We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unreliable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton East Midlands Airport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed here the night before we flew on holiday,we booked the park and stay option,which was a good price,once we found the hotel we ended up in the overspill car park which wasn't very good for parking at all,our room was fine nothin exceptional but was fine for an overnight stay,we had a couple of drinks in the bar which were very expensive! The service on reception was good. We were taken to the airport terminal the morning after,and told how to get back there when we returned.on our return we rang the hotel to say we were waiting to be picked up,we were told he was already on his way and would be 10 mins,after a 35 min wait including another phone call we were told to go to the taxi office where alternative transport would be arranged, after another 10 mins and finding a group of people who had been waiting longer than us and had a small child,we all finally got in a taxi to take us back to the hotel!! We won't be using this hotel again,it is unacceptable to be kept waiting that long for what is only a 10 minute journey,the Hilton has definitely lost out as there was 7 disgruntled customers.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerEMA, Front Office Manager at Hilton East Midlands Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for giving us your feedback; this is genuinely appreciated as it allows us to improve our services in line with our guests expectations.

Please accept our apologies that your return transfer was not ideal and based on your comments our procedures have been reviewed and measures have been put in place to ensure that no one has to wait for longer than the agreed waiting period of 25 minutes from the time luggage has been collected . Our primary transfer vehicle is the Hilton minibus and this is supplemented by Arrow cars, our dedicated Taxi supplier based at the airport, located inside the arrival hall itself.

The Hilton Minibus takes about 20 minutes, weather and traffic permitting, on a return trip to the airport. Our drivers are instructed to meet all our guests waiting at the information desk and if there are more than can be accommodated in the minibus, then the driver will request the guests if they can be collected on the next trip. We understand that some guests have small children or elderly parents or long journeys ahead and the driver uses his discretion to get them taxis straightaway rather than have them wait for the next minibus.

We do appreciate that guests just want to get home after a long flight and we will do everything possible to make this a happy experience for them.

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hilton East Midlands and we do hope that you will stay again.

kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,781)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,091 - 1,097 of 1,781 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

We did the hotel and park for 16 nights with transfers to airport and pick up included. Checked in great no problems, room large and everything you needed, bed comfy and big. Had the evening meal included which was excellent and so was the breakfast. Transfers to the airport by mini bus again no problems, so very impressed by everything up to the pick up from airport and then it went down hill! We called the number as explained by the hotel, told to go to the desk to Waite for our driver, we expected a mini bus as this is what dropped us off, there was also anther couple waiting, I hasten to add this was 2am in the morning, so we waited and waited, a gentleman arrived and sat in the waiting area with us, after about 15 mins he received a text message, he then walked over to the desk to be told by the gentleman that already knew we were waiting for the transfer, that he needed to transfer us to the hotel they then proceeded to disagree weather he could fit all 4 of us and luggage in the taxi! Well you can imagine our surprise, firstly, why had we waited so long for him to take us the whole process was unbelievable so after about 25 mins we actually set off to the hotel, I would not recommend this service, it was unprofessional, slow and at 2am in the morning the last thing we needed, a real shame as we would defiantly have used this hotel again but after that we would not.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerEMA, Front Office Manager at Hilton East Midlands Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for giving us your feedback; this is genuinely appreciated as it allows us to improve our services in line with our guests expectations.

Please accept our apologies that your return transfer was not the best; based on your feedback there may have been a misunderstanding about your return transfer.

We give all our guests a welcome letter explaining how the return transfer works; In the first place the pick up is done by the minibus, in which case the meeting point is the information desk inside the arrivals; In the second place the pick up is done by Arrow cars - the guests then need to go to the Arrow taxi desk and confirm their name; the Taxi desk will already have the guests name on a list faxed to them earlier; if there is any confusion the taxi company calls the hotel directly to clarify. They will then proceed to bring our guests back to the hotel.

Again, we're sorry if this did not happen for you and we have instructed the taxi company to be more mindful of our guests and give them the very best attention.

kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My partner and I stayed at The Hilton for one night prior to flying from East Midlands Airport. We felt the nights stay and 2 weeks car parking was reasonable value.

Although the room was spacious and in a quiet part of the hotel the decor was rather drab which, along with the dark coloured furniture, gave it an oppressive air. There was also an unpleasant odour in the bathroom which we identified to be due to a sour smelling shower curtain.

The bar and restaurant prices are extortionate.

Food and drink service was slow and both were served by disinterested staff with very little experience in the hospitality business.

After our main course we asked to see the desert menu. Fifteen minutes later we were still waiting so my partner went to the Maître D' desk to get one only to find the pages completely blank when he opened it! The event may have been amusing if we had not had to pay almost £60 for the meal.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerEMA, Front Office Manager at Hilton East Midlands Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for giving us your feedback; this is sincerely appreciated as it enables us to improve our service and offering in line with our guests expectations.

While ours is not the newest hotel in the market, we pride ourselves on our standards of hygiene and cleanliness; please accept our apologies if this wasn't the case on this occasion. Additionally based on customer response we have now allocated a budget for refurbishment of an entire bed room floor to be completed by the end of this year.

We are bent on improving our dining experience for our guests and to this end we have now completely changed the way we manage the restaurant and lounge. There is the 'One Menu Multiple Choices' offering in both areas, so one has the option of enjoying all their favourite meals at family friendly prices in a formal or an informal setting.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We come here a lot to see an elderly member of our family who lives in Nottingham. We bring two young children who love the swimming pool. It is easy to find and good value for money - extremely good when there is a promotion. The restaurant food is good value for the family when you purchase a meal voucher upon arrival but quality a little variable. Car parking is good but should be free for customers.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The room in this hotel was good but the bar prices were ridiculous - £11.50 for a glass of very standard bar white wine We stayed here for the efficient airport shuttle bus but on out return we waited 50 minutes for it to arrive - not so efficient!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

No problems with hotel but return airport pick up abysmal, had to wait nearly an hour for bus.Contacted hotel after waiting over half hour, not interested ! The first time we used this service we had no problem at all. In January we called hotel for pick up and phone was not answered had to use taxi to get back to hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ghw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerEMA, Front Office Manager at Hilton East Midlands Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you for sharing your experience about your return transfer with us.

Based on your feedback we have reviewed our procedures and put in place measures to ensure a smooth and hassle free journey for our guests back home

kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

An excellent service and great value. We were catered for very well. The hotel staff were very professional and helpful. The airport transfers were also excellent with two polite drivers who were waiting for us at the stated time. I would recommend this package and will use again. Well done Hilton.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank jessieBarnsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Donington
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport
1.8 mi away
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
#5 of 7 in Castle Donington
451 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport
Holiday Inn Express East Midland...
#4 of 7 in Castle Donington
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Premier East Midlands Airport Yew Lodge Hotel
1.7 mi away
Travelodge Nottingham EM Airport Donington Park M1
10.2 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton East Midlands Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton East Midlands Airport

Address: Junction 24, M1, Derby Road, Castle Donington DE74 2YW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Castle Donington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Castle Donington
#2 Family Hotel in Castle Donington
#4 Romantic Hotel in Castle Donington
#4 Business Hotel in Castle Donington
Price Range: £61 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton East Midlands Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IMPORTANT TRAVEL ADVICE: When travelling to the hotel and using a satnav, please search for the hotel name in the 'points of interest' or 'hotel search' section of your device. The reason is the hotel postcode covers such a large area that it can be imprecise on some devices. Please also note that if your satnav's maps are not up to date this can also cause misguidance, especially on tomtom devices. We strongly advise you to refer to our directions page on the hotel website ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton East Midlands Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton East Midlands Airport Hotel Castle Donington
Hilton Hotel Derby
Hilton Derby
Derby Hilton
Hilton East Midlands Airport Castle Donington, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing