We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We had a great overnight stay at the Holiday Inn Express - East Midlands. All of the staff were professional, friendly and helpful. Bedroom was very clean, comfortable and quiet. Breakfast (buffet style help yourself, hot and cold items) was included in the price and was good, juice was fine, not sure why folks were complaining about it!
We took a taxi from the airport to get to the hotel, just a few minutes drive. The hotel staff told us that the Skylink bus stops outside the hotel so we planned on taking that the next morning to take us back to the airport, however we were ready with plenty of time to spare so we walked - took 15 minutes and was a pleasant walk with a pavement the whole way! Easy enough for us as we only had small cabin bags but I guess pulling a 25 kilo bag wouldn't be much fun!
Overall, a great stay and we will definitely use the hotel for our next stopover at East Midlands.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joanne r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    201
    97
    27
    4
See reviews for
128
207
30
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Great TV in the room and room ok but view not up to much considering at a handy spot near airport. Bed was a little uncomfortable compared to say a premier inn but happy with overall stay. £4 for car stop overnight bit harsh as we arranged parking too with deal.we found a lovely little pub a few miles away at long Whatton and used my taste card for great price the night before we flew out

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simondo44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Great staff who dealt with a very rowdy family in the dining area very professionally .Food was lovely and well . I would recommend this hotel as it is ideal for the airport.
Be aware that overnight stays do incur a £4 parking charge .

Room Tip: All the rooms are good so no preference .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sylvie551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, County Down
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Stayed for 1 night prior to early flight the next morning, Having flown over from Belfast, we were without a car, so got the Skylink Airport Hopper bus from the airport bus station, which dropped us off very close to the hotel for 50p each. We didn't have to wait long as the service is quite frequent, even in the evenings. Hotel is modern and well laid out with friendly and professional staff. Was a bit apprehensive about having a family room with 2 teenagers (16 & 13) but there was more space than I thought. In any case, we went to the bar area that evening and enjoyed a bowl of chunky chips, which were good value. Got up at 4am the next morning (!) and availed of the self service breakfast buffet. There was a good choice available even at that time - fruit, cereal, toast, pastries, yoghurt - as well as a hot drinks machine. It was too early though for a cooked breakfast, if I could have faced it at that time of the morning! Check out was quick and easy and the taxi we had booked to the airport arrived promptly (and cost £6 for 4 persons). Wouldn't hesitate to book this hotel again, especially with such good rates on offer, inclusive of breakfast and free wifi.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VoyageVogage123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
356 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

I stayed here for one night whilst on business nearby. The hotel is easy to find, on the main road from the motorway to the airport, and has a large car park reserved solely for guests (£4 per night).

Check in was extremely efficient and helpful, and there was a lively atmosphere in the bar from the other customers present, many of whom were clearly catching a flight.

My room was in good condition, well appointed, and had efficient air con. Although not in sight of the runway (much to my disappointment!), you could see aircraft coming in to land or having just taken off from the room - wonderful!

Breakfast was served from 4.30am (continental) or 6.30am including hot items, and was the usual Holiday Inn Express fare, albeit the scrambled eggs were a little more rubbery than is usually the case elsewhere.

I would have no hesitation in staying here, again, if in the area, and commend the hotel to you without reservation. Customer service was excellent from every member of staff, without exception.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BigWoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night prior to a flight out of east mids. Nice large room with big tv, sofa and nice size bed. Very clean. Good FREE breakfast in the morning and only cost £28. Bargain. Excellent stay for east mids flights. Pre booked a taxi that was £6 to the airport

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank CoventryHomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

When I first started extensive business travelling - early 1980s - I used to try first for a Holiday Inn as their hotels were consistently "much better than average" and, almost as important, I knew where everything was as the rooms were always similar wherever I stayed.

This is now replicated by the Holiday Inn Express range of hotels. Absolutely the place to stay if you want consistent cleanliness and comfort with good customer service from the staff without being over pretentious.

Well done IHG Group - Well done !

The East Midlands Holiday Inn Express is a good eample of the brand - well worth staying at.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Donington
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
#6 of 8 in Castle Donington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport
1.6 mi away
Hilton East Midlands Airport
Hilton East Midlands Airport
#2 of 8 in Castle Donington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn East Midlands Airport Hotel
Premier Inn East Midlands Airpor...
#4 of 8 in Castle Donington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Premier East Midlands Airport Yew Lodge Hotel
3.9 mi away
Days Inn Donington A50
Days Inn Donington A50
#1 of 1 in Shardlow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport
Address: Hunter Road, Castle Donington DE74 2TQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Castle Donington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Castle Donington
#6 Business Hotel in Castle Donington
#6 Family Hotel in Castle Donington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to contemporary Holiday Inn Express hotel at East Midlands Airport. With a great location, comfortable public areas & air conditioning in all guestrooms, you re sure of a great visit. We're just one mile from the airport and 35 miles from Alton Towers. Each of our 90 newly refurbished guestrooms have air-conditioning and free Wi-Fi. Family rooms can accommodate up to 2 adults & 2 children under 12 & feature a double bed and pull out sofabed, flat screen TVs, an en-suite with power shower, hairdryer & tea/coffee making facilities. Breakfast is included so you can help yourself to the Express Start buffet. For your convenience we also offer on-site car parking packages. The Holiday Inn Express' location is perfect for meetings with both the M1 Motorway & East Midlands Airport just minutes away ensuring easy access for delegates. Nottingham East Midlands Airport is served by major airlines including Jet2, Ryanair and Thomson so we regularly welcome international guests for meetings in our 4 conference rooms which can accommodate up to 40 delegates. The Great Room is an informal place in which to relax with breakfast, chill out with a drink from the bar or enjoy an evening meal from our tasty menu. Our hotel is also a great location for visiting Derby and Nottingham, Donington Park Race Circuit, Donington Open Air Market, the Peak District or Alton Towers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport Hotel Castle Donington
Express Castle Donington
Holiday Inn Derbyshire
Castle Donington Holiday Inn
Express East Midlands Airport
Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport Castle Donington, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing