We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2014

A top notch hotel and worth staying at when flying from the East Midlands Airport. The quality of the rooms and service was excellent - I would definitely recommend this hotel as one worthy of a visit. Also it is close to the M1 motorway and A500 dual carriage way so the road links are really good for getting around the region.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
Thank Phil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel K, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Hi Phil

Thank you very much for the 5 star review, really glad you enjoyed your stay.

Warm regards

Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,524)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,014 - 1,020 of 1,524 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

My transfer from the hotel to airport could have been better. They were aware I was disabled and had mobility problems, but they dropped me outside arrivals. For someone without mobility problems that would be ok, but it took me 20-25 minutes to walk to departures and when I did arrive I was in quite a lot of pain and extremely tired. When I had reported to the airport assistant desk I was told I could have gone into arrivals and they would have pushed me round to departures. At least I now know for next time.
The staff at the hotel were very helpful and polite when I arrived back 2 weeks later, they even carried my luggage up to my room.
The kettle in my room didn't work so I phoned down to reception to report it. 5 minutes later someone arrived and replaced the kettle for one that worked.
The bathroom was really nice and modern with a massive shower.
The bed was one of the best I have ever slept in. It was massive and the big bonus was that I had it all to myself.
Would I stop there again?.........YES I most definitely would.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rainbow1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel K, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Hi Rainbow

Thank you so much for the great review. I'm sorry your transfer could have been better, as you probably noticed there is a great deal of construction underway at the airport and our minibus route to and from departures changes regularly and although we do try to keep informed of the current best route we do occasionally get it wrong.

On a more positive note I'm pleased the service you received from our team was good and you enjoyed a good night's i our lovely king size bed. We regularly get asked where we purchase them.

Warm regards

Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed here as a family of 4 for one night in a junior suite.
The hotel has lovely decor - modern yet quirky. The rooms are just as pictured on the website - both kids shared the double sofa bed in the lounge area. My only criticism was the temperature of the room which was too hot despite knocking the temp down to low (there was no additional fan and unable to open a window).
Breakfast was lovely with great choice.The pool was very basic and uninteresting but served a purpose and the changing rooms far too small.
I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel K, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Hi Claire

Thanks for the great review, it is much appreciated.

Warm regards

Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed for one night, has everything you need and more. Nicely fitted clean modern rooms, good restaurant and bar and a pool as well. Prices were very competitive only downside is charging for parking.
Would use again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mart166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel K, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Hi Mart166

Thanks so much for the fabulous 5 star review, we're really grateful. We do have to charge for overnight car parking but try to keep it as reasonable as possible at only £5.

Warm regards

Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed at the Radisson Blu East Midlands Airport on the 7th May 2014 for 1 night, before travelling to Florida the next day. On arrival to the hotel the receptionist that checked us in was polite and efficient. He took all our flight details and details for the shuttle bus, telling us he had booked us in for 8:30am pick up on our return trip.
My hubby had paid to upgrade our room due to celebrating our 2nd wedding anniversary, so we stayed the night in a business class room. The room was super clean and very stylish, I could have quite happily spent my 2 week holiday in that hotel room! The hotel had also left us a card and complimentary drinks in our room, as congratulations for our wedding anniversary which was a nice touch. The room had a run way view which did not affect us noise wise, even when planes were taking off and landing.
Due to arriving late at the hotel we had already eaten and just wanted to relax before our forthcoming journey, so didn't have time to use any facilities. The communal areas did appear well kept though.
We used the free shuttle service to the airport, which we found efficient on our outbound journey. The shuttle was ready to take us as soon as we checked out at reception, and dropped us off outside the departure check in. On getting out of the mini bus the driver told us we'd be picked up in the same area, all going well so far...
On arrival back to the UK we made our way to where we had been dropped off to find no shuttle bus. A little worrying baring in mind we had been told we were booked in for 8:30am, as we were there at the correct time, so we thought we'd wait around for a few minutes. After a further 5 minutes waiting my hubby phoned the hotel, only to be told we were supposed to use the complimentary phoned inside the terminal (which we never saw) to phone through for the shuttle. Why were we not told this on check in or when we were dropped off? Also why book us in for 8:30am pick up, and take our flight details if we were never going to be picked up unless we phoned? When the shuttle finally reached us 10 minutes later we were told she had been waiting for us near arrivals (not what we had been told on departure!), but luckily she had drove around to departures as she couldn't find us. So be aware you MUST use the phone in the terminal, otherwise you'll be left waiting (not what we wanted after a 8.5 hour flight!)

I would have given the hotel a 5* review if it wasn't for the poor communication, which left us slightly disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spans88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel K, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Hi Spans88

Thanks for the very positive review despite the miscommunication with regard to your return transfer from the airport. We ask guests for their return flight details to get a general idea of the time they will require a transfer back to the hotel but as we can never tell how long it will take to clear passport control and baggage reclaim there is a Radisson Blu phone on the left as you exit the glass tunnel into the arrivals lounge so guests can call us when they require collecting. I'm sorry that this wasn't clearly explained to you by our Receptionist but pleased that the bus picked you up only 10 minutes after you called us.

On a positive note I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the anniversary card. Hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards

Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel was packed with motor racing fans and a Saturday night wedding. Sounds like a recipe for a noisy sleepless night or two. Not a bit of it. The management organisation was the best and the vast reception and bar area was busy but relaxed. The restaurant,equally busy,was calm,the service 100% and the food excellent. The bedroom was very well appointed, the bed comfortable and everthing spotless. Breakfasts were excellent. The car park was close and it's gated security a bonus. All this and the cost per night most reasonable. We will stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: Book well ahead if possible-- it's the best hotel in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tony-judd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel K, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Hi Tony

Thanks so much for the great 5 star review, it's really appreciated. I assume you were here for the World Superbike weekend wihch is really busy for us but I'm delighted that despite being so busy our food and service were of their usual high quality.

Pity the weather wasn't a bit better but maybe next year, hope to see you then if not before.

Warm regards

Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We always like to use park and fly when flying early morning and have stayed in various hotels.
The Radisson Blu, East Midlands Airport east a perfect choice,
New, modern, lovely well equipped room , nice atmosphere in the bar area and quick efficient check in.
The transfer to and from the airport was a smooth ,well organised journey, around 5 minutes!
We didn't eat at the hotel , so can't comment.
Will certainly use this hotel again, and can highly recommend it

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel K, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Hi Roger

Many thanks for the great 5 start review.

Warm regards

Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Donington
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
#5 of 7 in Castle Donington
409 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton East Midlands Airport
Hilton East Midlands Airport
#2 of 7 in Castle Donington
1,757 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport
Holiday Inn Express East Midland...
#4 of 7 in Castle Donington
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Priest House by the River
The Priest House by the River
#6 of 7 in Castle Donington
796 reviews
1.7 mi away
Donington Manor Hotel
Donington Manor Hotel
#7 of 7 in Castle Donington
324 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Premier East Midlands Airport Yew Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport

Address: Herald Way, Pegasus Business Park | East Midlands Airport, Castle Donington DE74 2TZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Castle Donington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Castle Donington
#1 Luxury Hotel in Castle Donington
#1 Business Hotel in Castle Donington
#1 Family Hotel in Castle Donington
Price Range: £62 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2016 LUXURY AIRPORT HOTEL OF THE YEAR, AWARDED BY THE LUXURY TRAVEL GUIDE. Offering easy access to East Midlands Airport the new Radisson Blu Hotel is an excellent base for the discerning traveller. Stylish rooms and a first-class conference centre are offered alongside extensive dining options and excellent leisure facilities making it the preferred place to stay for business and leisure guests alike. Rooms: The hotel's 218 contemporary guest rooms are tastefully and stylishly designed with luxury and comfort in mind. With a selection of standard rooms, business class rooms and suites attention to detail is evident throughout. All rooms feature air conditioning, tea and coffee making facilities along with 38 inch flat screen televisions and free high speed internet access. Business class rooms and Suites feature extra amenities such as Nespresso(R) coffee machines and free movies. Dining: With an extensive brasserie style menu providing international cuisine choice will be paramount. Guests will be offered a variety of dishes and can choose to dine in the restaurant, lounge or bar. The Radisson Blu East Midlands Airport considers breakfast to be the most important meal of the day and offers a Super Breakfast concept which includes a large range of continental and English options to satisfy all tastes. Meetings & Events: Combining state of the art meeting facilities with an excellent convenient location for business travellers or local businesses the Radisson Blu East Midlands Airport is already a sought after conference venue. Ideal for hosting events ranging from international conferences to intimate banquets the hotel's 9 flexible meeting rooms can cater for 400 delegates in the largest suite. Services: Guests can enjoy the facilities of the onsite gym with all the latest high tech equipment. The swimming pool and spa area will provide relaxation after a hectic day. Free High speed internet access will be available throughout the hotel, outdoor parking, 24 hour room service and guest laundry service. Location: Offering prime location minutes from East Midlands Airport the Radisson Blu Hotel is in the heart of the East Midlands. The nearby M1 and M42 Motorways create easy access to local cities such as Derby, Nottingham and Leicester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport Hotel Castle Donington
Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport Castle Donington, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing