We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good setting off point for airport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport
Certificate of Excellence
Djibouti, Djibouti
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good setting off point for airport”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We stayed Christmas Eve for an early start on Christmas Day at the airport.

The car parking system is very useful and reasonably priced. We left our car there for the week and were provided with transport to and from the airport.

The staff were friendly and helpful.

The room was clean and well equipped. We had a comfortable night and woke refreshed and ready for the rigours of a holiday.

We had an early continental breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dimelord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    205
    100
    27
    4
See reviews for
130
213
30
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
lincolnshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

me and my friend stayed in the holiday inn on the 1st of feb for 1 night before flying out of east mind on the 2nd. The price was very good car park deal and 1 night stay. It is very easy to find and so is the car park we stayed was also easy to find, the guy on reception gave us a map and very good directions.
The staff at this hotel are top notch especially the man at reception that checked us in he was very helpfull and friendly throuout our stay,
The rooms were very clean, and comfortable iv never had such a good night sleep away from home anywhere so comfortable. it is also very quiet and there seemed to be quite alot of guests.
We also had some food the night we got there the price was average for a hotel, and the food was good.
We had the FREE breakfast the following morning which was more than enough very fresh everything you need. eating area also very clean.

We had a nice stay and will definatly be staying again next time we fly out of east midlands.

Well done holiday inn.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank munchkin23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horncastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2014

arrived one late afternoon with my husband to friendly staff who quickly sent us up to our room. it was exactly what we wanted the bed was really comfy just a shame we had to leave it behind. spent a few hours at the bar and a lovely young gentlemen kept us company late into the night. breakfast was very good i was expecting a basic and simple set up as we were leaving at 5am but was impressed by the amount and choice and was set up in buffet style. returning to tenerife next year and will consider staying here again. good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We stayed here myself, husband and four kids in adjoining rooms after returning from a holiday in Benidorm. This was our second stay here whilst using East Midlands airport and again we were not disappointed.
The rooms are clean and the staff extremely friendly, welcoming and helpful. Very comfy beds including the travel cot, immaculate bedding and lovely breakfast too. My daughter wanted bananas but couldn't find them and the staff were more than happy to help. We have found this hotel good value for money when we compared to the other hotels in the vicinity hence why we use this one!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmajaynesimmons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in October and the food was horrendous. Absolutely no improvement. £15 for a steak u can't cut, £10 for a frozen Yorkshire pudding, processed strips of beef with cold tinned veg and £10 for a few bits of pasta in chicken soup with 3 tiny bits of bacon disguised as belly pork, aka penne carbonara. Off to the services for a Pot Noodle!
On the plus side, the ice was cold!

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Vic_hen_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kieron R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Vic_hen_uk,

Thankyou for taking the time to review your recent stay here at the Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport. Getting honest feedback from our guests is what we rely on to ensure that we can do everything possible to improve the service we offer.
We are currently reviewing all areas of service within the business, with Dinner service being a particular area of focus. I can assure you that each and every comment from our guests will result in a change to the service we offer.

I sincerely hope that on your next stay, the efforts we're making to improve our dinner service will be noticeable.
Thankyou once again for taking the time to review your stay.
Kieron Roe
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Stayed for one night solo, on business.
The location is very convenient, close to the airport and motorway. Free, fast WiFi throughout the hotel for up to 2 devices. Complimentary national and local calls from bedroom phone. Check-in and checkout process was quick though I did have to ask for an invoice. You can't really hear the noise of planes as the rooms are fairly well soundproofed.

However ... the room was cold so I turned the heating on (air conditioning type unit), it was realllly noisy so it kept waking me up in the night. The bed was really hard. Also, you are charged for parking (although it was only £4).
With regards to food; Didn't eat my evening meal there (walked 5mins across the road to the Radisson Blu hotel restaurant where the food was superb). There is a reason the breakfast is free, it's pretty dire; croissants were burnt, coffee machine gave lukewarm coffee and scrambled eggs had obviously been sat there a while.
Probably wouldn't stay here again, there are plenty of other hotels at nearby to chose from.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missss2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kieron R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear SwissMiss08Uk,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport.
I'm delighted to hear that you found our free wifi, free calls and check in process to be good and also glad you noticed that we experience no noise from the nearby aircraft. Our triple glazing definately helps.
I am however, dissappointed to hear that you found our breakfast to be dire. Breakfast, free or otherwise should be to the highest standard and I sincerely apologise that on this occasion, it was not. We rely on feedback from our guests to ensure we receive honest opinions to enable us to improve the service we offer and I can assure you that I will take all necessary measures to ensure that we don't get this kind of feedback again.
I will also be working closely with our maintenance department to ensure any issues with the air conditioning unit in the room you stayed in, is fixed immediately.

I'm very sorry to hear that you're unlikely to stay with us again, but you would be welcome anytime.

Many Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed here Dec 19th for 1 night and left the car for 8 nights. We found the room clean beds great and both of us slept well. They were very well organised and the Taxi arrived 5 mins early, the return Taxi was just as simple. The Breakfast was buffet style but lots of food available.
Would definately use this again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Donington
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
#6 of 7 in Castle Donington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport
1.6 mi away
Hilton East Midlands Airport
Hilton East Midlands Airport
#2 of 7 in Castle Donington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn East Midlands Airport Hotel
Premier Inn East Midlands Airpor...
#3 of 7 in Castle Donington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Premier East Midlands Airport Yew Lodge Hotel
3.8 mi away
Days Inn Donington A50
Days Inn Donington A50
#1 of 1 in Shardlow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport
Address: Hunter Road, Castle Donington DE74 2TQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Castle Donington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Castle Donington
#5 Business Hotel in Castle Donington
#5 Family Hotel in Castle Donington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to contemporary Holiday Inn Express hotel at East Midlands Airport. With a great location, comfortable public areas & air conditioning in all guestrooms, you re sure of a great visit. We're just one mile from the airport and 35 miles from Alton Towers. Each of our 90 newly refurbished guestrooms have air-conditioning and free Wi-Fi. Family rooms can accommodate up to 2 adults & 2 children under 12 & feature a double bed and pull out sofabed, flat screen TVs, an en-suite with power shower, hairdryer & tea/coffee making facilities. Breakfast is included so you can help yourself to the Express Start buffet. For your convenience we also offer on-site car parking packages. The Holiday Inn Express' location is perfect for meetings with both the M1 Motorway & East Midlands Airport just minutes away ensuring easy access for delegates. Nottingham East Midlands Airport is served by major airlines including Jet2, Ryanair and Thomson so we regularly welcome international guests for meetings in our 4 conference rooms which can accommodate up to 40 delegates. The Great Room is an informal place in which to relax with breakfast, chill out with a drink from the bar or enjoy an evening meal from our tasty menu. Our hotel is also a great location for visiting Derby and Nottingham, Donington Park Race Circuit, Donington Open Air Market, the Peak District or Alton Towers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport Hotel Castle Donington
Express Castle Donington
Holiday Inn Derbyshire
Castle Donington Holiday Inn
Express East Midlands Airport
Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport Castle Donington, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing