We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great welcome, lovely room and good early breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We have been here before on a number of occasions - always before an early flight back home to France. £54 for the room, parking, breakfast and free wi-fi - pretty unbeatable. We were warmly welcomed at Reception - very efficient and very personable. Lovely room - standard for this type of hotel but very comfortable and spacious. Breakfast is served from 0400 and this was great as our flight was 0700. At this hour it was self-service continental but there was plenty of choice of cereals, pastries, yoghurts, fruit, cheese, breads and condiments. The coffee - unusual for most hotels - was excellent. One minor gripe - the orange juice, dispensed from a chilling machine - was watered down and unpleasant.

Efficient and friendly goodbye when we left for the flight. Will definitely stay again - especially if the price is the same!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Gordon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DSPENCERPHILLIPS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Thank you for your review I'm pleased your stay provided everything you needed we look forward to welcoming you back soon

Darren Spencer-Phillips
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (606)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

356 - 362 of 606 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed here prior to our early morning flight from East Midlands Airport. Great value with advance park and fly deal. Comfortable beds, very clean accommodation. Pricey drinks in the bar in the evening. Breakfast was ok - continental breakfast at an unearthly hour before they started serving hot breakfasts. The car was secure while we were away, and the taxi service provided by the hotel to and from the airport was very good.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CheshireHappybride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We used the hotel as a base to visit friends and local attractions. We booked the hotel on the fact it's a Holiday Inn, location and the free breakfast. Hotel is clean and so were the rooms. Staff were lovely. However... There is a £4 a night parking charge which we only found out after check in and after payment. I find this a bit cheeky. Breakfast is average. Great if you like cereal or beans and sausage. I'm sure the orange juice is not meant to be luminous! We ordered a pizza (£9.99) for essentially a Chicago Town stuffed crust which can be purchased for a couple of quid from a supermarket. Lastly the pillows in the room. The pillows only seem to come in hard, firm and concrete. Even the soft ones are too firm but as the wife says I'm a pillow snob. Would I stay here again? Probably but a few minor changes need made. Then this would become a fantastic hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrLittleElf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

My husband and I often spend a night here before flying on holiday. It has everything we need.

There's a choice of pillow softness, very comfortable beds, varied selection of food for dinner, and an included breakfast. (from before the crack of dawn)

One can be sure that one's car is safe when left in the hotel's car park and there's even a taxi provided for the 5 minute journey for the flight, and return to pick up the car after the holiday.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from lifts.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We used this hotel as a stop over to Alton Towers and that I've always liked the Holiday Inn/Express brand. The hotel was clean, modern, and had friendly and efficient staff both at check in and check out. We had a cracking room rate of £36 which included a good breakfast.

The hotel is situated close to the airport but with secondary glazing, any noise is kept to a minimum. The rooms are very clean and modern with tea/coffee making facilities, ample towels, and a nice flat screen HD TV. The beds were very comfortable and I had a good nights sleep. Some rooms have options of being adjoined which is handy for larger families. The room size is average, but would be sufficient for 2 adults and 2 small children for example. The free wi fi is a nice touch and the breakfast was very good with a good selection of hot/cold foods, basically there is something for everyone. The only feedback I would give is to consider some warm cinnemon rolls and/or a pancake maker, the latter can be found at some Holiday Inns that I've stayed at.

I would definately recommend this hotel and would stay here again. Well done HIE.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Superhoop68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

This was the first time that I have stayed at a Holiday Inn Express It was a one night stay at an airport. Over the years I have used "regular" Holiday Ins and have been well pleased with them. This was a whole different experience. The room was tiny and the double bed small. The bathroom had a very large shower cubicle (which was good) but was totally out of proportion with the rest of the room.

My wife and I went down to the dining room and ordered a single course each. It took 50 minutes to arrive!

When I checked out the next morning, the receptionist asked me if everything had been OK. I told that was not the case. To her credit she refunded the cost of the meals.

As I said at the beginning, this was my first experience of a Holiday Inn express. It will be my last!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mentorex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEMA_Deputy, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear Mentorex,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel.

We are truly sorry to hear that your stay did not live up to your expectations and previous experience of full-service Holiday Inns. Our goal is always 100% guest satisfaction and we are saddened that we did not achieve this for you on this occasion.

Regarding you dinner experience, I have investigated this and on the night in question it seems our restaurant was extremely busy with several large groups eating which caused the waiting time to be much longer than usual. This however is obviously not an excuse for your extended wait and I can understand your frustration. I am glad to see though that your meal was refunded on departure and hope this provided some form of compensation.

I really hope when your plans call for another hotel stay you will take the opportunity to give one of hotels a second chance, and truly appreciate your comments as they are taken very seriously and will assist us in improving.

Kind Regards,
Darren
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Superb value hotel right next to East Midlands Airport. Checked in on Sunday before New Year and ended up having dinner there. Nice food, pleasant staff and all in all excellent value. Only downside is the charge for parking your car overnight.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEMA_Deputy, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Dear David M,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel, it is greatly appreciated.

We are extremely pleased that you found our hotel to be excellent value and that you also enjoyed your evening meal with us. All of our staff work hard to ensure our guests have the best possible experience and it's always great to receive positive feedback.

We really hope to see you again at some point in the near future and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Kind Regards,
Darren
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Donington
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
#5 of 7 in Castle Donington
318 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport
1.6 mi away
Hilton East Midlands Airport
Hilton East Midlands Airport
#3 of 7 in Castle Donington
1,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Nottingham EM Airport Donington Park M1
1.4 mi away
Best Western Premier East Midlands Airport Yew Lodge Hotel
3.8 mi away
Days Inn Donington A50
Days Inn Donington A50
#1 of 1 in Shardlow
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport

Address: Hunter Road, Castle Donington DE74 2TQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Castle Donington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Castle Donington
#5 Business Hotel in Castle Donington
#5 Family Hotel in Castle Donington
Price Range: £51 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to contemporary Holiday Inn Express hotel at East Midlands Airport. With a great location, comfortable public areas & air conditioning in all guestrooms, you re sure of a great visit. We're just one mile from the airport and 35 miles from Alton Towers. Each of our 90 newly refurbished guestrooms have air-conditioning and free Wi-Fi. Family rooms can accommodate up to 2 adults & 2 children under 12 & feature a double bed and pull out sofabed, flat screen TVs, an en-suite with power shower, hairdryer & tea/coffee making facilities. Breakfast is included so you can help yourself to the Express Start buffet. For your convenience we also offer on-site car parking packages. The Holiday Inn Express' location is perfect for meetings with both the M1 Motorway & East Midlands Airport just minutes away ensuring easy access for delegates. Nottingham East Midlands Airport is served by major airlines including Jet2, Ryanair and Thomson so we regularly welcome international guests for meetings in our 4 conference rooms which can accommodate up to 40 delegates. The Great Room is an informal place in which to relax with breakfast, chill out with a drink from the bar or enjoy an evening meal from our tasty menu. Our hotel is also a great location for visiting Derby and Nottingham, Donington Park Race Circuit, Donington Open Air Market, the Peak District or Alton Towers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport Hotel Castle Donington
Express Castle Donington
Holiday Inn Derbyshire
Castle Donington Holiday Inn
Express East Midlands Airport
Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport Castle Donington, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing