We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very very good.”
Review of Bull's Head Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castleton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bull's Head Inn
Ranked #10 of 13 Castleton B&B and Inns
Bp Auckland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very very good.”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We stayed here a while back and at the time we were'nt into leaving reviews on TA, but after having visited a fair few B&B's we still think this is our favourite and now feel compelled to leave our opinion.
Lovely hearty meal, beautiful bedroom on the corner of the building offering views along the street and stunning ones especially up the valley to Winnets pass and then a good and plentiful English breakfast than would sate even the most hearty of appetites.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albev34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    65
    20
    13
    14
See reviews for
51
93
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
338 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Lovely Sunday lunch with good portions served quickly, very friendly. In the pub by 12.30 and some tables were reserved and by 1.30 they were turning people away. Value for money. In spite of being busy we were not rushed from our table even though we were in the dinning part of the pub. In the centre of Castleton so good position for looking around or going for a walk.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisgale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We were staying in the Peak District for a few days and had visited the Blue John caves earlier in the day (very worthwhile byt the way). There were 6 of us and the pub had a very warm and inviting feel. Between us we ordered Lamb Shank, Steak and Ale Pie, a couple off the Specials board and a couple of ixed grills. The quality was superb. All the food was tasty and the portions were large. In particular, the mixed grills were gigantic and had even 2 men with very healthy appetites struggling to finish them! A good standard menus with lots of specials is all you need from an evening out. To be slightly picky, the prices are a little bit on the high side for pub grub at between £10.95 and £14.95 for our choices, but there were no complaints about the quality of food. The one niggle we had was that the pub advertised "no VAT" if food was ordered before 6.30, which we did. As it turned out this applied to selected dishes only and only one out of our 6 qualified. Pretty shabby we felt.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

An excellent stay at the Bull's Head.The pub has lots of atmosphere and is very cosy. The staff are all really friendly and the food was lovely, well presented and reasonably priced. We had a lovely room with fantastic views towards Mam Tor. Breakfast next morning was excellent and my husband commented it was one of the best breakfasts he had ever had. We will definitely stay here again!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PoggyGang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We came for a late lunch after visiting one of the Hope Valley caverns. We liked the log fire, the friendly staff and the comfortable seating.

Our food was generally good, the mixed grill excellent,we felt well fed but the goat's cheese and beetroot a bit disappointing if I'm being picky

Altogether a very pleasant experience in a lovely pub

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

The title says it all really. Good pub grub, decent ales, friendly bar staff and a relaxing environment. We had two nights in Castleton and whittled away many an evening hour here. Just right for a bit of R&R.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MStow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Just a sort of local day out to Castleton and decided to have lunch at the Bulls Head, after being on a diet for ages decided my real treat would be fish and chip. (Something to do with fish & chips deprivation)
Miserable Monday weather so the pub wasn't busy. Had to wait for the meal which isn't a complaint. Would much rather wait and get a freshly cooked meal rather than one that has been standing for ever.
When it came couldn't believe my eyes, hubby and I could have shared it and still had some left over. It should have been served with bread and butter which I declined. The fish wasn't far short of a foot long sat atop a mountain of chips along with mushy peas. Now I'm sure this is an old northern thing, it was served on news paper on top of the plate. Of course it wasn't any old paper it was the Fish & Chips Times I think, with the history of fish and chips.
A nice touch, took me back to my teenage days when you bought fish&chips wrapped in paper and you had something to read.
Excellent service and tasty meal, the problem was couldn't eat it all, didn't have room for a sweat and didn't eat anything else until the following day. I'm sure people must be able to eat such large serving but can I suggest you do smaller pensioner serving then we could treat ourselves to your lovely sounding sweats.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank njohnsey1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castleton
0.1 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District
5.1 mi away
Little John Hotel
Little John Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hathersage
212 reviews
8.2 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
8.1 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,613 reviews
0.1 mi away
Causeway House
Causeway House
#1 of 13 in Castleton
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bull's Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bull's Head Inn

Property: Bull's Head Inn
Address: Cross Street | Hope Valley, Castleton, Peak District National Park S33 8WH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Castleton
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Castleton
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Bull`s Head Hotel Castleton
Bull's Head Inn Castleton, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing