We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard, not likely to be returning when £1.50 per poppadom and cold water shrimps”
Review of Maharajas - CLOSED

Maharajas
Price range: US$9 - US$39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Delivery
Description: Newly opened restaurant featuring a authentic punjabi cusine with a indo chinese menu. Fully refurbished with a warm welcome. The only restaurant in castle donington with a car park for easy access. All our food is made to order nothing is pre cooked we beeive in fresh taste food so you can be sure to have a great meal at the Maharajas.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Standard, not likely to be returning when £1.50 per poppadom and cold water shrimps”
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

I went to this restaurant on 1st July under a groupon deal. There was only one other table occupied upon on visit. Firstly a waiter came over and asked us what we would like to drink. We asked him what there was and he said cans of carling or maybe cobra. We asked about other bottles drinks and draught. He said he doesn't know as he didn't work there. Somewhat strange if he was serving us! After finding out about the drinks and ordering we were handed the menu. The choices were extremely limited. As expected there would be additional payments for a departure from their groupon menu.
As the deal already came with 2 poppadoms were order a few more (6). We also opted for a different curry. I had prawn pathia. The curry sauce itself was ok but what they called prawns were certainly not! There were the cheap cold water shrimps bought from a supermarket on the cheap. I'd paid £4 extra for this so was very disappointed. The remainder of the food was fine.
(Starters, Rice and naan). Upon receiving our bill they gave us a Irish cream which was polite. But this was to numb the pain of the bill. We were charged £9.00 for 6 additional poppadoms!!! Outrageous!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NickR272013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    12
    7
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
derby
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Verry happy”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Went here on a groupon voucher. Having heard mixed reviews was not sure what to expect. We were pleasantly surprised. The service was excellent. We were given free poppadom a and pickle tray to start. Then we had starters of onion bahgis which were really nice. Main meals were just as tasty. There were no hidden extras and never tried to tweak things and charge extra like another one of the local indians did. After we finished we were given a free shot. Chatted to the staff. Who were all very polite and you could tell that they are really eager to please. I will be going here again as I couldn't fault a thing. Don't listen to all the negative comments try it for yourself would be my advice to people reading this.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Meal out with friends”
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Tried the newest indian restaurant in CD last night with friends. Friendly welcome. Was given good service throughout even though we had prepaid groupon voucher. The menu was limited by the voucher offer but what we had was very nice. Good evening had by all.

Helpful?
1 Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent food”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Second visit usually go to Ghandi's every week, food is excellent , service quick and very polite no waiting, certainly worth a visit will defiantly be returning again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fenders01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Very happy”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

This is the second time I personally have been to this restaurant along with family and both times have been fantastic. Normally i am not one for Indian food but I am definitely a convert now. Food is amazing and staff are very attentive and friendly. A very nice atmosphere for a lovely meal out, very pleased and would not have a problem recommending to others. I will absolutely be using maharajas again

Helpful?
Thank Kimberley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maharajas also viewed

Castle Donington, Derbyshire
Castle Donington, Derbyshire
 
Castle Donington, Derbyshire
Castle Donington, Derbyshire
 
Castle Donington, Derbyshire
Castle Donington, Derbyshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing