We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Regular stayer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 December 2012

I frequently stay at this hotel and am more than happy with each experience. Staff are helpful, lounge area is comfortable and the bedrooms are lovely. There is a choice of either a bath or a walk-in shower so everyone can be comfortable.

Some things do go wrong, however in my experience the staff work hard to resolve any issues.

Myself and a number of colleagues have changed our regular hotel to Radisson Blu as the difference is so great.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gers26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RBEMAOpsDirector, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2013

Dear Gers26,

Thank you for your fantastic review on Trip Advisor.

One of of the best parts of our job is seeing our regular guests keep coming back.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Emma Fairhurst - Director of Operations
emma.fairhurst@radissonblu.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,527)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,341 - 1,347 of 1,527 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2012

The hotel is obviously very new, is large and modern in design. We stayed just one night as part of a fly and stay package. We arrived at around 1am so had no chance to sample the restaurant. The reception staff were polite and helpful. The rooms are stylish and modern and offer all the facilities one could want from a business type hotel. It suited us admirably.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mentorex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RBEMAOpsDirector, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2013

Dear Mentorex,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.

We love to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Emma Fairhurst - Director of Operations
emma.fairhurst@radissonblu.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

I stayed here in September on business as we were using some conference facilities nearby. As far as airport hotels go (and this one is right next to the airport) for the money it was superb. Recently built and finished it had a real modern and contemporary feel to it. The main reception area was a couple of check in desks and then there was a really nice bar next to it.

We ran out of time in the facility where we were holding our conference and they let us use one of their conference rooms free of charge which was a great gesture. It was a lovely panelled room with a good quality projector and refreshments.

The room was fantastic and well above what you would expect for £100 a night. Very modern, and spacious, good TV and great bathroom. There was a nice seating / work area and the shower was superb. Very comfy bed and nice linen.

We also had dinner in the hotel that night and whilst it was dear in comparison to what you would get in a restaurant the food was well cooked and presented. Breakfast was similar with a small but good buffet in the morning.

All of the staff did a good job of making you feel welcome.

This would make an ideal start to any holiday, or an overnight business hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flumph77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RBEMAOpsDirector, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2013

Dear flumph77,

Thank you for your great review on Trip Advisor.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are visiting the area.

Kind Regards
Emma Fairhurst - Director of Operations
emma.fairhurst@radissonblu.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

This brand spanking new is still superb, best in the EMA area by far. Had an excellent 4th floor room, massively stylish, comfortable and functional.

The gym's not badly equipped, and great pool area too.

A problem that I faced here was that leaving the hotel at 4:30am both days for business, the ONLY breakfast option available to me at that time was a quite meagre offering of cereal bars and fruit in reception. I would really have appreaciated the ability to order room service breakfast at this time or to have access to a more substantial continental breakfast offering to set me up for the day.

I'll be staying again regardless as it's still the best, and most hotels are equally useless at catering for people up and about at this early hour, but I'd have thought plenty of airport travellers would often appreciate early morning breakfast options too..

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barnabybleach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RBEMAOpsDirector, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2013

Dear barnabybleach,

Thank you for your kind review on Trip Advisor.

Our grab and run breakfast is a complimentary offering to all our guests who leave before 6.30am. It is somethig however that we constantly monitor in order to give our guests the best experience.

Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Emma Fairhurst - Director of Operations
emma.fairhurst@radissonblu.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Wow, what a fantastic night! The team at Venue Options were all wowed by the excellent standards of service, food and entertainment on Saturday evening. As we all work in the industry, it is often difficult to be impressed, but we were impressed on many levels. The welcome to the hotel was excellent, we enjoyed a glass of champagne (or 2!) before being seated for dinner, the function room was presented very well and thankfully not too overcrowded, which hotels have a habit of doing to make more money. The food and service were both to be complimented, the team of staff were friendly and helpful and the entertainment was lots of fun! I think, whilst we would not care to admit it, most people cannot help singing along to ABBA and the dance floor was very busy! We all stayed over after the party, the rooms are lovely. Very spacious, the beds were so comfortable and the showers were amazing! I would certainly recommend this hotel. At Venue Options we book our clients in to this hotel almost every day of the year and I can confidently say, we never receive any complaints! Well done to all the team at the Radisson East Midlands Airport and thank you for a fantastic evening!

Room Tip: All rooms are of an excellent standard! You will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZoeatVOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Just attended a function at the Radisson blu hotel at the expense of £60. on arrival we was kept waiting for around 30 minutes before we was allowed into the function room. We was shuffled through to a bar where we was constantly asked if we wanted drinks which were VERY expensive. Having paid in advance for the tickets for an ABBA themed night, I would not have attended if I had known what the night had entailed. The staff were not very keen to assist. Felt we was treated like being in a cattle market. Seemed that all they was really concerned in was trying to make as much money as possible. The food was absolutely appalling, basically we paid £60 for a minature bernard mathews turkey roast with over cooked vegetables.... Feel really cheated as we was shown a menu that said there was going to be a `christmas` roast turkey dinner. I honestly would not have served the meal to my dog. I was so appalled at the meal-my colleague left the `processed roast beef` and most of the veg-it was inedible. I am honestly shocked at the quality of food from a `new` and quite expensive looking hotel-it has its own restaurant and I am sure that they don`t sell this quality of food there on a daily basis-only for functions where they can charge you in advance. By 10 o clock we had had enough and left without seeing the ABBA tribute and drove the twenty miles back home and had a cheese sandwich which to be honest was more satisfying. I have stayed in many budget hotels and sampled a much better quality of food and service. Shame on you Radisson management for being allowed to get away with this. Traveling from east midland airport frequently and staying in local hotels (Premier Inn-Holiday Inn which are situated within walking distance) with many of my colleagues I will most definitely NOT be recommending this hotel to my business associates (which I had planned to do) Will most definitely be emailing the hotels manager raising our concerns and disappointment.

Room Tip: Stay at the Premier Inn or Holiday Inn which are within walking distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank dannyboy003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel K, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2012

Dear Dannyboy2003

Since reading your review of our ABBA Christmas party I have investigated the issues raised in your review and spoken to both the staff on duty on the night and all other parties who attended the evening.

I am truly sorry that the event did not meet your expectations and can confirm the following in relation to the matters with which you were dissatisfied;

Dinner was served at 8pm as advertised in our Christmas brochure. Prior to this guests were welcome to make themselves comfortable and enjoy pre-dinner drinks in either our lobby bar or banqueting bar.

I’m sorry you feel our staff were overzealous in their endeavours to ensure swift and efficient drinks service, it is our policy that guests are served drinks to their table and should not need to visit the bar to purchase a drink. With regard to our bar prices they are regularly benchmarked against a number of high quality hotels across the East Midlands to ensure that they are very competitive.

It is dissappointing the food served on the evening was not to your taste but I can confirm that both the beef and turkey are prepared from fresh on the premises and we have received very positive feedback regarding the food quality from other guests who attended this event. We will continue to monitor feedback and if neccessary amend how these dishes are prepared.

I have spoken to all other groups who attended this event and without exception they have been most complimentary about the food, service and entertainment; which makes it even more disappointing that you did not enjoy your evening.

It is a shame you were not satisfied with your experience but I would welcome the opportunity to 'make it right' for you and to this end I would be very grateful if you would be kind enough to contact me at daniel.keane@radissonblu.com

I look forward to hearing from you in due course but in the meantime please accept my apologies once again.

Kind regards


Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Modern, freah and clean - a lovely hotel. Reception was inviting, giving a good first impression. My bedroom was delightful, with a very comfy bed, huge fluffy pillows, decent tv and divine shower. Good breakfast in a very nice dining area. Hope to be able to go back for another night! Unaware of any aircraft noise.
Nice conference facillities.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trish K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RBEMAOpsDirector, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2012

Dear Trish K,

Thank you for your excellent review on Trip Advisor.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind Regards
Emma Fairhurst - Director of Operations
emma.fairhurst@radissonblu.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Donington
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
#5 of 7 in Castle Donington
412 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton East Midlands Airport
Hilton East Midlands Airport
#2 of 7 in Castle Donington
1,758 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport
Holiday Inn Express East Midland...
#4 of 7 in Castle Donington
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Priest House by the River
The Priest House by the River
#6 of 7 in Castle Donington
798 reviews
1.7 mi away
Donington Manor Hotel
Donington Manor Hotel
#7 of 7 in Castle Donington
324 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Premier East Midlands Airport Yew Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport

Address: Herald Way, Pegasus Business Park | East Midlands Airport, Castle Donington DE74 2TZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Castle Donington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Castle Donington
#1 Family Hotel in Castle Donington
#1 Romantic Hotel in Castle Donington
#1 Luxury Hotel in Castle Donington
Price Range: £62 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2016 LUXURY AIRPORT HOTEL OF THE YEAR, AWARDED BY THE LUXURY TRAVEL GUIDE. Offering easy access to East Midlands Airport the new Radisson Blu Hotel is an excellent base for the discerning traveller. Stylish rooms and a first-class conference centre are offered alongside extensive dining options and excellent leisure facilities making it the preferred place to stay for business and leisure guests alike. Rooms: The hotel's 218 contemporary guest rooms are tastefully and stylishly designed with luxury and comfort in mind. With a selection of standard rooms, business class rooms and suites attention to detail is evident throughout. All rooms feature air conditioning, tea and coffee making facilities along with 38 inch flat screen televisions and free high speed internet access. Business class rooms and Suites feature extra amenities such as Nespresso(R) coffee machines and free movies. Dining: With an extensive brasserie style menu providing international cuisine choice will be paramount. Guests will be offered a variety of dishes and can choose to dine in the restaurant, lounge or bar. The Radisson Blu East Midlands Airport considers breakfast to be the most important meal of the day and offers a Super Breakfast concept which includes a large range of continental and English options to satisfy all tastes. Meetings & Events: Combining state of the art meeting facilities with an excellent convenient location for business travellers or local businesses the Radisson Blu East Midlands Airport is already a sought after conference venue. Ideal for hosting events ranging from international conferences to intimate banquets the hotel's 9 flexible meeting rooms can cater for 400 delegates in the largest suite. Services: Guests can enjoy the facilities of the onsite gym with all the latest high tech equipment. The swimming pool and spa area will provide relaxation after a hectic day. Free High speed internet access will be available throughout the hotel, outdoor parking, 24 hour room service and guest laundry service. Location: Offering prime location minutes from East Midlands Airport the Radisson Blu Hotel is in the heart of the East Midlands. The nearby M1 and M42 Motorways create easy access to local cities such as Derby, Nottingham and Leicester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rezidor, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport Hotel Castle Donington
Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport Castle Donington, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing