We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Castle Donington”

Spring Cottage Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castle Donington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Spring Cottage Guest House
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

I cannot recommend this lovely bed and breakfast enough. Both Margaret and Peter are so friendly and make your stay a great one. The rooms are decorated very well with lovely ensuite bathrooms. The breakfast is great quality and is great value. Overall a fantastic stay and will definitely be going back! Thank you Margaret and Peter.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

I cannot comment on the actual Guest House but I had an extremely disappointing experience whilst attempting to book at this place. The website gives you a link to a booking site which told us there was availability for the dates in question, we therefore continued with the booking and got confirmation via email. A few hours later I received an email from the owner telling us that our booking could not be confirmed and that they were full on the dates we had booked for. Not very good on the hosting web sites side of the deal I feel. I have to give the owner a big thumbs up though as he was very apologetic and recommended other places we could try in the area. My tip is to give them a call if booking rather than believing technology.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank JasonandMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
springwaterflows, Owner at Spring Cottage Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Guest-link Booking
We are very sorry you were extremely disappointed on your booking enquiry to Spring Cottage, and we too are extremely sorry you rated the guest house down without ever staying with us.
At the top of the booking form in clear bold letters it states
PROVISIONAL BOOKING CONFIRMATION,
This booking is accepted subject to final confirmation of availability & price
The booking will be confirmed by Spring Cottage, normally within 24 hours.
As we replied to you in 2 hours and we were as helpful as possible we think you were a little harsh.
We are sorry we have disappointed you Mr. Bolton, please accept our apologies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

What a lovely place, rooms were very clean and comfortable beds. Breakfast was excellent .
We would stay here again. The pub is a short walk up the road and food there is ok. We spent the weekend at Donington Park which is just up the road. Spring Cottage is a good location 5 mins away.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We booked last minute and managed to get a room for one night. Wish we had booked for the full weekend. The B&B is immaculate and the room was beautiful. The owners were very friendly and the breakfast was great. We arrived earlier than expected as we went to world super bikes but the weather was bad. Jumped into a lovely hot bathe and totally chilled for the rest of the night. It was only 5 mins from the race track and would recommend this B&B to anyone going down that way. You are right next door to to west midlands airport and to be honest we didn't even notice.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShonaH_1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This is a lovely bed and breakfast and ideally located in Castle Donington with shops and pubs just a few minutes walk away. The rooms are very spacious and the facilities are fantastic. The hosts, Margaret and Peter, are both great people and are very friendly. If you're not from the area then they are more than happy to help and tell you where places are. Would definitely recommend this guest house!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
springwaterflows, Owner at Spring Cottage Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

It's great to know you enjoyed your stay with us. It's been a pleasure and we thoroughly enjoyed you being with us, Thank you for reviewing us you will always be a welcome guest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I have now been staying at Spring Cottage since February 2013 ,my stay has constantly been excellent, excellent food ,superb rooms and always exceptionally clean ,this really is my home from home , I have just had a weeks holiday and I am looking forward to going back whilst i work down there, something you cant say about a lot of places ,if you wish to meet great friendly people then Spring Cottage, and Peter and Margaret (owners) is for you ...

Bruce.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BruceLEEDSUNITED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
springwaterflows, Owner at Spring Cottage Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Thank you, we very much appreciate your kind words, and it has been a pleasure having you stay with us, we have enjoyed your company and your humour. Thank you again for taking the time to review us, we are so pleased you have enjoyed your staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

stayed at this B&B last night, arrived at 10pm and was given tea, biscuits and made to feel welcome. Comfy bed, lovely en-suite and the room was beautiful. really nice quirky ornaments, crockery and cutlery. Breakfast was delicious and both owners were really welcoming (I'm a Londoner, we are not used to this!). It really was faultless and spotlessly clean. I don't usually write reviews but businesses struggle in these times and if you find a good one then I believe you should let others know.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dbrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
springwaterflows, Owner at Spring Cottage Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Thank you so much, we were delighted to read you enjoyed staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Donington
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
#5 of 7 in Castle Donington
358 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport
Holiday Inn Express East Midland...
#4 of 7 in Castle Donington
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Nottingham EM Airport Donington Park M1
2.1 mi away
Hilton East Midlands Airport
Hilton East Midlands Airport
#3 of 7 in Castle Donington
1,728 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Priest House by the River
The Priest House by the River
#6 of 7 in Castle Donington
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spring Cottage Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spring Cottage Guest House

Address: 79 High Street, Castle Donington DE74 2PQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Castle Donington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Castle Donington
Price Range: £27 - £34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spring Cottage is a period house 5 mins drive from East Midlands Airport and an easy walk to Donington Race Track, we are just off the motorways, M1, M42 and M50. The house has been completely refurbished and mixes period with everyday comforts. All rooms are fully en-suite and furnished to a high standard with flat screen television/DVD free wire-less internet and tea and coffee making facilities. We extend a warm welcome to all our guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Spring Cottage Guest House Castle Donington, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing