We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Just returned from 3 days for the Download festival at Donnington.The hotel is clean and very modern.The twin room we had was fantastic and all other facilities in the hotel were all equally as good.The staff at this hotel were all more than happy to help during our stay/fantastic.
We have booked for next years festival already.
This is by far the best hotel in the area.

Room Tip: All rooms look great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EB1WestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 June 2012

Thank you for your great review on Trip Advisor. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back for Download next year.

Kind Regards
Emma Fairhurst - Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,513)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,429 - 1,435 of 1,513 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2012

We stayed here for one night on the Download Festival weekend. I am very impressed with the hotel all the way from the spacious car park to the modern lobby and their excellent modern rooms.

We booked a standard double which came with a firm King size bed, fresh, crisp linens, a wonderful bathroom and extra space that you don't normally get with a standard room. Nearly everything has been thought out here. There are copious power points, excellent lighting, coffee and tea making facilities and large fluffy towels. The room was impeccably clean and wonderfully quiet. The only slight negative was that when you need to go to the bathroom at night, due to it having a window into the bedroom, even turning the floor light on meant that the bedroom was lit up more than it should be at 4am! Also, the water pressure from the ceiling shower was a little disappointing but certainly not the end of the world!

The only reason I knocked a star off this rating was for the rather cold and unwelcoming front desk staff. Both at check in and check out I found them to be very unfriendly. I wondered if it was because I was a 'festival goer' but looking at other reviews, it appears it may be their way. A shame really as this place is excellent apart from that.

We have already booked again for next year and rather than splitting our stay between this and another hotel, we will just be coming here.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buffgirl73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RBEMAOpsDirector, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.

I am so glad you enjoyed our rooms and have already booked to stay again next year!

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Emma Fairhurst - Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

I recently used this hotel / parking whilst going on holiday to Cancun.

The overnight stay was ok.

The bedroom was quite hot when we arrived, the air conditioning in the room was poor (It was the HOT weekend in May). The room just wouldn't cool down, and it wasn't possible to open the windows.

We ordered room service which was good quality, but quite pricey.

Couldn't take breakfast as we had to leave at 6:30 for the flight, i don't think breakfast started until 7:00, strange for a airport hotel.

Shuttle to the airport was ok, but the return shuttle journey wasn't so good. The mini-bus only has room for about 6 cases in the back, so it had to return to the hotel half empty of passengers as there was no luggage space. So it actually took 30 minutes from phoning the hotel to actually arriving at the hotel.

**The Hilton minibus has a much larger luggage area**

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marksmith34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RBEMAOpsDirector, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.

Please accept our apologies for the problems you encountered with our air handling units in the bedrooms. We are aware of this issue and have a team of engineers on site to resolve this issue as quickly as possible for the comfort of our guests.

Following feedback from our guests, we have changed our breakfast opening times across the week to 6.30am, to enable our guests to enjoy breakfast before an early morning flight. We also provide a Grab and Run breakfast from 3.30am - 6.30am for our guests who are leaving very early.

Our mini bus is a 12 seater mini bus with a luggage compartment, that is currently the largest of this type that can be bought in the UK, as our hotel gets busier however we are considering purchasing a trailer for guests luggage.

Kind Regards
Emma Fairhurst - Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

This hotel is a great base if you are flying from East Midlands. The rooms are of a very good modern standard with excellent facilities. We ate in the restaurant and had a top quality 3 course meal at reasonable prices for a hotel restaurant. The service by our waitress Olivia was very good and attentive. The shuttle service to the airport was quick and efficient both ways with the driver being very friendly and knowledgeable.

We would defiantly stay here again when using the airport

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thl1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RBEMAOpsDirector, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2012

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor, I will ensure that I pass your comments on to all of the team and especially to Olivia.

We look forward to seeing you again the next time you fly from East Midlands Airport.

Kind Regards
Emma Fairhurst - Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Stayed here for one night on business, towards the end of May. Relatively new hotel which is clean and modern. Efficient check-in and into the room in less than 5 minutes. Great room with walk-in shower (choice offered of this or bath at check in). Clean and modern room with big TV and free wi-fi.

Ordered room service which was reasonably priced and was a large portion. Arrived within 30 minutes and also got a call to inform me it was on its way - brilliant!

Only gripe was the air conditioning which wasn't the best considering this is a new hotel, the unit looked dated and didn't work brilliantly which wasn't great considering I stayed in late May when the weather was (briefly) warm!

Didn't have time to use the leisure facilities as arrived late and had to leave early but looked good from the outside.

Breakfast was excellent - buffet with plenty of choice of hot/cold offerings and tasty muffins (highly recommend you make room for one!). Service was friendly and efficient. Check out was also a breeze.

Highly recommended if you are flying out of EMA or on business as right next to the runway (though minimal noise from the planes as well insulated if you get a room overlooking the airport)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PetePHughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RBEMAOpsDirector, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2012

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and therefore took the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.

It's great to hear when we're getting it right and that the service you received from check in to your Super Breakfast the next morning was a brilliant experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Emma Fairhurst - Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Booked their fly and stay package for 1nt at the hotel followed by car parking whilst we went away on holiday. On arrival We found the hotel to be very pleasant and modern with it recently opening. On arrival the receptionist was very nice nothing too much trouble and gave all the information we required.We were allocated our room and I must admit it had the wow factor about it, Nothing more that you could want in a room and we could see the runway from our room although you could hear aircraft noise it wasnt intrusive.Next came the free transfer and this was done via airport taxi on the outbound journey and via the hotels shuttle minibus on the return. The chap who collected us on our return James I think it was is a star and very caring about his work Top marks for him. All in All fantastic value and a service I will use again.

Many thanks Raddison Team

Room Tip: Make sure if you use the fly and stay package that you note down the number for your return. You do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolidayTeamYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RBEMAOpsDirector, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2012

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. I am so pleased that the team here really took care of you and that you got to enjoy one of our fantastic Runway view rooms!

Kind Regards
Emma Fairhurst - Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

We had the best night here before flying off to Dubrovnik. We were able to park our car here for the 8 days we were away. The parking was in the main car park which made for an easy getaway on our return. We had the use of the hotel pool, sauna and gym and were provided with a courtesy cake and drink which were served in the bar area. We had a lovely modern room and enjoyed an in house movie as well as a complimentary breakfast. As we were leaving really early it was just a coffee and fruit bar which was fine. They arranged a taxi to take us and on returning to the airport it was a 2 minute walk from the departure door to a taxi they have arranged for us. It was perfect. Would consider staying for the weekend as it was so easy and so relaxing and nothing was too much trouble for the check in staff and bar staff we encountered. The Best stop over option ever. Well done Radisson

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the entrance but we did not hear a thing not even any aircraft noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank p.m.s.norton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RBEMAOpsDirector, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2012

Thank you for your great feedback following your visit to our hotel, I was delighted to read that you had such good visit and we really WOW'd you!

It is so gratifying to hear that we are getting it right for our guests and I will ensure I pass your comments on to all of the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind Regards
Emma Fairhurst - Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Donington
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
#5 of 7 in Castle Donington
391 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton East Midlands Airport
Hilton East Midlands Airport
#3 of 7 in Castle Donington
1,745 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport
Holiday Inn Express East Midland...
#4 of 7 in Castle Donington
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Priest House by the River
The Priest House by the River
#6 of 7 in Castle Donington
795 reviews
1.7 mi away
Donington Manor Hotel
Donington Manor Hotel
#7 of 7 in Castle Donington
322 reviews
11.2 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport

Address: Herald Way, Pegasus Business Park | East Midlands Airport, Castle Donington DE74 2TZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Castle Donington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Castle Donington
#1 Luxury Hotel in Castle Donington
#1 Family Hotel in Castle Donington
#1 Business Hotel in Castle Donington
Price Range: £66 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2016 LUXURY AIRPORT HOTEL OF THE YEAR, AWARDED BY THE LUXURY TRAVEL GUIDE. Offering easy access to East Midlands Airport the new Radisson Blu Hotel is an excellent base for the discerning traveller. Stylish rooms and a first-class conference centre are offered alongside extensive dining options and excellent leisure facilities making it the preferred place to stay for business and leisure guests alike. Rooms: The hotel's 218 contemporary guest rooms are tastefully and stylishly designed with luxury and comfort in mind. With a selection of standard rooms, business class rooms and suites attention to detail is evident throughout. All rooms feature air conditioning, tea and coffee making facilities along with 38 inch flat screen televisions and free high speed internet access. Business class rooms and Suites feature extra amenities such as Nespresso(R) coffee machines and free movies. Dining: With an extensive brasserie style menu providing international cuisine choice will be paramount. Guests will be offered a variety of dishes and can choose to dine in the restaurant, lounge or bar. The Radisson Blu East Midlands Airport considers breakfast to be the most important meal of the day and offers a Super Breakfast concept which includes a large range of continental and English options to satisfy all tastes. Meetings & Events: Combining state of the art meeting facilities with an excellent convenient location for business travellers or local businesses the Radisson Blu East Midlands Airport is already a sought after conference venue. Ideal for hosting events ranging from international conferences to intimate banquets the hotel's 9 flexible meeting rooms can cater for 400 delegates in the largest suite. Services: Guests can enjoy the facilities of the onsite gym with all the latest high tech equipment. The swimming pool and spa area will provide relaxation after a hectic day. Free High speed internet access will be available throughout the hotel, outdoor parking, 24 hour room service and guest laundry service. Location: Offering prime location minutes from East Midlands Airport the Radisson Blu Hotel is in the heart of the East Midlands. The nearby M1 and M42 Motorways create easy access to local cities such as Derby, Nottingham and Leicester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rezidor, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport Hotel Castle Donington
Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport Castle Donington, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing