We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Hilton Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton East Midlands Airport
Certificate of Excellence
West Kirby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Friendly Hilton Hotel”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We have a family get together here a couple of times a year for the last few years. We are a large group of varying ages so we always came to Hiltons because of the swimming, easy access by car and the fact that you can get a good deal.
We have ended up sticking to the East Midlands Hilton because of the friendly staff, and central location for all the scattered family to get to. This year we came for Easter and again in May for a special 90th birthday.

We enjoy the lovely buffet breakfast, (they even put us in our own area on the same table now).

There is a good variety of cooked breakfast,cereals,cold meats cheese and fruit. They will also cook whatever eggs you would like (scrambled is usually on the buffet ).
Our room has been comfortable though the pull out sofa can sometimes be a bit springy for our growing son, last time they put in another single by accident and it was more comfortable for him.
Its usually pretty quiet though occasionally you'll get noise if there is a wedding or event on if guests are noisy going back to their rooms.
They have a bar and lounge at reception a relaxing area where you can have a drink or snacks but beware it is quite pricey. The restaurant serves evening meals but we have only been there when there is an offer on such as the Easter Buffet/Carvery which was very good value and an excellent children's buffet. We tend to pop down the road to the Vintage Inn chain or go into Kegworth to the great Indian Restaurant Ja ja Jees (highly recommended).
The pool is very nice open to members and hotel guests. It does not let children under 18 go in without an adult so if you are not swimming yourself an adult must still go in to sit by the edge and supervise. Some of our party are very responsible teenagers who found this a bit silly. We even saw a young couple where the man had to sign his partner in because she was 17.
All in all a good place to stay with friendly reception staff and a great concierge.They are really helpfu nothing is too much trouble.
It's the usual Hilton in that it is off a motorway junction so you cant walk easily to any "sights" but as most will have come by car its easy to get to sights in Nottingham,Leicester and Derby etc.
Oh and look out for the cute bunnies at night on the grass. They seem to have been trapped on the island that is the Hilton Hotel and seem quite happy!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jivegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,656 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    697
    588
    204
    114
    53
See reviews for
449
622
57
340
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hessle
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed here overnight on 30th April as part of an excellently priced park and fly deal. Check in was swift and the room we were allocated was very well equipped, clean and comfortable. Arrangements for an early morning call and transfer to the airport at 5.30 the following morning were made and everything happened on time.
Staff throughout were very courteous and provided an excellent service from those at reception to the driver who took us to the airport. On our return it was simple to arrange the transfer back to the hotel to pick up our car and the driver who picked us up was courteous and very helpful with our luggage. He took us right up to our car and helped transfer the luggage to the boot.
Whilst at the hotel we ate and drank in the snack bar and the food was very well presented, plentiful and tasty but I must say that I found the price of a glass of wine in the bar costing in excess of £9.00 for 250ml excessive. One expects hotel bar prices to be more than those of a public house and many will say "is this all this guy has to moan about" but there we go it's a fact.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graybags1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed here as part of a Park and Fly Deal. We booked in advance, and it was an incredible deal considering that the room, parking and transfers were included.
The directions given to us on the confirmation were easy to follow, and the reception staff were incredibly helpful when we arrived. They booked our 4.40 am transfer, arranged a wake up call and booked us into the restaurant for our evening meal, all without any prompting from us.
The hotel room was clean and spacious, and was more than adequate for our needs.
We went to the restaurant and were expecting to pay £25 for 3 courses, which seemed fine, but was told that as part of the Park and Fly Deal it would be £20. All of the food was excellent, especially my partners steak. We definitely considered it an excellent start to our holiday.
Both on the way there and back, we found the transfer drivers to be prompt and incredibly helpful. On both journeys they took my case from me, and loaded it in and out of the van. On the journey back the driver parked right next to our car so we could load up straight away which was unexpected and incredibly helpful.
All in all our experience surpassed expectations, and we would definitely use this hotel for future flights.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorna657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Hotel booked at short notice to attend an historic motor racing event at Donington.The hotel was the most price competitive but provided a far better experience than the "budget hotels" in the same price bracket;room was large,well fitted and clean and the staff were efficient but friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed over for the night after days motor racing at donnington. Room was very good value after booking in advance. Staff very good and everything you need for a good nights stay in room. Rooms perhaps a little dated but everything good quality and very clean. Would use again if in the area.

Room Tip: Book in advance no refunds for best price
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nigelCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The hotel is hard to find and not well sign posted.
Hotel is poor for it's size with not enough facilities. The furniture in the lounge needs updating, it is dirty and stained, no one would feel comfortable staying here.
Reception staff that checked us in were very vague about details and seemed like they wanted us gone as quick as possible.
Very unwelcoming and not up to standards.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Truth1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerEMA, Front Office Manager at Hilton East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for giving us your feedback; all comments we receive are used to improve our service to meet and exceed our guests expectations.

We're sorry that you weren't able to find the hotel easily; we are located just off the M1 at Jct 24, only a few hundred yards from the roundabout. We've posted SATNAV instructions on our website as well to aid guests in arriving here.

We're sorry if we have given you the perception that our welcome service was not the best; we pride ourselves in being the best in hospitality and while our hotel may not be the newest in the market, we ensure that our warm and friendly service is what will bring our guests back again.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed one night before our flight - park and fly. Hotel was easy to find following directions on the confirmation. Reception staff could not have been better - excellent, friendly service. Transfer first class. One driver, one helper. They put the cases and my mobility scooter on the minibus - took them off when we arrived at the airport put them on a trolley and even pushed the trolley into departures - and then refused a tip! Unheard of.
All in all an excellent experience and would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indian_queen8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Donington
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport
1.8 mi away
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
#6 of 7 in Castle Donington
229 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Premier East Midlands Airport Yew Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport
Holiday Inn Express East Midland...
#4 of 7 in Castle Donington
591 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Priest House by the River
The Priest House by the River
#5 of 7 in Castle Donington
741 reviews
11.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton East Midlands Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton East Midlands Airport

Property: Hilton East Midlands Airport
Address: Junction 24, M1, Derby Road, Castle Donington DE74 2YW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Castle Donington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Castle Donington
#2 Family Hotel in Castle Donington
#4 Business Hotel in Castle Donington
#4 Romantic Hotel in Castle Donington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton East Midlands Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IMPORTANT TRAVEL ADVICE: When travelling to the hotel and using a satnav, please search for the hotel name in the 'points of interest' or 'hotel search' section of your device. The reason is the hotel postcode covers such a large area that it can be imprecise on some devices. Please also note that if your satnav's maps are not up to date this can also cause misguidance, especially on tomtom devices. We strongly advise you to refer to our directions page on the hotel website ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton East Midlands Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton East Midlands Airport Hotel Castle Donington
Hilton Hotel Derby
Hilton Derby
Derby Hilton
Hilton East Midlands Airport Castle Donington, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing