We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel to start your trip in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport
Certificate of Excellence
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
556 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Nice hotel to start your trip in”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Positives: reasonably priced, food good ( I did send my fish back, but the chef apologised) and the staff were nice and friendly ( they gave us a free glass of bubbly as it was our anniversary)
Rooms were spacious, modern and clean

Negatives: none

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Superally2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KordulaS_13, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Dear Superally 2007,
We are very sorry to read about you menu experience in the restaurant, hopefully it didn’t spoil your stay with us not too much.
Our staff are great to pick up details as you anniversary and gave you a surprise & delight.
Please visit us again.

Kind regards
Kordula Schloesser – Operations Manager
Kordula.schloesser@radissonblu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    855
    402
    66
    21
    19
See reviews for
230
482
33
409
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

This was a very enjoyable stay. The hotel is beautifully designed - the public areas are open, light, and nicely decorated in a fresh, modern style. The room offered everything we needed, and we found the bed extremely comfortable and slept very well.
The pool and the fitness facilities looked very attractive, although we didn't use them on this occasion.
The breakfast buffet is varied, with something to appeal to most tastes.
The staff made us feel very welcome, and we will definitely use this hotel the next time we find ourselves in the area.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kenny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KordulaS_13, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Kenny A,
Thank you for your positive comments about your recent stay with us. We are proud to see that our employees made your time with us so unforgettable.
We are looking forward to welcome you again.

Kind regards
Kordula Schloesser – Operations Manager
Kordula.schloesser@radissonblu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

I stayed in the Radisson Blu for business for one night in November. I stay in quite a few hotels due to work and have been in other hotels around East Midlands airport before, but the Radisson is a very welcome sight.

Clean and very comfortable, I was gibes a staff rate which included breakfast and I found the breakfast itself extensive in a comfortable dining area.

Staff were friendly and professional

Highly recommended hotel

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oliver H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KordulaS_13, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Oliver H,
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for mention our Team Members they make the difference compare to the other hotels.
Please visit us again when you are in our area.

Kind regards
Kordula Schloesser – Operations Manager
Kordula.schloesser@radissonblu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

A modern, clean,well designed bedroom with a comfortable bed and good facilities. We reserved a package which included 15 days parking and free transfer to the airport about a km away. Free fast room wifi. I like the set up and would definitely use the hotel again for early morning flights out of East Midlands, avoiding early morning traffic and car park hassle.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WRB_Kawakuchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KordulaS_13, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear WRB_Kawakuchi,
Thank you very much for your good comments about your recent stay with us.
Hopefully we see you soon for your next holidays.

Kind regards
Kordula Schloesser – Operations Manager
Kordula.schloesser@radissonblu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

Great hotel. Very new, very funky. Rooms are excellent with some grate quirky features. Bed and pillows really comfortable and room was very quiet so slept well. Plenty of free on site parking and great reception from the free wifi throughout the hotel. Food was good and staff friendly. Only issue was the mobile phone reception - it was dreadful as in you had to walk several meters from the hotel before being able to make a call. I am on o2 and Virgin and both had the same problem. Presumably this is not a policy of the hotel so not sure what the problem is but it is very annoying when there on business.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KordulaS_13, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Nigel W,
Thank you very much for your honest feedback. We are working at the moment with our Owner to find a solution for the mobile signal. Because of the material they used to build the hotel, to protect the noise from the airport we have unfortunately this issue.
We hope we can welcome you again.

Kind regards
Kordula Schloesser – Operations Manager
Kordula.schloesser@radissonblu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
80 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Stayed here for a company conference venue. We had over 150 delegates at the conference, with about 80 staying over. Excellent choice of food provided for the lunch and evening meal, in the form of hot and cold plate buffets. We did rather over run the bar with staff staying with us til nearly 2am.
Rooms are very well appointed, large and comfortable, stylish design and decor. You may expect noise with it being close to the airport but never noticed anything untoward.

Huge comfortable bed with great linen and cushions to lounge on. Numerous lights and switches everywhere.
Only slight negative is the shower hose. I am over 6' and had to stoop quite a bit for the shower head to cover my head. Also, the shower wall bracket is not angled, so you can't just stand under the shower, you have to hose yourself down. This may be an 'eco' feature, which is all very well, but I would have preferred a choice.

Otherwise a top hotel in a very convenient location for the motorway and airport.
Would recommend for anyone who wants some affordable stylish, contemporary luxury.

There is also a pool and gym / health spa. These looked great, but I didnt get time to use them.

There is a large breakfast selection of continental and full cooked options, with a cook making omelettes to order.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark_Of_Loxley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KordulaS_13, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Mark_Of_Loxley,
Thank you very much for your recommendation. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
The shower/bath is set up with a rain shower head on the top and the manual hose shower.
We are very sorry that this set up is not perfect for you.
Hopefully you will visit us again.


Kind regards
Kordula Schloesser – Operations Manager
Kordula.schloesser@radissonblu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
On the move
Level Contributor
107 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Stayed here one night while travelling from Scotland to south coast of England. Very good location for such through travel just off M1 near Nottingham and it obviously serves people flying from East Midlands airport. Note that (presumably because of proximity to the airport) there are additional fees for parking.

Check-in was disappointing with no recognition of Club Carlson Concierge level status - no room upgrade offered nor welcome gift in room :-(

The building is very modern, clean and quiet - once inside you would never guess you were so close to the airport runway.

We had an excellent meal in the restaurant and shared a bottle of wine. The whole lot came to about £79, which I consider really good value. Staff in the restaurant were very good, providing the right level of attention without being intrusive.

We had breakfast in the morning before leaving. This was about the standard you would expect from a Radisson so I would say good but nothing special. On checking out they did not charge for breakfast - perhaps they finally recognised the Club Carlson Concierge status!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madmikeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KordulaS_13, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear madmikeb,
Thank you for your honest feedback about your stay. Please accept my sincere apologies that we didn’t recognise you as one of our highest Club Carlson level members on check-in.
We will re-train our Team to ensure we will deliver customer service which you can expect from a Radisson brand. It is nice to see that your Club Carlson level was recognised when you came to breakfast and I hope we made it right.
We hope it didn’t spoil your stay with us too much and we can welcome you again.

Kind regards
Kordula Schloesser – Operations Manager
Kordula.schloesser@radissonblu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Donington
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
#6 of 7 in Castle Donington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton East Midlands Airport
Hilton East Midlands Airport
#2 of 7 in Castle Donington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,598 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport
Holiday Inn Express East Midland...
#5 of 7 in Castle Donington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Best Western Premier East Midlands Airport Yew Lodge Hotel
3.3 mi away
The Priest House by the River
The Priest House by the River
#4 of 7 in Castle Donington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn East Midlands Airport Hotel
Premier Inn East Midlands Airpor...
#3 of 7 in Castle Donington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport
Address: Herald Way, Pegasus Business Park | East Midlands Airport, Castle Donington DE74 2TZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Castle Donington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Castle Donington
#1 Romantic Hotel in Castle Donington
#1 Business Hotel in Castle Donington
#1 Luxury Hotel in Castle Donington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2016 LUXURY AIRPORT HOTEL OF THE YEAR, AWARDED BY THE LUXURY TRAVEL GUIDE. Offering easy access to East Midlands Airport the new Radisson Blu Hotel is an excellent base for the discerning traveller. Stylish rooms and a first-class conference centre are offered alongside extensive dining options and excellent leisure facilities making it the preferred place to stay for business and leisure guests alike. Rooms: The hotel's 218 contemporary guest rooms are tastefully and stylishly designed with luxury and comfort in mind. With a selection of standard rooms, business class rooms and suites attention to detail is evident throughout. All rooms feature air conditioning, tea and coffee making facilities along with 38 inch flat screen televisions and free high speed internet access. Business class rooms and Suites feature extra amenities such as Nespresso(R) coffee machines and free movies. Dining: With an extensive brasserie style menu providing international cuisine choice will be paramount. Guests will be offered a variety of dishes and can choose to dine in the restaurant, lounge or bar. The Radisson Blu East Midlands Airport considers breakfast to be the most important meal of the day and offers a Super Breakfast concept which includes a large range of continental and English options to satisfy all tastes. Meetings & Events: Combining state of the art meeting facilities with an excellent convenient location for business travellers or local businesses the Radisson Blu East Midlands Airport is already a sought after conference venue. Ideal for hosting events ranging from international conferences to intimate banquets the hotel's 9 flexible meeting rooms can cater for 400 delegates in the largest suite. Services: Guests can enjoy the facilities of the onsite gym with all the latest high tech equipment. The swimming pool and spa area will provide relaxation after a hectic day. Free High speed internet access will be available throughout the hotel, outdoor parking, 24 hour room service and guest laundry service. Location: Offering prime location minutes from East Midlands Airport the Radisson Blu Hotel is in the heart of the East Midlands. The nearby M1 and M42 Motorways create easy access to local cities such as Derby, Nottingham and Leicester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Rezidor, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport Hotel Castle Donington
Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport Castle Donington, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing