We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All I ever wanted”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport
Certificate of Excellence
Winsford
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“All I ever wanted”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

I came up for download weekend to see Richi sambora and Aerosmith! I was by my self so was worried about getting back from the venue after but it was fine as the hotel supplied shuttle runs for a good price and was very easy to go to and from the venue.
Staff were very friendly meal was lovely.
If they have any one I like at the next download event I will stay again!
Those who I bored to tears about Bon jovi I did manage to meet Richi sambora the following week in London and got a photo as well

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steel_panther_angle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel K, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Hi Steel Panther

Thanks for the great 5 star review, I'm really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us for the Download weekend and look forward to seeing you again next year.

Warm regards

Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    855
    402
    66
    21
    19
See reviews for
230
482
33
409
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

My wife and I have stayed here on a couple of occasions before embarking on holiday and found it to be an excellent start. We particularly like the fact that you can park at the hotel while away. A modern contemporary comfortable establishment, well located, and a 24 hour shuttle to airport 10 mins away. We had dinner here which was excellent.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geoffrey h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel K, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Hi Geoffrey

Thank you so much for the great review, it's good to know we are looking after our regular guests and they keep returning. Hope you and your wife enjoyed your holiday and hope to see you next time.

Warm regards

Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We were attending a wedding at The Donington Park Farm Hotel on the 28th June. We had originally booked to stay at that hotel but after a closer look at the rooms and in comparison The Raddisson is much my choice and style. A very modern, plush contemporary hotel with a boutique effect!!, The reception is beautiful and so are the rooms. Very spacious with a bathroom that has two glass panels that you can see to the main room. Equipped with plenty of hangers and an ironing board and iron. Lots of storage to put your belongings including a safe. There is also tea/coffee facilities. The bed itself is humongous and is the best best I have ever slept in, quite a firm sleep but comfortable and that's was I like. The bathroom has a Drencher shower and comes with your little bottles of shampoo etc. We unfortunately didn't get chance to use the spa.

Now here is my only quibble - the breakfast was not what I was expecting which really can't go wrong with. On arrival into the breakfast room, all of the food holders were empty and we had to wait for everything. The bacon was awful it was like they'd left it in the oven for far too long and was as hard as the sole of a shoe!!! (Sorry!! Can't put it any other way). The coffee was like treacle and the tea was really weak. If the food was on par with other hotels of similar standard, I would have given it 5/5 but it's only a 4/5. I'm sure it's probably only a one off but don't let this put you off. It's a great hotel, very stylish and the staff very accommodating. Oh, parking costs £5 that's reasonable, but quite easily be included in the hotel price.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitzimoo100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel K, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Hi Mitzimoo

I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay with us so much and especially the bed, we regularly get asked where we buy them. I'm sorry breakfast wasn't as good as the rest of your stay but I will look into it and see what we can do to improve.

In the meantime thank you for the positive review and please do feel free to contact me direct next time you wish to stay with us.

Warm regards

Daniel
daniel.keane@radissonblu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
61 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

All the rooms clean and tidy enough, facilities and location to airport and M1 and A50 great but a total lack of real understanding and flexibility. I was a pleasant summer evening when i stayed but was unable to open a window. They clearly open, handles and hinges exist bit have a child lock on the handle. When I requested the key to open the window at night I was told a bunch of excuses from health and safety to lost keys, to Maintainence manager won't allow the keys out etc etc. all I wanted was some fresh air in the room on a nice evening but had to do with the air con only. Many hotels allow open windows but it seems the radisson blue East Midlands wants us to burn power and get colds and flu with the air con only. If you like a window open don't stay here, and worse still be palmed of with a bunch of excuses.

I expect the manager to give a cheesy answer and excuse as he does for other negative entries but the only answer I want is an open window. Repeat, they do open but they won't allow it.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank NTSEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel K, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear NTS England

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Feedback, positive or less so is always welcome. Room 133, the room you were initially allocated is the only room in the hotel with a door (not a window) leading out to the flat roof beyond. This door is provided so that our maintenance team and external contractors can gain access to this flat roof. We are not able to provide the key to this door to guests for obvious health and safety reasons. I am truly sorry if this was not fully and clearly explained to you on the night.

Our hotel benefits from a state of art air handling system (not A/C) which generally operates very efficiently and provides a constant supply of fresh air, slightly cooled or heated depending on the time of year, to our rooms. I am sorry if the supply to room 133 did not meet your expectation on the night you stayed with us. You will be pleased to learn that the air handling to this room was thoroughly checked by our Chief Engineer the following day and was found to operating correctly.

I was pleased to learn from my team that you did later move rooms and were comfortable in the alternative room provided although I note that you seem to have omitted this from your review, merely an oversight I'm sure.
Once again please accept my apologies for the fact that our hotel did not meet your expectations along with my best wishes for the future.

Warm regards

Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed for one night before a morning flight from East Midlands airport and found the Radisson Blu to be a modern and well equipped hotel.

I would use again if I was flying from East Midlands airport.

Note that there is a £5 fee for car parking overnight.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boyce99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel K, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Hi Boyce

Thanks for the great review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and would be happy to return.

Warm regards

Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Having stayed here on 28th june 2014 i just had to write about this place.
The hotel on first impressions is very good the reception with bar area and some seating spot on, the room we stayed in was just how i would expect very spacious with good fittings and a bed to die for, so very good experience, the only thing i could complain about would be the breakfast, not the best quality, bacon was shocking and alot of guests waiting for the stations to be re-stocked, for quiet a while i might add, fast food it wasnt but still the quality wasnt there.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Forest1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel K, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Hi Forest1972

Thanks for the positive review and your kind comments about your room and bed. I'm sorry breakfast on the 29th wasn't up to standard, I've asked our Head Chef and Restaurant Manager to investigate why there were issues on this morning.

Warm regards

Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

I stayed for 1 night and was very impressed. Very friendly staff, exceptionally clean with beautiful decor. They have the happiest bus driver I've ever seen at 5:15am! Lol. Highly recommended and would definitely stay there again if I had to!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sorensie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel K, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Hi Sorensie

Thanks for the great review, I'll be sure to thank our bus drivers.

Warm regards


Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Donington
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
#6 of 7 in Castle Donington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton East Midlands Airport
Hilton East Midlands Airport
#2 of 7 in Castle Donington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,598 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport
Holiday Inn Express East Midland...
#5 of 7 in Castle Donington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Best Western Premier East Midlands Airport Yew Lodge Hotel
3.3 mi away
The Priest House by the River
The Priest House by the River
#4 of 7 in Castle Donington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn East Midlands Airport Hotel
Premier Inn East Midlands Airpor...
#3 of 7 in Castle Donington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport
Address: Herald Way, Pegasus Business Park | East Midlands Airport, Castle Donington DE74 2TZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Castle Donington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Castle Donington
#1 Family Hotel in Castle Donington
#1 Luxury Hotel in Castle Donington
#1 Business Hotel in Castle Donington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2016 LUXURY AIRPORT HOTEL OF THE YEAR, AWARDED BY THE LUXURY TRAVEL GUIDE. Offering easy access to East Midlands Airport the new Radisson Blu Hotel is an excellent base for the discerning traveller. Stylish rooms and a first-class conference centre are offered alongside extensive dining options and excellent leisure facilities making it the preferred place to stay for business and leisure guests alike. Rooms: The hotel's 218 contemporary guest rooms are tastefully and stylishly designed with luxury and comfort in mind. With a selection of standard rooms, business class rooms and suites attention to detail is evident throughout. All rooms feature air conditioning, tea and coffee making facilities along with 38 inch flat screen televisions and free high speed internet access. Business class rooms and Suites feature extra amenities such as Nespresso(R) coffee machines and free movies. Dining: With an extensive brasserie style menu providing international cuisine choice will be paramount. Guests will be offered a variety of dishes and can choose to dine in the restaurant, lounge or bar. The Radisson Blu East Midlands Airport considers breakfast to be the most important meal of the day and offers a Super Breakfast concept which includes a large range of continental and English options to satisfy all tastes. Meetings & Events: Combining state of the art meeting facilities with an excellent convenient location for business travellers or local businesses the Radisson Blu East Midlands Airport is already a sought after conference venue. Ideal for hosting events ranging from international conferences to intimate banquets the hotel's 9 flexible meeting rooms can cater for 400 delegates in the largest suite. Services: Guests can enjoy the facilities of the onsite gym with all the latest high tech equipment. The swimming pool and spa area will provide relaxation after a hectic day. Free High speed internet access will be available throughout the hotel, outdoor parking, 24 hour room service and guest laundry service. Location: Offering prime location minutes from East Midlands Airport the Radisson Blu Hotel is in the heart of the East Midlands. The nearby M1 and M42 Motorways create easy access to local cities such as Derby, Nottingham and Leicester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rezidor, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport Hotel Castle Donington
Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport Castle Donington, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing