We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport
Certificate of Excellence
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay”
Reviewed 9 May 2013

My Husband and I stayed here before an early flight the following morning. Rooms are the standard type that you would expect from any budget hotel chain. The buffet breakfast offered was adequate.
We would definately stay again but would probably give the evening meal a miss. Although very tasty we found it rather pricey for what it was.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToniD5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliveJohnson, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Dear ToniD5
Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay at our Airport Hotel.
Note that although our menu is priced fairly, a 20% discount is offered if dining before 6 pm.
I do hope that you consider using us on your next trip.

Kind regards

Clive Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    205
    100
    27
    4
See reviews for
130
213
30
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Arrived after a four and a half hour journey from Scotland-Staff very helpfull -room very clean and modern.Up at 4 am -complimentary breakfast included along with a weeks parking for just £72 -parking for a week was coming in at £45 alone so great value

Room Tip: Check out the special deals
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iainm541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliveJohnson, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Dear Iain

Many thanks for taking the time to post the review following your recent stay here at the Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport Hotel. I am pleased that you were able to partake of our early breakfast and that you found the Park Stay Go package good value. I hope that you will use us again in the future.

kind regards

Clive Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

The room was a good size with a double bed and all usual facilities with a comfortable sofa to watch a large TV. It was tastefully decorated and the shower room (no bath) was very clean. No aircraft noise could be heard.
Breakfast was totally help-yourself but nothing special. You could eat as much as you liked but if you leave your table to go for seconds, keep an eye on it or it gets cleared away before you get back.
The car park is close to the main entrance so carrying luggage in the rain isn't too bad.

Room Tip: Room 010 is on the ground floor near the entrance so very convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliveJohnson, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Dear Mary s

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay. I am pleased the Hotel met your expectations and that you were able to make use of our buffet breakfast - sorry if the team were too eager in clearing your tables!

We hope to see you here again very soon.

regards

Clive Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
133 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

I purposely booked a quiet room as I always do and it made extra sense this time with it being near the airport BUT because we did not live far away we arrived late evening to find they had crossed our room number out in biro and changed it to another room above a noisy air conditioning unit, so our good night sleep before an early flight was just a few hours. I may as well have got up early and driven the 90 minute journey, on the plus side you could not hear the planes over the humming of the air Conditioning Unit !! I just cancelled all my bookings (even for tonight and Tuesday) for the year and I stay at least once a week somewhere in the UK. Now who is that company that give a Good Night Guarantee ? Oh Yes I remember it is PREMIER INN.........

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Review-4-U-2-C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliveJohnson, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Thank you for posting you review. I have responded to you directly and hope to have the opportunity to talk to you personally regarding this unfortunate incident. You will notice that noise is not usually an issue for us in past reviews and the matter has now been resolved.

Regards

Clive Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christchurch
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Although near the airport we couldn't here the planes due to the excellent triple glazing. Friendly helpful staff.Very clean room with large TV. A good size shower. breakfast included. We stayed for two nights and couldn't fault the place.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lukas19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliveJohnson, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Dear lukas19

Thank you for posting your review following your recent stay, and I am pleased to note that you found the triple glazing kept the aircraft noise out and that you had a very pleasant stay.

We look forward to your return when you are in the area next time.

Regards

Clive Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Excellent value when booked well in advance, helpful and friendly staff. The kitchen staff coped very well with the whole of the Cardiff University cheer leaders all arrived for breakfast at the same time.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cyclistdavid H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliveJohnson, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Dear cyclistdavid H

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay. I am pleased that you enjoyed your visit, and we hope to see you here again soon.

regards

Clive Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandurah, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We stayed at this hotel twice, the night before and after our holiday. The main reason was the price and proximity to the airport, it is literally around the corner.

Check in was efficient and the rooms were nice and clean. We had a few problems controlling the heating, it didn't seem like it was working properly so we turned it up around teatime, only to wake up sweating in the middle of the night.

You are provided with a kettle and free calls from your room to local and national numbers, as well as free wi-fi in the lobby.

Breakfast has 3 hot items, as well as cereals, fruit, yoghurt, croissants, toast, juices and hot drinks. The first time we stayed here the hotel was quite busy and the food was fresh, but on the second stay there were very few guests in the hotel and the breakfast had been stood a while, and the orange juice had run out which took them ages to replace.

The bar menu has a range of dishes but is quite expensive. I had chilli con carne which for some reason comes without rice, but enjoyable still the same. My Mum had a chickpea curry which was served with a naan and again very nice. I was surprised at how nice the food actually was.

We would stay here again if the price was right but may consider the premier inn next door in future.

Room Tip: Request a quiet room if you have an early morning flight, they were keen to accommodate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mgh_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliveJohnson, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
Dear mgh_87
Thank you for taking the time to post your comprehensive review. I am pleased to note that you found our evening meal options very good and that you discovered all of many items that we offer here at the Hotel.

I hope to see you again soon.

regards

Clive Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Donington
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
#6 of 7 in Castle Donington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport
1.6 mi away
Hilton East Midlands Airport
Hilton East Midlands Airport
#2 of 7 in Castle Donington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn East Midlands Airport Hotel
Premier Inn East Midlands Airpor...
#3 of 7 in Castle Donington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Premier East Midlands Airport Yew Lodge Hotel
3.8 mi away
Days Inn Donington A50
Days Inn Donington A50
#1 of 1 in Shardlow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport
Address: Hunter Road, Castle Donington DE74 2TQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Castle Donington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Castle Donington
#5 Business Hotel in Castle Donington
#5 Family Hotel in Castle Donington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to contemporary Holiday Inn Express hotel at East Midlands Airport. With a great location, comfortable public areas & air conditioning in all guestrooms, you re sure of a great visit. We're just one mile from the airport and 35 miles from Alton Towers. Each of our 90 newly refurbished guestrooms have air-conditioning and free Wi-Fi. Family rooms can accommodate up to 2 adults & 2 children under 12 & feature a double bed and pull out sofabed, flat screen TVs, an en-suite with power shower, hairdryer & tea/coffee making facilities. Breakfast is included so you can help yourself to the Express Start buffet. For your convenience we also offer on-site car parking packages. The Holiday Inn Express' location is perfect for meetings with both the M1 Motorway & East Midlands Airport just minutes away ensuring easy access for delegates. Nottingham East Midlands Airport is served by major airlines including Jet2, Ryanair and Thomson so we regularly welcome international guests for meetings in our 4 conference rooms which can accommodate up to 40 delegates. The Great Room is an informal place in which to relax with breakfast, chill out with a drink from the bar or enjoy an evening meal from our tasty menu. Our hotel is also a great location for visiting Derby and Nottingham, Donington Park Race Circuit, Donington Open Air Market, the Peak District or Alton Towers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport Hotel Castle Donington
Express Castle Donington
Holiday Inn Derbyshire
Castle Donington Holiday Inn
Express East Midlands Airport
Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport Castle Donington, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing