We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weddings weddings weddings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Donington Manor Hotel
Reviewed 25 May 2014

if you want wedding noise on the weekend then stay here We travelled from Australia for the superbikes and booked this hotel not knowing they had a wedding on Well they should have told us should have moved us apparently in England you can party all night which is fine for the wedding.So the second morning when the wait staff informed us at breakfast there was another wedding today we asked to be moved which the kind lady at reception did so. I do wonder when booking why we were put in a room right over the reception in the first place. Second room much better than the first as room 2 smells badly of sewerage. So I am not sure if you want to stay here it is in a good location and appears clean enough.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyndajane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (321)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 321 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

We travelled to this hotel for a special wedding. Reception not so friendly, hotel could do with a bit of a update. Shame about the room it was so damp and smell awful. The food was very good at the wedding and breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank june63_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan W, General Manager at Donington Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear June,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. It is always nice to hear good feedback regarding our food.

I am sorry to hear that your expectations were not met in other areas of the business and would be interested in further feedback. It is particularly disappointing to hear that a member of our staff had appeared unfriendly. Should you wish to discuss anything further please contact me at the hotel.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Nathan Wallis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

easy to find - located central to the town. On arrival the staff were already aware we were coming with the dog and offered to set up a table in the bar so we could eat there (as dogs are not allowed in the actual restaurant) - this made us feel very welcomed in deed.

Sure enough when we came through for breakfast everything was ready - everyone was so kind - they even brought through sausages and salmon for the dog!

We will definitely call back again - There are great walks in the area and we found the nature walk that goes around the Airport (which is not far from the hotel - but far enough)

Room Tip: the courtyard rooms are great as they allow you free access to come and go as you please - great if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nahzidog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan W, General Manager at Donington Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Nahzidog,

Thank you for your very kind comments about our hotel and team.

I trust the dog enjoyed the A La Carte dining on offer!!

Kind Regards

Nathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed there after visiting family near by,and I must say what a wonderful time we had.after explaining we had a puppy we were given a room downstairs with a little courtyard so the dog could go out.also we were given the opportunity of having breakfast in the bar so we could take the dog with us.Excellent service was all round will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alun M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan W, Manager at Donington Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Good Afternoon Alun

Thank you for your very kind comments following your stay with us at Donington Manor. It is always particularly rewarding when the efforts of the team help make the stay extra special.

Please do come and visit us again soon... all three of you.

Kind Regards

Nathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I stayed here 4 times on business for several nights each time. Staff were friendly although sometimes a little incompetent. The buffet breakfast was quite good and the 3 course dinner was reasonable. Rooms varied amazingly in size and quality but the beds were always ok. Not so the showers...very little pressure. All in all, I still thought it was better than a cookie cutter next to the airport.

Room Tip: Just ask for a good one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexander_bw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan W, General Manager at Donington Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear Alexander,

Thank you for your recent review of Donington Manor Hotel. It is always of importance to us and I will ensure your comments are passed on to the team.

We are aware there are ageing areas of the building and are putting a rolling refurbishment plan in place to ensure we are constantly improving our facilities.

Please feel free to contact me ahead of your next stay with us and I would be more than happy to discuss any particular aspects further.

Kind Regards

Nathan Wiffen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Stayed here recently on valentines night, although not for a romantic evening, it was for a regular trip to the Motor racing park at Donington, we could not get food in the restaurant unless we agreed to the valentines set priced menu..not a celebrator of valentines night we found this a bit annoying as we felt as though we were pressured into a valentines menu, therefore we did not eat at this hotel. The bedroom was ok, the bed had a mattress topper which was lumpy and soft, no mattress cover either which is a big no no when considering how many people sleep on these matresses, the bed was also not a full double and seemed more like a 4ft bed, so very cramped with two of us sleeping in it. Taps in bathroom caked in Limescale, bedrooms and bathrooms need a total makeover to come in line with the cost of the nightly room rate, cleanliness needs improving in rooms also, stains on bedroom carpet. Disappointed in the hotel, staff were very friendly and efficient though. Will not stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TurtleTime66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

This place is hard to review. It could really do with a major makeover. Carpets are threadbare, don't match and covered in tape in places. The bedrooms are very old fashioned and the floors creak like mad. On the plus side, staff are very friendly, the bed was comfy and the breakfast was great. Can't comment on the evening meal as a private function had booked the restaurant, so, like it or not, I had to go out. Luckily there is a great Indian restaurant not far away (not the one opposite)
Would I stay there again? Probably, but I might look around and see what else is available in the price range.

Room Tip: Not sure if there was a swimming pool or fitness centre so marked as average.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterGable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Donington
1.7 mi away
The Priest House by the River
The Priest House by the River
#6 of 7 in Castle Donington
794 reviews
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport
1.3 mi away
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
#5 of 7 in Castle Donington
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport
Holiday Inn Express East Midland...
#4 of 7 in Castle Donington
614 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton East Midlands Airport
Hilton East Midlands Airport
#3 of 7 in Castle Donington
1,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Donington Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donington Manor Hotel

Address: 1 High Street, Castle Donington DE74 2PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Castle Donington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Castle Donington
Price Range: £77 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Donington Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Donington Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donington Manor Derby
Donington Manor Hotel Castle Donington, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing