Waltzing Weasel
Address: 8 New Mills Road, Birch Vale SK22 1BT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Birch Vale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Birch Vale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waltzing Weasel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waltzing Weasel now with new owners since May 2013. The bedrooms has gone through a refurbishment and is now run a family as a Bed and Breakfast. The Waltzing Weasel historically dates back nearly 400 years and is ideally located in the walking country of the High Peak in the Peak District. Situated along side of the Sett Valley Trail, views of Kinder Scout and surrounding hills and moors can be enjoyed. The Waltzing Weasel makes an ideal venue for families, visitors, walkers, cyclist or stressed business people who want to chill and be pampered. Guests can relax in one of the eight luxurious bedrooms with en-suite. The Grande bedroom (Room 6) has a beautiful 300-year-old Jacobean half tester bed and leather settee for that added comfort. All rooms and public areas have free WiFi access. The Waltzing Weasel's offers breakfast in one of the best room in the house overlooking views of Kinder Scout. There is a courtyard and a pleasant garden where you can sit and enjoy the beautiful setting. The Waltzing Weasel's aim is to provide a civilised retreat for those looking for a welcome break. We are located only forty minutes away from Manchester and its international airport, and are in easy reach of Sheffield, Stockport, Buxton and Glossop. Those who enjoy walking or cycling or just relaxing in the countryside will be delighted with the location of the Waltzing Weasel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Waltzing Weasel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waltzing Weasel Hotel Birch Vale
The Waltzing Weasel Birch Vale, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing