We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful breakfast, room not so good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cheshire House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 13 Castleton B&B and Inns
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful breakfast, room not so good”
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We booked into the Cheshire House B&B as a last resort, for the weekend 17th-19th May. Upon arrival we were very disappointed to find the room was extremely small - infact the double bed was not full sized and the bedside tables were small shelves attached to the wall, which were too small for the bedside lamps.

The room had a very tired, worn look, the carpet was blackened around the edges and the furniture was mismatched. We appreciate that the proprietor may not be able to upgrade the room, but there is no excuse for the standard of cleanliness, which was poor, with cobwebs around the window and bedroom door frames. The bathroom taps had scum around the base of both taps and the tiles were generally grubby.

The breakfast was good though. There was fresh fruit available, as well as the usual cereals fruit juice and a hearty full English. The location is great for walking and there are plenty of pubs and places to eat in the village.

We would definitely visit Castleton again, but would look at alternative accomodation - at £70 per night, we think this B&B is overpriced for the accommodation on offer and the standard of cleanliness should have been higher.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evanshez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshire2009, Owner at Cheshire House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
I was disappointed to receive this review. Whilst I welcome feedback from our guests, the statements made within this review are untrue and without foundation. In respect of the review’s contents:

This booking was not as a ‘last resort’. Our records state that the booking was made on 3rd May, so it was by no means a last minute booking.

The size of the room is typical of rooms on offer in bed and breakfast accommodation throughout Castleton. The comment about the size of the bed is completely untrue, the bed is a standard-sized double bed. During tourist board inspections, neither the size of the bed nor the size of the room has been raised as an issue with respect to our tourist board rating.

They correctly point out that there are shelves on either side of the bed. This fact can also be seen by looking at the pictures of the room on the website. If this was a problem for these people, perhaps they should have booked the other room which has bedside tables rather than shelves.

After receiving this review, I inspected the room with their comments in mind. The room is not tired or worn. The carpet is not blackened around the edges. There is a slight shadow cast where the skirting board meets the carpet. Perhaps this is what these people were alluding to, but the carpet itself is by no means black in colour. I found one small cobweb behind the curtains, but none around the door frame.

The ‘scum’ around the base of the taps is actually sealant and the tiles are not ‘generally grubby’. I take pride in the cleanliness of the rooms, which is borne out by other views, in fact the next review on 29th April emphasises cleanliness of the room.

When these people left, I asked them whether they had enjoyed their stay. They replied that they had and none of these comments were raised at the time. Following their departure, I had to replace some of the bedsheets which had acquired numerous red wine stains; I find it a shame that these people did not treat our accommodation with respect.

I hope that in reading this review, you will also read the other positive reviews which have been posted on tripadvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    14
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
43
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Great location only 2 minute walk from the village centre and room had a lovely view. Room was very clean and had everything we required.There are only two rooms and parking is resticted to the side of the property and we would have struggled to park if the other guest had a car( we have a van ) there is also a carpark directly behind belonging to the pub across the road and some holiday lets at the back.However we didn't get much noise so it wasn't a problem. Breakfast was lovely .We found the bed too hard but thats just personal preference and although we didn't hear any noise outside but we could hear everything inside.

Room Tip: there is only two rooms to choose from
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daisydo25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshire2009, Owner at Cheshire House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 5 May 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. I am pleased that you enjoyed your visit, particularly the room, location and breakfast.

In response to the comment about restricted car-parking, a parking space is offered with each room. There wasn't an issue with regard to space in accommodating this guests's requirements for parking their large commercial van. The full extent of our parking actually includes another space large enough for vehicles including 4x4's and estate cars, which does not require them to, as this guests suggests, park alongside another guests car.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menen, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

We were warmly welcomed by Sue to her 'Cheshire House' before we had shut off the car's engine! Wow, Sue, what a truly delightful human being you are!!!!! As Sue led the way towards our room we were awed as soon as we stepped into the Hotel by the brightness, cleanliness and new feeling elegance of exactly the place we all dream of finding at the end of our travel day. For us, that "what will we find at the end of the day travel fantasy" is most often, sadly, a large disappointment. However, anyone upon their arrival at Sue's Cheshire House in Castleton will rapidly realize that they have reached the Traveler's Nirvana!! Sue has a great system in place in regards breakfast at Cheshire House, as the evening before we were asked to mark up a list of exactly what we wanted from Sue's breakfast menu. Nice! And the actual breakfasts served in Sue's clean, welcoming dining room were the nicest we have found during any of our trips to and around the U.K.

Room Tip: The brightness, cleanliness and new feeling elegance we found at Sue's front door was repeated e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RICHARD B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2012

First time stay at Cheshire House, Castleton. Myself and my wife had a brilliant time, everything was perfect as regards the BnB and its location 2 minutes walk from Castleton's village centre was really good. We were pleasantly welcomed on arrival by Sue who showed us to our clean, comfortable room with a very nice view over the High Peak countryside. Sue gave us excellent tips as to where was good to eat and drink in Castleton and where to park near to Mam-Tor to avoid too much walking on our second day (as we had walked to and around the Kinder Scout area for 6 or 7 hours from Edale the day before and we were a little achey!). The two breakfasts we had were really nice and set us up for our days of walking and exploring brilliantly. Castleton proved to be an excellent base to explore the High Peak area, with loads of cafes, pubs and restaurants to choose from. We will definitely be returning there and to Cheshire House in the future. Cheers Sue for a very nice stay!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cktrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Second time round at Cheshire house, Stayed in different room and as with the first visit, everything was spot on. Excellent value for money and again breakfast was superb, with everything you could wish for available. Can't recommend it highly enough, Sue provides a wonderfully warm welcome and offered advice on local places of interest, advice which we took and which further enhanced our break, Thank you Sue for a wonderful stay

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mickc49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We have just come back from a 3 night stay at Cheshire House. Our room was clean,spotless and comfortable. Good sized en suite shower which was clean and fresh looking.Breakfast was of a good quality served by Sue who was very friendly and liked to chat to her guests. Location was excellent no noise from traffic and parking was nice and secure. We really enjoyed our stay at Cheshire House and would love to return in the future.Thanks Sue for an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidlangdon704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We stayed at Cheshire House for 2 nights. We were welcomed on arrival by Sue who showed us to our room and made sure we were comfortable with everything. Our room was tastefully furnished with a good sized en suite shower, very clean and fresh looking with a lovely view overlooking Peveril Castle.
Castleton itself was a 2 minute walk away and was an excellent base for touring the Peak District.
Our breakfasts were freshly cooked for us and we had plenty of choice of cereals and fresh fruit and yoghurt. The full English breakfast was very tasty and filling and we loved Sue's homemade marmalade.
We would give this accommodation 100% just would have liked to have stayed for longer!
We would definitely go back to Cheshire House if we visit the Peak District again.
Thank you Sue for your hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Villafan62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castleton
1.4 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
4.9 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
391 reviews
0.2 mi away
Causeway House
Causeway House
#1 of 13 in Castleton
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Swiss House B&B
Swiss House B&B
#2 of 13 in Castleton
305 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
2.7 mi away
Stonecroft Country Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheshire House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheshire House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Cheshire House Bed and Breakfast
Address: Cheshire House How Lane, Castleton, Peak District National Park S33 8WJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Castleton
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Castleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cheshire House is a friendly family run Bed and Breakfast, situated in the historic village of Castleton. The perfect location to discover the surrounding Peak District. The ideal base for superb walking, enjoying the Blue John Caverns, or simply relaxing. Chatsworth House and Haddon Hall are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cheshire House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheshire House Bed And Breakfast Castleton, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing