We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton East Midlands Airport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hilton East Midlands Airport
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
237 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Decent hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on business and was pleasantly surprised. Very nice room and very friendly welcome. Wifi was a bit suspect but it muddled through eventually. Useful location just off the motorway. Would return. Breakfast was average but again, friendly welcome. Get there early to ensure you get a parking space as lots of holiday goers use it for somewhere to leave their car

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,571 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    650
    563
    196
    111
    51
See reviews for
422
591
53
326
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newton Abbot UK
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Stopped here en route to the North. This is the sort of place that it does what it says on the tin. Room was comfortable and had two chairs to sit on! Usually these places have one chair and an office chair. Efficient check in,obliging staff. Used the leisure facilities. These were good, pool of good size and gym and leisure extras such as sauna,jacuzzi and spa were clean and well maintained. Nice touch to have fresh juice and croissants for the use of their customers. Breakfast with freshly cooked eggs and usual fare in good surroundings. We had a room at the back and although some reviews have talked about noise this was a very quiet area. Instructions to get to the hotel using POI the satnav not too good. If using Tomtom it tries to take you back on the motorway at this exit, luckily we took the A50 exit from the roundabout and found an entrance to the right off the dual carriageway. We liked the hotel and would stay again, sadly they do hammer you at the bar price wise. We did not eat but when we do at the Hilton we avoid the wine list. I have paid less in 4* country hotels for a bottle of wine from their main wine list than for a bottle of Hilton house plonk!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PaulJ010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerEMA, Front Office Manager at Hilton East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for giving us your feedback through Trip Advisor; this is genuinely appreciated as is enables us to see how we are doing through the public eye.

We're grateful for the all positives you've mentioned and are reviewing our bar prices in line with customer feedback and also the local competition.

As you mentioned using a Sat Nav will bring you to the area and then we ask that you use the directions that we have posted on the website. Because we are located at the roundabout of the M1 and can be accessed by both Jct 24 and Jct 24A, some Sat Nav's tend to be miss out at the very end. As with everything electronic, we just need to mindful and use our discretion.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed prior to an holiday very good value with parking included. Rooms were big and quiet really comfy bed and pillows. Staff were all friendly and drinks typical hotel prices (expensive!) but we were on holiday. Transfers were great both ways really friendly helpful driver. We left flight details and he was waiting for us in arrivals. Nothing to fault well worth it for extra hours in bed

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerEMA, Front Office Manager at Hilton East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for an excellent review of our hotel; this is sincerely appreciated.

Look forward to welcoming you back again.

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed at the Hilton the night before we flew to Madeira, leaving our car there for the week we were away. We were very impressed with the service we received. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. We didn't eat in the restaurant, having eaten on the journey there, but having looked at the menu we probably would if we stay there again, which we definitely will do if we fly from East Midlands Airport. We had no problem finding the hotel, the directions given to us when we booked were very clear and easy to follow. The only slight niggle was the journey back to the hotel after our holiday. There seemed to be a bit of confusion which taxi was taking us, as one driver insisted his car wasn't big enough to take four people plus suitcases (another couple were already waiting to be picked up). It was resolved easily though and we were soon back in our car and on the motorway home.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suzsull48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerEMA, Front Office Manager at Hilton East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor and for giving us a 5 star rating; this is sincerely appreciated.

Look forward to welcoming you back again.

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hambleton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

You may feel that spending £1300 per couple for 3 nights in the Hilton with 3 days Downlaod tickets is expensive and yes it is but for a hassle free stay its well worth it. We cannot fault the hotel at all. Clean rooms, exceptionally friendly and helpful staff ( even down to house keeping ). Not sure if there are different size rooms but we were in a Club Room which was far bigger than other hotel rooms having a big bed and also plenty of room for a 2 seat sofa, table, etc. TV was a bit small though. Breakfast was really good with freshly made fried eggs and buffet style full english. Our only gripe was the cost of the food on the bar menu but having said that it was midnight. Would we stay again? Yes. Definitely.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Darren N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerEMA, Front Office Manager at Hilton East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest,

That you so much for such a brilliant review and for the 5 star rating on Trip Advisor

Look forward to seeing you again at Download 2015

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
249 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed here the night before we flew on holiday,we booked the park and stay option,which was a good price,once we found the hotel we ended up in the overspill car park which wasn't very good for parking at all,our room was fine nothin exceptional but was fine for an overnight stay,we had a couple of drinks in the bar which were very expensive! The service on reception was good. We were taken to the airport terminal the morning after,and told how to get back there when we returned.on our return we rang the hotel to say we were waiting to be picked up,we were told he was already on his way and would be 10 mins,after a 35 min wait including another phone call we were told to go to the taxi office where alternative transport would be arranged, after another 10 mins and finding a group of people who had been waiting longer than us and had a small child,we all finally got in a taxi to take us back to the hotel!! We won't be using this hotel again,it is unacceptable to be kept waiting that long for what is only a 10 minute journey,the Hilton has definitely lost out as there was 7 disgruntled customers.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerEMA, Front Office Manager at Hilton East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for giving us your feedback; this is genuinely appreciated as it allows us to improve our services in line with our guests expectations.

Please accept our apologies that your return transfer was not ideal and based on your comments our procedures have been reviewed and measures have been put in place to ensure that no one has to wait for longer than the agreed waiting period of 25 minutes from the time luggage has been collected . Our primary transfer vehicle is the Hilton minibus and this is supplemented by Arrow cars, our dedicated Taxi supplier based at the airport, located inside the arrival hall itself.

The Hilton Minibus takes about 20 minutes, weather and traffic permitting, on a return trip to the airport. Our drivers are instructed to meet all our guests waiting at the information desk and if there are more than can be accommodated in the minibus, then the driver will request the guests if they can be collected on the next trip. We understand that some guests have small children or elderly parents or long journeys ahead and the driver uses his discretion to get them taxis straightaway rather than have them wait for the next minibus.

We do appreciate that guests just want to get home after a long flight and we will do everything possible to make this a happy experience for them.

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hilton East Midlands and we do hope that you will stay again.

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We did the hotel and park for 16 nights with transfers to airport and pick up included. Checked in great no problems, room large and everything you needed, bed comfy and big. Had the evening meal included which was excellent and so was the breakfast. Transfers to the airport by mini bus again no problems, so very impressed by everything up to the pick up from airport and then it went down hill! We called the number as explained by the hotel, told to go to the desk to Waite for our driver, we expected a mini bus as this is what dropped us off, there was also anther couple waiting, I hasten to add this was 2am in the morning, so we waited and waited, a gentleman arrived and sat in the waiting area with us, after about 15 mins he received a text message, he then walked over to the desk to be told by the gentleman that already knew we were waiting for the transfer, that he needed to transfer us to the hotel they then proceeded to disagree weather he could fit all 4 of us and luggage in the taxi! Well you can imagine our surprise, firstly, why had we waited so long for him to take us the whole process was unbelievable so after about 25 mins we actually set off to the hotel, I would not recommend this service, it was unprofessional, slow and at 2am in the morning the last thing we needed, a real shame as we would defiantly have used this hotel again but after that we would not.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerEMA, Front Office Manager at Hilton East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for giving us your feedback; this is genuinely appreciated as it allows us to improve our services in line with our guests expectations.

Please accept our apologies that your return transfer was not the best; based on your feedback there may have been a misunderstanding about your return transfer.

We give all our guests a welcome letter explaining how the return transfer works; In the first place the pick up is done by the minibus, in which case the meeting point is the information desk inside the arrivals; In the second place the pick up is done by Arrow cars - the guests then need to go to the Arrow taxi desk and confirm their name; the Taxi desk will already have the guests name on a list faxed to them earlier; if there is any confusion the taxi company calls the hotel directly to clarify. They will then proceed to bring our guests back to the hotel.

Again, we're sorry if this did not happen for you and we have instructed the taxi company to be more mindful of our guests and give them the very best attention.

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Donington
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport
1.8 mi away
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
#6 of 8 in Castle Donington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport
Holiday Inn Express East Midland...
#5 of 8 in Castle Donington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Premier East Midlands Airport Yew Lodge Hotel
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn East Midlands Airport Hotel
Premier Inn East Midlands Airpor...
#3 of 8 in Castle Donington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Priest House by the River
The Priest House by the River
#4 of 8 in Castle Donington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton East Midlands Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton East Midlands Airport

Property: Hilton East Midlands Airport
Address: Junction 24, M1, Derby Road, Castle Donington DE74 2YW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Castle Donington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Castle Donington
#3 Family Hotel in Castle Donington
#4 Business Hotel in Castle Donington
#4 Romantic Hotel in Castle Donington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton East Midlands Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IMPORTANT TRAVEL ADVICE: When travelling to the hotel and using a satnav, please search for the hotel name in the 'points of interest' or 'hotel search' section of your device. The reason is the hotel postcode covers such a large area that it can be imprecise on some devices. Please also note that if your satnav's maps are not up to date this can also cause misguidance, especially on tomtom devices. We strongly advise you to refer to our directions page on the hotel website ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton East Midlands Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton East Midlands Airport Hotel Castle Donington
Hilton Hotel Derby
Hilton Derby
Derby Hilton
Hilton East Midlands Airport Castle Donington, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing