We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service”
Review of Gandhi

Gandhi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Castle Donington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Although the restaurant is local to me and I have eaten there before last night was the best experience yet. Greeted by one of the staff as though we were long lost friends, with no booking he escorted us to the table with a joke and a smile. Ordering the food was easy and the waiter gave us several recommendations as to what was on the menu to suit our taste.
The food was very well cooked and presented. A free drink was offered after we pain the bill and the cost was very reasonable. On the whole a great eating experience on out doorstep.Well done

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Potta2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    439
    56
    10
    11
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
carmarthen
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“dissapointing”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

went here for take away after racing in donnington park.my wife and I ordered meal each only to find when we got back to camp site 3 mile away.1 meal short. the meal we had left which we shared was very bland and small portion.phoned restruant not very helpful? will not return there when racing next time.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank donna d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The best Curry you will find!”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Lovely staff who always make you feel welcome and will always be happy to see you.The food is the best indian I have ever eaten - Lamb Tikka Masala in particular!
Ghandi and his team are friendly, efficient and could not do more to make your experience enjoyable.

A must visit if you are ever in the area - or even if you are not it's worth the trip!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ginarino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Poor service”
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Booked the table for 7.30,arrived at 7.20....so far so good. Starters came....still no problem....had drinks...all going smoothly...then waiting an hour and forty five minutes for the main course. If you know your going to be this busy,get more staff!! And please sort the telephone out....letting it ring and ring without answering it is not what I want to hear whilst trying to have a conversation. Not a good experience.....

Helpful?
6 Thank Mez13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Fantastic service, best in local area”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Went here for a meal early one Saturday night. Have usually eaten Indians in Derby but thought would try some where else.

would not now go anywhere else, fantastic service made my pregnant wife very happy and offered brilliant recommendations on the food.

staff were amazing would highly commend visiting this Indian. Have told my mate I've found us a new place to visit.

keep up the good work

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank davlis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gandhi also viewed

Castle Donington, Derbyshire
Castle Donington, Derbyshire
 
Castle Donington, Derbyshire
Castle Donington, Derbyshire
 
Castle Donington, Derbyshire
Castle Donington, Derbyshire
 

Been to Gandhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing