We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Donington Cottage Guest House
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very nice stay”
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Very welcoming and friendly landlady. If asked for anything she always tries to help you as much as she can. Breakfast is great! Plenty of food, done properly at the minute and served on the table. Plenty of parking space. Nice back garden with table and chairs, perfect for reading outside during the summer. Small kitchen (without cooker) enough to prepare some quick dinner if needed.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Polesin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    11
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
8
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

This was an urgent booking due to family problems at the time. My husband & I traveled from the Isle of Wight, this was good for us at it was a dog friendly guest house, not many of those around! This is one to try on your travels, very friendly & welcoming, breakfast was better than average. There was a separate kitchen for guests to use, now that in its self was a first for us.the room was clean but a little on the small side, when your tired all you need is a nice clean bed to climb into, that's what we got :)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lady Anita Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I have visited the cottage many times and have never had a complaint. The owner Helen is so helpful. On this trip we had an elderly relative with us. Helen made sure we had ground floor rooms. The rooms are clean, clean towels each day. The breakfast is to just what you need to get you started. Also a guest area where you can heat food.
I always recommend the cottage to friends and family if they need a place near the track or early flights from East midlands.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjh55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Absolutely fantastic place to stay so much more personal than the large hotels in the locality.
Extremely accommodating to your every need without being overbearing and intrusive even to the point where we were allowed to choose our own departure time on our final day,you don't get that at many places!Superb value and even better service with a breakfast to match need I say more apart from give them a try you won't regret it.

Room Tip: no actual swimming pool but would you expect one in a period cottage guest house?No neither did we b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colourist666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

whilst staying here the owner by her own admission leaves the rooms open when they are being cleaned. As a result of this my laptop, aftershave and phone charger were stolen. They said all hotels leave the doors open when cleaning occurs. At first the owner offered to sort it out on her insurance. By the time I left this changed to they are not insured and its not their fault. I asked them to compensate my losses by reducing my rent which they were not prepared to do. My advice would be not to take or leave anything of value in your room as the chances are it will happen to you and you will not get any sympathy or compensation. I am looking into taking further action for their negligence and because of my experience I do not want to go to Castle Donnington again

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank paul b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire, England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Just what we were looking for. Somewhere clean, tidy and warm after a day's racing at Donington Park. It's not the Ritz, but it's cheap and cheerful. The full English breakfast was better than average too.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisARoberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Castle Donington hotels
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
#6 of 7 in Castle Donington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.2 mi away
Donington Manor Hotel
Donington Manor Hotel
#7 of 7 in Castle Donington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Priest House by the River
The Priest House by the River
#4 of 7 in Castle Donington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hilton East Midlands Airport
Hilton East Midlands Airport
#2 of 7 in Castle Donington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport
Holiday Inn Express East Midland...
#5 of 7 in Castle Donington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Donington Cottage Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donington Cottage Guest House

Property: Donington Cottage Guest House
Address: 37-43 High Street, Castle Donington DE74 2PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Castle Donington
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Castle Donington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small owner run cosy beamed cottage. Within walking distance of several pubs restaurants and shops. Bus stop right outside to East Midlands Airport ( about 7 minutes journey ) passing on the way Donington Park Race circuit. Within 5 minutes driving you reach M1 M42 A50 - to M6 A substantial English Breakfast is served each morning, also continental if you prefer, if you require anything else please make a request on booking form. A time of arrival would be very much appreciated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Donington Cottage Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donington Cottage Guest House Castle Donington, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing