We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton East Midlands Airport
Certificate of Excellence
Norton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“fantastic stay”
Reviewed 8 August 2012

we had a perfect stay in this hotel, the rooms are very good the breakfast was superb the staff are knowledgeable and helpful i could not find anything to moan about.. i will be re booking soon for another short stay. well done hilton this is just what i expect of you.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happywandererUpNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerEMA, Front Office Manager at Hilton East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your gracious comments and your vote of confidence.

We are delighted that you have had a wonderful experience and given us a 5 star rating.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    704
    594
    208
    116
    54
See reviews for
462
623
58
345
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leics
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We stayed here on the night before we flew of on our holiday. A very good deal with parking and a bed. Rooms were very nice, clean large room and lots of friendly people. We had a taxi to the airport which was about 5 mins then when we landed we just had to ring a number and they came straight away to pick us up excellent serviceI would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire20Leics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerEMA, Front Office Manager at Hilton East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for giving us your review.

We are happy that we fit the bill and that we met with your expectations. W hope that you enjoyed your holiday and look forward to welcoming you back again.

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke on Trent
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We stayed here before flying out from East Midlands Airport. As we found airport parking for around £34.00 on the airport, we decided to pay an extra £50 for one night stay as we had a deal for £87 including upto 8 days parking.

We had a ground floor double room which was very spacious with comfy pillows. The shower was also very good.

Hotel very clean and tidy. Mini bus shuttle service was excellent and I really rate the 2 drivers we had transporting us to and from the airport.

Only negative was the price of food and drinks. A glass of 175ml wine was £6.50 meaning a round of drinks for 2 came to £10.50 which I feel is excessive. A general Tikka Massala was £18, but I suppose there is nothing else around so I guess they can charge what they like.

A pleasurable experience

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerEMA, Front Office Manager at Hilton East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, 12 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We're happy that we were able to take the hassle out of the holiday with a comfortable and convenient stay and journey for you. Thank you for your comments about the room and for mentioning the drivers for their excellence.

You feedback has been noted regarding prices of food and drink. We are currently doing dinner and breakfast vouchers that are substantially discounted for our park and fly guests. We do hope that this will make the offering more appealing for our holiday makers.

Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

My wife and I stayed for one night while attending a wedding at nearby Thrumpton Hall. I wanted to confirm our early arrival at the Hilton, so that we could change in advance. So I telephoned from London ..."If you want this, please press 1. If you want that, please press 2", and so on. So I pressed 2. "If you want this, please press 1", etc. "If you have your confirmation number, please key it in followed by a [hash/star/whatever]." Finally, someone spoke to me. "No," she said, "You have the wrong extension. I'll put you through." It was five and a half minutes of frustration. That said, this Hilton is very well located, a few hundred yards from Exit 24 on the M1. On arrival, we found a large, modern edifice built of local brick, surrounded by a huge car park and accessed through a porch with a pitched roof. The receptionist could not have been more friendly and we were soon up the lift, along nicely carpeted corridors and into our third-floor "Club Room". "Club" proved to be pretty standard: a Queen-size bed, adequate space including a decent wardrobe, a good TV and a rather small window. The bathroom was on the small side, and ageing. But for a one-night stopover, at £75 including breakfast and parking, this was clean and good value. The next test was breakfast the next morning: a serve-yourself buffet, with a wide choice of food, but not of newspapers (The Sunday Independent only). The bains-marie had warm baked beans, tepid canned plum tomatos, solid scambled eggs, fried triangles of white toast and hashed potatoes, and undercooked bacon and sausages: lots of it, but prepared without care and attention: the ubiquitous, automatic cooked breakfast. My wife's buns were delicious. Orange juice (not fresh) was served by a waiter, who then brought a double expresso for my wife and a pot of tea with a small milk jug for me. The jug, amazingly, was completely empty. The waiter had disappeared, there was no milk on the buffet either, and I wandered in search of a waitress to take remedial action. In short, this Hilton exemplifies the art of formulaic hotel-keeping.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Horace4590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerEMA, Front Office Manager at Hilton East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, 12 August 2012
Dear Guest,

At the outset please may I take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback about our hotel. It is always refreshing to hear about how we conduct ourselves from a guests perspective. I could not help but grimace when you mentioned the automated telephone systems that some people would swear are the bane of multinationals trying to maximize on economies while providing the customer the best available options. I can completely understand and empathize with you on this score; speaking with a person makes all the difference and I am sorry that this was made to become a frustrating experience for you.

I am grateful to you for mentioning the friendly reception and also the room package being clean and of good value. Our breakfasts are usually the best part of the Hilton Experience and I am dismayed that we did not meet with your expectations here. However I am thankful for your comments that have been passed on to the F&B team for their intervention. Hilton is constantly on the forefront with reinventing itself, its people, its rooms, its food offerings so that people can see for themselves a bright new vibrant culture of first class hotel keeping constantly moulding itself to what its guests expect.

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your views with us.

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We have just stayed at this hotel for 2 nights whilst visiting Warwick Castle (a great day out) and Alton Towers. The hotel is very clean and we found our room on the ground floor spacious and comfortable. When we arrived I asked for extra pillows and duvet which were very promptly delivered. The breakfast was excellent with an extensive choice and a chef to prepare eggs upon request. The pool and gym were both great and we used them everyday, the staff at the pool reception were very friendly. All in all a good hotel when you want a clean comfortable hotel which is value for money. I rated very good rather than excellent only because at night the hotel was very hot and the air-con noisy and ineffective.

Room Tip: Our room 121 on the ground floor was big enough for 2 adults and 1 child, and great for the pool whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank want2goonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerEMA, Front Office Manager at Hilton East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, 4 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We are grateful for your positive feedback about our services and the staff. Thank you also for the comments about the air conditioning. We have already started servicing of all our a/c units as part of our long term strategy to ensure that all units are fine tuned and working effectively when it is needed most. We are sorry that you experienced discomfort with the cooling and thank you for taking the time to mention this.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We stayed here for three nights in July, Frount off house looks nice clean and welcoming we stayed in a family room which was dull, dirty and broken, our sons sofa bed had holes, cigarette burns and stains I wouldn't let my dog sleep on it let alone my son, the lamp shade was broken and the bathroom was full off yellow and black stains on the tiles. We called the duty manger Sarah to come to the room who was very apologetic and shocked at what she saw and got the bed changed and brought robes slipper and wine, but nothing can replace cleanses and not what you expect from the Hilton brand hotels which we have stayed with throughout the world. On a plus the staff are some off the best we have seen in our travels, the breakfasts were also better than most with the staff and chefs happy to serve you.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Filby007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerEMA, Front Office Manager at Hilton East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, 4 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your review.

We are so sorry that you have not had a memorable stay with us and can completely understand how you feel about not wanting to stay with us again. I would like to reassure you that we have taken your feedback very seriously and have passed on the information to our Housekeeping Manager who has taken the appropriate action as regards the cleanliness.

I am grateful to you for mentioning the hotel staff and the breakfast offering for being best in class. We would also like to reassure you that this particular bedroom instance is not representative of our hotel and we would like to take this opportunity to give you the indulgent experience that Hilton is famous for. I understand that you are looking to stay in August / September and i would like to offer my personal contact to make this right for you.

Looking forward to hearing from you.

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kegworth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We stayed only one night. It is located near to the airport, but you still need a taxi to go there. We had a good night sleep, then a nice late breakfast and a swim. It was really good. Only one bad point: wifi very expensive, 15 pounds.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jones M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerEMA, Front Office Manager at Hilton East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback.

We're grateful for your comments because this enables us to improve our services in line with our guests expectations. We do offer complimentary wifi in the public areas and free wifi for our Diamond and Gold HH guests in the bedrooms.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and look forward to seeing you again.

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Donington
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport
1.8 mi away
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
#6 of 7 in Castle Donington
263 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Premier East Midlands Airport Yew Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport
Holiday Inn Express East Midland...
#3 of 7 in Castle Donington
599 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Priest House by the River
The Priest House by the River
#5 of 7 in Castle Donington
753 reviews
11.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton East Midlands Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton East Midlands Airport

Property: Hilton East Midlands Airport
Address: Junction 24, M1, Derby Road, Castle Donington DE74 2YW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Castle Donington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Castle Donington
#2 Family Hotel in Castle Donington
#4 Business Hotel in Castle Donington
#4 Romantic Hotel in Castle Donington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton East Midlands Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IMPORTANT TRAVEL ADVICE: When travelling to the hotel and using a satnav, please search for the hotel name in the 'points of interest' or 'hotel search' section of your device. The reason is the hotel postcode covers such a large area that it can be imprecise on some devices. Please also note that if your satnav's maps are not up to date this can also cause misguidance, especially on tomtom devices. We strongly advise you to refer to our directions page on the hotel website ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton East Midlands Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton East Midlands Airport Hotel Castle Donington
Hilton Hotel Derby
Hilton Derby
Derby Hilton
Hilton East Midlands Airport Castle Donington, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing