We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Adequate Christmas stopover” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Donington Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Donington Manor Hotel
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Adequate Christmas stopover”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

The trouble with eating out on Christmas day is that if you are the driver you MUST remain sober, and lets face it who wants to stay stone cold sober on Christmas day well neither my wife or I for sure so we decided to have lunch and stay over for the night.
The Christmas dinner was "OK" nothing brilliant, but nothing really to moan about either, apart from the price tag which is high wherever you go to eat on Christmas day, and only to be expected so no real complaints there, with the wine prices being average too!

A bottle of wine and some liqueurs later we sort of staggered to our room, the one with the four poster and the large flat screen telly, well you do need that on Christmas day a large flat screen telly i mean, if you want to watch Downton Abbey don't you?

i must say we had checked out this room the week earlier; when we visited for lunch as we only live 15 miles away, and the room seemed pleasant and spacious enough to swing a cat. The decoration throughout is in need of some attention, as is the heating system. The central heating wasn't working. This was clearly something they were well aware of as a fan heater was supplied!

We fancied a sandwich at nine'ish that evening rang room service and was offered a choice of two fillings Cheese and Onion and Chicken Tikka that was it, but I suppose it is Christmas; however there again this hotel boasts Three Stars, so a bit disappointed on that level...

The four poster bed had a good mattress, enough pillows, clean sheets, so with the assistance of some Christmas cheer I slept like the proverbial log!

The Bathroom was adequate, although I personally hate wooden toilet seats and dislike them even more when they are loose in the fittings, as they were in this case, however a good shower and loads of hot water white fluffy towels made up for that minor shortcoming.

The breakfast room was again adequate, although when we arrived there was not a cleared table available so we did have to wait a few minutes. The breakfast room itself and attached to a small kitchen where the staff could be heard chattering away about this and that and from which an adequate cooked breakfast came forth, and with cereals and fruit juices being available with coffee and tea there again was little to complain about but little to shout about either.
The bonus for us to this hotel was one of cost £59.00 for a double room B&B on Christmas day so definitely good value for money and no complaints on that,and as such I suppose you do get what you pay for.

Overall this hotel is not brilliant, but far from awful too. The staff that were on duty were courteous and attentive, and as a place to rest for a night or two you wont go far wrong; that said with a little attention this place could and should be a lot more but that would need an attention to detail and probably some investment, which is usually the case. So stop here don't expect the Ritz and be happy it isn't Fawlty Towers and be happy it fits somewhere in between.

Room Tip: Room 15 Four poster Bed and decent size flat screen telly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bLINDINZI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    72
    69
    36
    23
See reviews for
47
103
9
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a wedding down the road. The staff were very friendly on arrival and sorted out our taxi to the wedding. The room was a real let down. Everything creaked or banged when you went near it. You could hear everything in the corridor and upstairs. When the heating came on during the night, the pipes would bang and rattle. Got about 30 mins sleep all night. Over priced overall and wouldn't stay there again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Youngas75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Castle Donington hotels

Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

We recently got married at the Donington Manor Hotel and it was that good I felt I had to say something about it.

In the lucrative world of weddings, if you are not so lucky as to have family members who can contribute to the cost of your big day, then you know how financially challenging paying for a wedding can be. In such cases, the best thing to do is find a venue that will offer you a competitive package that you can afford but still make it so that your wedding does not look cheap. I am quite pleased to say that the Donington Manor Hotel does this very well. I won't go into the details of the packages, all that can be found on their website.

What I did want to do was comment on the day they provided us with.

Organisation - First class. A lovely set of people who help and guide you during the preparation of the wedding and the day itself.

Staff - courteous, friendly and couldn't do enough to make us feel special.

Accommodation - Everyone that stayed said their rooms were lovely and our suite was stunning.

Food - Again, totally amazing. Some of our guests commented that it was the best wedding food they had ever had, and I cannot disagree.

Presentation - Flawless. They made our ceremony and wedding breakfast room look amazing.

Bar prices - About the norm for a hotel.

Location - Castle Donington is a small village/town that easily accessible from the M1 and the hotel is very easy to find.

In short, I have only positive things to say about this hotel. They helped us create the most perfect day of our lives and we are truly thankful to them for everything they did. I would certainly recommended this hotel to other people.

Room Tip: Any of the suites are a good bet, especially the Millicant Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Received a voucher for dinner and overnight as a gift from a friend. I do hope she never reads this! Such a mix of good and bad. The staff, especially Tiesday night were very friendly, fun and provided good service. The food was above average in my opinion and the dinning room nicely laid out. They should make use of the fabulous old fireplaces, it would have added some charm and some much needed heat! The bar was tired and freezing cold. Our room.......where do I start? From the door onwards.......the doorknob shabby and I think a good twist would have easily made the lock useless. There was a big gap under the door. Door hieght is very low and we are both over 6 ft. My partner smashed head going in. Door to the bathroom came to about nose level! The room was fairly attractive, but freezing, althought once I cranked up the radiators it did warm up a bit. There is insulated glazing across the old windows to shut out cold and noise, but its not right and doesn't close properly so it doesn't accomplish either. One light in the bathroom was burned out and at least one in the room. Several throughout the hotel. How hard is it to change a lightbulb? There was water damage/stains everywhere you looked on the ceiling in our room. The tv had terrible reception, all snowy and unclear (not sure how they managed that in the days of digital??) I had a soak in the tub the first night, mainly to warm up! When I got our there was a great deal of water on the floor??? Leaks from somewhere? (this has been mentioned in a previous review) Plus its a real treat to lay back in a hot bath and have a nice drip of cold water hit you in the head from the shower above every 30 seconds. Next morning was not much better with showers as several hooks are missing from the shower curtain made it impossible to shut curtain properly. You could write your name in whatever had built up on the wall tiles, several finger swipes visable, so I'mnot the only one who noticed that. The place needs a good Spring clean (and it can't wait till Spring) I'm sure there are nicer rooms in the hotel and it would have been a pleasant break in one of them. The staff on Tuesday were very pleasant and the food was good, making it hard to give a terrible rating. A little effort on maintenence and turning the heat up would be very welcome I'm sure.

Room Tip: too many variables?? Best advice is probably not to use a travelzoo voucher as you apparently get th...
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TransplantedAmerican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed here for our wedding anniversary on the 2nd of November for 1 night in a suite costing £109, to then be told in the evening we wasnt able to eat in the restaurant as it was fully booked, even though we were paying guest's and residents. We then had to make alternative arrangements and eat elsewhere...
As for the room the TV didnt work in the bedroom.
We had room service this morning and the breakfast was cold, the bacon was undercooked and the sausage was hard..
The room was okay but didn't deserve it's 4* status. I wanted to complain at reception but there were other guest's waiting to be dealt with. I do hope management read this review and act on it.
It spoilt my wedding anniversary and I will not be returning and I shall not be recommending you.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JennaJoshua12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

We spent the night with the dinner, bed and breakfast offer for our anniversary. The service was fantastic. We were made to feel very welcome. The meal included was 3 courses and was absolutely beautiful and perfect portion sizes. Everything from the floors to crockery and glasses in the bar were spotlessly clean. My only criticism was they didn't have full choice of drinks in the bar as they said they had had a busy wedding at the weekend, however, they had plenty of choice for us still. Yes, the decor isn't perfect but it didn't affect our stay. We would definitely stay there again and recommend to friends.
We checked in as soon as we arrived and then spent the afternoon strolling round the very pretty village of Castle Donington where we bought a few Christmas gifts from the little boutiques there.

Thank you for a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Our room was on the corner of the staircase and had the potential to be noisy, luckily it wasn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

On arrival welcome was a little sparse as we were desperate for a drink, but waitress busy with Sunday lunches. Receptionist knowledge of information on the hotels website non existent. The Owl Spa offered preferential rate to Donington Manor residents, he had never heard of the spa. But to be fair, when he looked on website, he did give them a call. We were advised no restaurant open Sunday eve, but bar meal as we were booked in for 2 course eve meal. When arrived down in eve, all clothed tables used, offered a small pub table that suited the low armchairs, when we said we wouldn't be able to eat on that they changed table for a higher one, the chairs were then too low! It was almost like Fawlty Towers. No table cloth was offered. Menu came, no starters. It was pointed out we had been advised it was a bar meal. We were told we cld have some olives or garlic bread! At end of meal we were asked was everything all ok, when my friend replied not really, it was ok, waitress walked away not asking the reason. Breakfast waitress was nice,and breakfast was satisfactory, bedroom clean and bed comfortable. Hotel needs a visit from 'hotel inspectors' the tv programme!

Room Tip: No swimming pool or fitness, I just can't delete it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Donington
1.7 mi away
The Priest House by the River
The Priest House by the River
#4 of 8 in Castle Donington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport
1.3 mi away
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
#6 of 8 in Castle Donington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Donington Park Farmhouse Hotel
Donington Park Farmhouse Hotel
#7 of 8 in Castle Donington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilton East Midlands Airport
Hilton East Midlands Airport
#2 of 8 in Castle Donington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,574 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Premier East Midlands Airport Yew Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Donington Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donington Manor Hotel

Property: Donington Manor Hotel
Address: 1 High Street, Castle Donington DE74 2PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Castle Donington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Castle Donington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Donington Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Donington Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donington Manor Derby
Donington Manor Hotel Castle Donington, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing