We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 13 January 2013

My husband and I have recently stayed at the Radisson Blu Hotel East Midlands airport as we were at a wedding at nearby Melbourne. I had reservations as its a big hotel and ... rght next to the airport. I need not have worred as I can genuinely say I never heard a plane whilst inside the hotel. We enjoyed the smartness of being in a bogger hotel - our room was kindly upgraded when we arrived. We have never had that experience and it made up for the fact our daughter should have been sharing the weekend but was too ill to travel.
The room was great - comfortable and very clean; nice toiletries and spacious. Breakfast was extra but we enjoyed the selection and staff were friendly and attentive. I would like to single out Sue at reception both days who was helpful in case we needed a taxi to get to the weddng venue and was appraochable and friendly. It makes all the difference to a stay especially at a larger hotel where staff may not feel like they can make the time - here they did.
Thank you. We hope to return when we visit Melbourne again - Sue ... remember to visit the Melbourne craft fair in September!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RBEMAOpsDirector, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
Dear Sue F,

Thank you for your fantastic review on Trip Advisor.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and I will of course pass on your very kind feedback to Sue on reception.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind Regards
Emma Fairhurst - Director of Operations
emma.fairhurst@radissonblu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    901
    426
    73
    22
    20
See reviews for
244
516
36
430
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

pre booked hotel for overnight with parking for early morning flight. Family Room superb, love the bathroom lighting and design. check in process very good with very personable staff. Bar Food was more than adequate, excellent quality. Car was left on site so no worries about anyone moving it whilst away. All in all will definitely stay here again if early flight is needed. Well Done Radisson this is how hotels should be.

Room Tip: I'm told some rooms overlook the runway, so if staying in the summer worth requesting, although...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidjcoupland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RBEMAOpsDirector, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
Dear Spireite1886,

Thank you for your great review on Trip Advisor.

It's great to hear that you had such a great stay before your flight.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Emma Fairhurst - Director of Operations
emma.fairhurst@radissonblu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as we had an early morning flight and wanted to start our trip early; proved to be a great decision.

Hotel is everything we expected from the reviews and photos. Immaculately decorated throughout, large room with everything we needed, bed was amazingly comfortable and view of the runway was a fun extra.

Free use of the hotel pool and sauna made our afternoon extremely relaxing.

We ate in the restaurant for dinner and again couldn't fault the surroundings or food. Set price menu was reasonably priced and food was gorgeous.

We were luckily enough to be there for the hotels anniversary of opening; complimentary prosecco and cupcakes were a pleasent surprise.

Shuttle service provided by the hotel was excellent and for just a few pounds got us to the airport in more than enough.

Overall would thoroughly reccomend this hotel for anybody travelling from EMA. Staff were all friendly and helpful and started our trip off perfectly.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy_Phal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RBEMAOpsDirector, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
Dear Andy_Phal,

Thank you for your great review on Trip Advisor.

We are so please that you enjoyed your stay, especially the cup cakes and prosecco for our anniversary celebrations!

We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are visiting the area.

Kind Regards
Emma Fairhurst - Director of Operations
emma.fairhurst@radissonblu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

A group of us stayed here over new year on a Country and Western break. The hotel is stunning, food fabulous, staff very helpful, no aircraft noise, great pool and fitness suite, if you dont like squashy huge feather pillows then take you own. fantastic value for money, vannot recommend enough. Hazel and Geoff Kidd, Buxton

Room Tip: if you can get a room at the front of the hotel you can watch the planes take off and land
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hazelandgeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RBEMAOpsDirector, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Dear hazelandgeoff,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review on Trip Advisor.

It's great to hear that you had such a fantastic time on the Country and Western weekend you attended here over New Year.

If you are attending the event this New Year, please let us know and we will happily arrange some non feather pillows for you.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Emma Fairhurst - Director of Operations
emma.fairhurst@radissonblu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, UK
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Me and my partner decided to book ourselves in to the Radisson Blu for new years eve (2012), and after our stay we can honestly say it's one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in.

The lady who was working on the reception desk was extremely friendly and upon check-in gave us a complementary free upgrade to a business suite. The room was clean and spacious, and the bed was very comfortable. We were overlooking the runway which gave us the best views because when midnight came we looked out of the window and in the skyline for miles we could see all the fireworks being set off, it was lovely to see.

We ate in the bar that evening due to the restaurant being used for a private function. The bar area had a great atmosphere with nice big comfy chairs, we felt like we could have sat there all evening. The food was great, we both decided to have a buttered chicken curry which I would recommend. The bar staff were very polite and attentive. Prices were expected for a restaurant with such high standards, we paid £13.50 for each of our meals and £10.60 for two alcoholic drinks (a southern comfort and lemonade, and a captain morgans and coke).

There were tea and coffee making facilities in the room, including a nespresso machine. The items in the mini bar were also complementary (still water, fizzy water, coke, budweiser), and there was also a mini bottle of red wine in the room too. A newspaper is also delivered to your door in the morning.

For breakfast we opted to have it delivered to our rooms. This was done by making the selection in the rooms on a card which is then hung outside the door to be collected by the staff. There is a tray charge of £3 to have it delivered which is payable upon check-out.

The car park costs £5 to stay in overnight which is also payable upon check-out. You will go through a barrier as you enter the carpark which will issue you with a ticket. Keep this and hand it in to reception as you leave and they will issue you with another ticket to use to get through the barrier on the way out.

Overall an excellent stay and would recommend this hotel to anyone. You are also able to use the pool facilities which we would have loved to try out if we were staying for longer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the runway for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LilP26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RBEMAOpsDirector, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Dear bugrach,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review on Trip Advisor!

We are so pleased that you had such a great New Year here. The views from the runway side of the building are superb and I'm sure the fire work display from the local area did not disappoint.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Emma Fairhurst - Director of Operations
emma.fairhurst@radissonblu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Lovely hotel, friendly and helpful staff. Great rooms and very clean. We came for a New year party but would definitely stay again if we were using the nearby airport. We also used the swimming pool and spa and were suitably impressed.. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff in the hotel and gym.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillyflower1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RBEMAOpsDirector, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
Dear Gillyflower1950,

Thank you so much for for your very kind review on Trip Advisor.

We love to hear when we're getting it right!

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Emma Fairhurst - Director of Operations
emma.fairhurst@radissonblu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012 via mobile

Great facilities

Friendly staff - The young woman on reception was training and couldn't locate my booking. Rather than being inpatient my partner and I had a bit of a giggle with her and a more experienced lady and they surprised us with an upgrade to business class. Very lovely thing to do!

Great room, huge walk in shower

Sauna and pool

Will most definitely return :-)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faye M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RBEMAOpsDirector, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
Dear Faye M,

Thank you for your fantastic review on Trip Advisor.

We love to be able to surprise and delight our guests and if we have the availability to upgrade our guests then we will try to do so!

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Emma Fairhurst - Director of Operations
emma.fairhurst@radissonblu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Donington
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
#6 of 7 in Castle Donington
266 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton East Midlands Airport
Hilton East Midlands Airport
#2 of 7 in Castle Donington
1,678 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport
Holiday Inn Express East Midland...
#3 of 7 in Castle Donington
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Best Western Premier East Midlands Airport Yew Lodge Hotel
3.3 mi away
The Priest House by the River
The Priest House by the River
#5 of 7 in Castle Donington
755 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Nottingham EM Airport Donington Park M1
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport
Address: Herald Way, Pegasus Business Park | East Midlands Airport, Castle Donington DE74 2TZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Castle Donington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Castle Donington
#1 Luxury Hotel in Castle Donington
#1 Family Hotel in Castle Donington
#1 Romantic Hotel in Castle Donington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2016 LUXURY AIRPORT HOTEL OF THE YEAR, AWARDED BY THE LUXURY TRAVEL GUIDE. Offering easy access to East Midlands Airport the new Radisson Blu Hotel is an excellent base for the discerning traveller. Stylish rooms and a first-class conference centre are offered alongside extensive dining options and excellent leisure facilities making it the preferred place to stay for business and leisure guests alike. Rooms: The hotel's 218 contemporary guest rooms are tastefully and stylishly designed with luxury and comfort in mind. With a selection of standard rooms, business class rooms and suites attention to detail is evident throughout. All rooms feature air conditioning, tea and coffee making facilities along with 38 inch flat screen televisions and free high speed internet access. Business class rooms and Suites feature extra amenities such as Nespresso(R) coffee machines and free movies. Dining: With an extensive brasserie style menu providing international cuisine choice will be paramount. Guests will be offered a variety of dishes and can choose to dine in the restaurant, lounge or bar. The Radisson Blu East Midlands Airport considers breakfast to be the most important meal of the day and offers a Super Breakfast concept which includes a large range of continental and English options to satisfy all tastes. Meetings & Events: Combining state of the art meeting facilities with an excellent convenient location for business travellers or local businesses the Radisson Blu East Midlands Airport is already a sought after conference venue. Ideal for hosting events ranging from international conferences to intimate banquets the hotel's 9 flexible meeting rooms can cater for 400 delegates in the largest suite. Services: Guests can enjoy the facilities of the onsite gym with all the latest high tech equipment. The swimming pool and spa area will provide relaxation after a hectic day. Free High speed internet access will be available throughout the hotel, outdoor parking, 24 hour room service and guest laundry service. Location: Offering prime location minutes from East Midlands Airport the Radisson Blu Hotel is in the heart of the East Midlands. The nearby M1 and M42 Motorways create easy access to local cities such as Derby, Nottingham and Leicester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Rezidor, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport Hotel Castle Donington
Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport Castle Donington, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing