We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pre-holiday 1 night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton East Midlands Airport
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Pre-holiday 1 night stay”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Hotel staff were fantastic. Room excellent, large, clean and well supplied. Location to airport good. Transfers very efficient. Excellent value for money with the stay and car parking offer. A good nights sleep to start our holiday (the following morning).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank S G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,637 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    690
    579
    202
    114
    52
See reviews for
443
617
55
338
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mombasa, Kenya
Level Contributor
67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

First of all, there is no free internet access. This is annoying at a business oriented property such as this. My disappointment started from the moment my wife and I went to check in. I had previously rung the Hilton international reservation centre (United States?) to ask if they could ensure that a double room was requested. They said it needed to be requested through Hhonors as I had booked the room with a voucher. Hhonours, however was not open till 12 midday as they operate on USA central time office hours. I explained that I would not be able to call during the day and only early morning so the agent said they would do what they could to request a double room. On arrival at the hotel we were offered a twin room. I asked about moving to a double and the check-in agent told me that she had a double room but that I would need to pay an upgrade fee. I asked if there was anything she could do on the basis of being a silver member and that I had attempted to make arrangements via the call centre. The agent repeatedly said that there were, "no notes in the booking" and that I should have called the hotel directly, not reservations. I explained that I would have thought that the reservations agent might have told me that. She just shrugged and said that it was, "your choice" to stay in a twin room or pay an upgrade. I am disappointed by this attitude and lack of an attempt to recover the service failure I had experienced. It is the **way** I was dealt with that was most upsetting. We finally agreed to pay an upgrade fee so that we had a double bed (!) and were told there would be an 'upgrade package' in the room. This consisted of a miniature bottle of wine with one glass, a small jar of nuts and some jelly beans. There were two of us. The room attendant came with another small bottle of wine but saw the existing one and said, "you cant have two" and took it away again! So an upgrade package was provided that could only be enjoyed by one of the people in the room? Another service failure I feel. We decided to make a cup of tea instead. Unfortunately the milk capsules in the room were out of date and putrid. Called to reception for replacements which came. On checking the dates of the replaced milk, the were also out of date! Opened one and again it was soured. Called reception again. A few minutes later they said they had checked all the milk in their store and it was, "all out of date". They suggested they bring a jug of milk. I asked if the fridge in the room could be used to store it so that we had milk for the morning. I was told no and the only option offered was a bucket of ice on which to place the jug of milk! I was not made aware at any point during the booking process -that I would be required to pay £5.00 for parking at the hotel. I queried this at check-in and was told, "Well, it must have said it somewhere on the booking and anyway, you're lucky really because if you weren't staying here you would have had to pay about £25.00". Not exactly the customer-friendly response I would describe as helpful. I have stayed in Hilton properties all over the world and worked in the travel and tourism industry for more than 20 years (latterly as the GM of an airline which uses Hilton for crew hotels all over the world). I have to say that this experience is one of my most disappointing and will go some way to determining what association I have with Hilton in the future.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerEMA, Front Office Manager at Hilton East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for giving us your feedback and also for sharing your experience with me when we spoke on the phone.

Once again, please accept our apologies for what was not a good experience for yourself and also out of keeping with our Hilton tradition of friendly and proactive customer service.

I am grateful to you for insights into our profession of caring for our guests and taking guest engagement to the next level.

Look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2014

we found this hotel excellent and had over night say for before hoilday the staff was so helpful and excellent value . The room were vey good food was excellent and good value and excellent service the location was great for the airport and the transfer was excellent

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank B P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Decent enough hotel, restaurant meal fine, room amenities as expected for a hilton but the worst bed I have ever slept on! Box sprung mattress, noisy and so uncomfortable. My husband and I got very little sleep and I had a very bad back as a result. I was very disappointed. The reason you book a hotel is for the bed and this was terrible! I don't like to complain but really felt I had to on this occasion

Room Tip: Avoid room 310
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chocco148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
419 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

We booked an overnight stay, park & fly with Holiday Extras & got a fantastic deal by opting for the Mystery Hotel We had a lovely, well appointed room, with great toiletries. The bar/ lounge area was a good place to relax with a drink We did not eat here but the bar food looked good quality & portion size. Food & drink is on the expensive side though. The park & fly car park is on grass, which could cause a problem in wet conditions. Nevertheless, our transfer to & from the airport was on time & with a very courteous driver who helped us with our luggage. This was a great start to our holiday & we would definitely use this hotel again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2014

First of all, there is no free internet access. This is annoying at a business oriented property such as this. My disappointment started from the moment my wife and I went to check in. I had previously rung the Hilton international reservation centre (United States?) to ask if they could ensure that a double room was requested. They said it needed to be requested through Hhonors as I had booked the room with a voucher. Hhonours, however was not open till 12 midday as they operate on USA central time office hours. I explained that I would not be able to call during the day and only early morning so the agent said they would do what they could to request a double room. On arrival at the hotel we were offered a twin room. I asked about moving to a double and the check-in agent told me that she had a double room but that I would need to pay an upgrade fee. I asked if there was anything she could do on the basis of being a silver member and that I had attempted to make arrangements via the call centre. The agent repeatedly said that there were, "no notes in the booking" and that I should have called the hotel directly, not reservations. I explained that I would have thought that the reservations agent might have told me that. She just shrugged and said that it was, "your choice" to stay in a twin room or pay an upgrade. I am disappointed by this attitude and lack of an attempt to recover the service failure I had experienced. It is the **way** I was dealt with that was most upsetting. We finally agreed to pay an upgrade fee so that we had a double bed (!) and were told there would be an 'upgrade package' in the room. This consisted of a miniature bottle of wine with one glass, a small jar of nuts and some jelly beans. There were two of us. The room attendant came with another small bottle of wine but saw the existing one and said, "you cant have two" and took it away again! So an upgrade package was provided that could only be enjoyed by one of the people in the room? Another service failure I feel. We decided to make a cup of tea instead. Unfortunately the milk capsules in the room were out of date and putrid. Called to reception for replacements which came. On checking the dates of the replaced milk, the were also out of date! Opened one and again it was soured. Called reception again. A few minutes later they said they had checked all the milk in their store and it was, "all out of date". They suggested they bring a jug of milk. I asked if the fridge in the room could be used to store it so that we had milk for the morning. I was told no and the only option offered was a bucket of ice on which to place the jug of milk! I was not made aware at any point during the booking process -that I would be required to pay £5.00 for parking at the hotel. I queried this at check-in and was told, "Well, it must have said it somewhere on the booking and anyway, you're lucky really because if you weren't staying here you would have had to pay about £25.00". Not exactly the customer-friendly response I would describe as helpful. I have stayed in Hilton properties all over the world and worked in the travel and tourism industry for more than 20 years (latterly as the GM of an airline which uses Hilton for crew hotels all over the world). I have to say that this experience is one of my most disappointing and will go some way to determining what association I have with Hilton in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
241 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

After reading other reviews I feel a little out of sync with others. The hotel was opened in1990 and in my opinion has not been upgraded since then. The reception area is like a motorway service station as it is used for many meetings and is not an area to relax. The room I had badly needed attention. The bed was the worst I have ever slept in including blood stained linen. Why would anyone put these on a bed? The room needed a coat of paint and some modern furnishings. The food was just ok but overall the service from the staff is excellent. That's how I saw it .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justturned25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Donington
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport
0.9 mi away
Best Western Premier East Midlands Airport Yew Lodge Hotel
1.8 mi away
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
#6 of 7 in Castle Donington
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport
Holiday Inn Express East Midland...
#4 of 7 in Castle Donington
580 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Priest House by the River
The Priest House by the River
#5 of 7 in Castle Donington
731 reviews
3.4 mi away
Days Inn Donington A50
Days Inn Donington A50
#1 of 1 in Shardlow
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton East Midlands Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton East Midlands Airport

Property: Hilton East Midlands Airport
Address: Junction 24, M1, Derby Road, Castle Donington DE74 2YW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Castle Donington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Castle Donington
#2 Family Hotel in Castle Donington
#4 Business Hotel in Castle Donington
#4 Romantic Hotel in Castle Donington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton East Midlands Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IMPORTANT TRAVEL ADVICE: When travelling to the hotel and using a satnav, please search for the hotel name in the 'points of interest' or 'hotel search' section of your device. The reason is the hotel postcode covers such a large area that it can be imprecise on some devices. Please also note that if your satnav's maps are not up to date this can also cause misguidance, especially on tomtom devices. We strongly advise you to refer to our directions page on the hotel website ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton EMEA, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton East Midlands Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton East Midlands Airport Hotel Castle Donington
Hilton Hotel Derby
Hilton Derby
Derby Hilton
Hilton East Midlands Airport Castle Donington, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing