We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury stay in a beautiful setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Priest House by the River
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Luxury stay in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed 8 October 2012

This hotel is ideal for a relaxing short break or for a luxury romantic getaway. All the staff were very friendly and helpful all the time and were knowledgeable of places to go in the area. Prices are expensive compared to run of the mill hotels but you pay for that extra luxury touch that most people only have for that special occasion or treat. We had two nights here for our 31st wedding anniversary and enjoyed it enormously. Just don't go expecting cheap prices.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomG624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PriestHouse, General Manager at The Priest House by the River, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for you kind comments regarding your recent stay. I was delighted to read that you found the team to be helpful and friendly throughout your stay and that they were informative on places to visit in the area. Kind regards Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    221
    112
    48
    37
See reviews for
101
382
9
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

This hotel close to the airport and race track is a great place to unwind. We spent a week there during the summer (we were lucky to miss the rain!) and found the hotel staff polite and welcoming. The food in the restaurant was very nice, but surprisingly the restaurant was empty perhaps the Olympics stopped people from going.
We upgraded to a suite and having a separate room to watch TV in the evening was much more comfortable.
The hotels classic rooms are housed in a row of picturesque cottages which adds to the uniqueness of the hotel.
Another winner from the HPH group

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SAW60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PriestHouse, Manager at The Priest House by the River, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at The Priest House Hotel. I was delighted to read you found our staff to be welcoming and polite and that you enjoyed the food in our restaurant. I must say how clever you were to plan a week away this summer and miss the rain. We hope you will return in the future or enjoy another stay at one of our other great properties. Best wishes Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbots Langley, null, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

What a great hotel. We stayed in the cottage bit which was lovely. It was not a huge room but was very well laid out, immaculately clean and nicely decorated. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The food in the fine dining restaurant was stunning, everything was cooked to perfection and very well presented. It has been reviewed on here that the drinks are expensive, but you are in a hotel so they will be slightly more, not massively so in my opinion.The breakfast was really tasty, the best Eggs Benedict I have ever had.....and smoked salmon, scrambled egg on rye toast with caviar....melt in your mouth food. Loved the figs as well.Yummy! Our overall experience was fantastic, we will definitely be returning soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PriestHouse, Manager at The Priest House by the River, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at The Priest House Hotel, in particular your kind comments regarding the friendliness of my team and for the quality of food you ate in our restaurant. I was delighted to read your comments regarding your breakfast, which I have passed on to the relevant individuals concerned. We look forward to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards Michael.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Recently stayed at the hotel for a conference.
Spent one night there but wish it could've been longer.
My room was huge ! Bed was so comfortable it made for a good nights sleep.
Breakfast was excellent a good variety. Hot food was cooked to order , delicious and well presented.
Dinner was scrumptious, biggest slice of sirloin ever seen in a restaurant, yorkshire puddings were enormous, and the sticky toffee pudding for dessert... what can I say.
Staff were attentive and friendly and could not do enough for the guests.
Bathroom in my room was welll stocked with toiletries,and the bathroom itself was very good.
I would stop at the hotel at the drop of a hat.Only downside about the hotel was the price of drinks. The location beside the river is lovely !

Room Tip: Stay if you can in the main part of the hotel. The cottages were lovely but smaller than the rooms i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna32013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PriestHouse, Manager at The Priest House by the River, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at The Priest House Hotel. I was pleased to read you found the bedroom to be comfortable and that you enjoyed the quality of food and service during your stay. I was concerned to read you feel the prices of our drinks are too high, but I do hope this will not deter you from returning in the future. Kind regards Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We stayed one night and were very impressed. Great room with a lovely bathroom, very comfortable bed, and a pretty location beside the River Trent. We hosted a family dinner in the Brasserie, and had an excellent meal with friendly and efficient service. We mistook the breakfast time and arrived 10 minutes late, but this was no bother for the staff and we enjoyed a lovely breakfast - very good of them. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tr4vellover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PriestHouse, General Manager at The Priest House by the River, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at The Priest House hotel. I was delighted to read you enjoyed your family get-together and your party enjoyed their meal in our Brasserie. I was pleased to note you were looked after in the morning at breakfast, a mistake any one can make. Kind regards Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

we recently got married at the priest house and can not thank and praise the staff enough for a wonderfull day.each and every one of them were friendly, efficiant and could not do enough for us and our guests. As always, there were minor hitches on the day, all of which were dealt with quickly and without fuss. I appreciate that the bar prices can be high but guests were happy to pay them. (as would we considering they had 'quote' some of the best service and food they had reveived at a wedding) if you are considering getting married at the priest house DO IT...beautiful location, reasonably priced wedding packages and fantastic staff.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lms19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PriestHouse, General Manager at The Priest House by the River, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Dear Guests
I was delighted to read your kind comments regarding your recent wedding reception at The Priest House Hotel, which has been passed on to all concerned. We hope to be able to welcome you back for your first anniversary, when you can reminisce on your wedding day. Kind regards Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
165 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 446 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We stayed her one night whilst at a conference/meeting. I was quite shocked to be given a room on a higher floor and then told there was no lift as I am currently slightly disabled and stairs are the biggest problem.

The hotel were fine about it and promptly changed it for a ground floor room - but the meeting was upstairs! I had to walk up and down their quite steep stairs about 10 times in all :-(

The room was very well furnished and the bathroom was particularly nice. It had 4 big fluffy towels and lots of toiletries. The wash bowl seemed rather low - maybe it was actually a wheelchair user room? - and I really don't like these bowls on plinths with strange mixer taps which don't indicate which is hot and which is cold and which you have to jiggle around! No matter, that's a small detail really.

The bed was extremely comfortable (why oh why do we need about 7 cushions plonked on it, we only have to move them all to get in!! ?)
There was a warning to keep windows closed because of riverflies which is a bit disconcerting but it was very warm humid weather so we risked leaving the window open.

The evening meal was nice - more one of these bits and bobs arranged on the plate rather than a substantial meal - but well cooked and attractively served.

I prefer a hotel of that status to have a swimming pool - it is tempting to swim in the river but obviously I didn't!

Overall it was a good stay but I wouldn't recommend it because of the lack of lift (they said it is listed and they can't have a lift but surely listed hotels can have a discreet lift installed?) and the lack of a swimming pool, the notice about riverflies and the small meal portions.

It's a nice setting but not somewhere I would rush back to.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PriestHouse, General Manager at The Priest House by the River, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Dear Guest
I was concerned to read your comments regarding the lack of lift to the first floor, which unfortunately was not installed at the time the hotel was refurbished, which is now impractical to install without major construction work. I was please to note my staff quickly provided an alternative bedroom on the ground floor, although our largest meeting room is on the first floor, which clearly caused you a great deal of inconvenience. I was pleased to note you had a comfortable night sleep and enjoyed your meal with us, albeit not the portion size you would prefer. We have discussed in the past the possibility of adding a spa to the hotel, which as you say would be a great asset to the hotel. Kind regards Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Donington
3.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport
1.7 mi away
Donington Manor Hotel
Donington Manor Hotel
#7 of 7 in Castle Donington
306 reviews
8.9 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hilton East Midlands Airport
Hilton East Midlands Airport
#2 of 7 in Castle Donington
1,653 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Morley Hayes Hotel
1.3 mi away
Donington Park Farmhouse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Priest House by the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Priest House by the River

Property: The Priest House by the River
Address: Kings Mills, Castle Donington DE74 2RR, England (Formerly The Priest House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Castle Donington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Castle Donington
#3 Luxury Hotel in Castle Donington
#5 Romantic Hotel in Castle Donington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Priest House by the River 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a tranquil and stunning location on the banks of the River Trent, The Priest House's history is a rich one that can be traced back almost 1,000 years. Built around a mill tower with its very own water wheels, this 42 bedroom hotel is perfectly placed for a romantic break, an exclusive conference venue or a picture perfect wedding. We've hand-picked a fine selection of food and drink to compliment the charm and romance of our English Countryside setting. Fine dine in our beautiful dining room or relax in our newly renovated and re-named Millstream Bar & Terrace where you can enjoy al fresco dining overlooking the River Trent in the Summer months. We invite you to come and relax and really feel at home with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Priest House by the River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Priest House Hotel Castle Donington
Priest Hotel Castle Donington
The Priest House By The River Castle Donington, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing